We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Winchester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Winchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We normally stay at the Holiday inn Express when we visit Winchester, but they were sold out so we stayed here. I miss the free breakfast, but the hotel was very clean and convenient. Room was spacious and bed was excellent. Pool is very small so don't get too hyped up for it, but it appeared clean and maintained. Staff were all friendly. We did not eat at on-site restaurant, but it looked pretty nice as well. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello BaltyBob,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Holiday Inn.

We are glad that you had a comfortable experience during your stay and appreciated our effort in maintaining a pleasant, clean rooms and facilities for all our guests. Our guests reviews are important to us as it gives us additional reference to identify the aspect that we need improvement as well inspire us to be more productive. Your positive feedback gives us more inspiration to work harder and be the best in our craft.

We look forward to accommodating you in our hotel gain soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
71
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was very clean with nice, spacious rooms. The bed was very comfortable with a nice flat screen TV, refrigerator, microwave, and large bathroom. The temperature was nicely controlled through the wall, and there was free wifi. I would stay here again. That being said, the bar is lame because it closes at 10. This isn't cool when watching a football or baseball game. The breakfast in the morning is nothing to write home about. You could definitely find a similarly priced hotel in the area that offers free breakfast. The staff was always nice and helpful. The location is not ideal. You can walk to a few restaurants, but they aren't really close. Otherwise, you have to take a taxi. Stay here if you have a car. Otherwise, I would suggest a better situated hotel with free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Holiday Inn and for sharing your experience during your stay in our hotel.

We are glad that you had a comfortable stay in your room. Your reviews are valuable to us and we will evaluate your comments to be able to offer an improved, better quality services to you and to all our guests. We will look into our breakfast selection for more improvement as well.

We hope to have another opportunity of providing your accommodation needs in our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn in "years"! Glad we gave this place a chance...
The lobby is spotless, bright and welcoming, as are the people at the front desk when you check in. The room was spacious and spotless. Free WiFi is a plus.
The restaurant was just "okay" for breakfast. The service was good Friday & Saturday but not Sunday...different help that day.
The hotel is centrally located to the major interstates Good price value too..
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn. We are grateful for giving us a chance to provide you with a room that meets your satisfaction.

We apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused you when we had a change of service on Sunday. We will make sure to improve our service on Sundays so that you and our guests would be more satisfied during your stay.

We look forward for your next visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

on our way from Florida to Nova Scotia and on Our way back every year we stay in Winchester. In the past we have stayed in various hotels. None of them pleased us. This time we stayed here and were very happy. The rooms are relatively new. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast great and bar good. the staff was helpful and friendly. recommend highly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Holiday Inn. We are glad that you had a wonderful and comfortable experience during your stay and that are staff were very helpful and attended to your needs immediately.

We sincerely look forward for your next stay with us again soon and we will make sure to continue to provide you with very comfortable beds and great breakfasts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Due to a battle reenactment weekend we were unable to secure a 2 night stay at any local inn so we wound up at the Holiday Inn for Saturday night and were very impressed with the modern decor even if the actual location (while convenient to our driving destinations) lacked "charm and appeal".

Our king room on the 4th floor was exceptionally spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean. I actually slept better here than the inn we stayed out the night before. We didn't eat or drink in the cafe/bar area downstairs or use any amenities (other than the free wifi which worked great) during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn. While the hotel’s actual location is a convenience to most travelers, we hope that our comfortable (and spacious) rooms and modern decoration, made up for its lack of “charm and appeal”

We sincerely hope that you would consider staying at Holiday Inn on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Loved every minute of my stay. I was there over Labor Day weekend to join some friends for our annual gathering of the "Always Patsy Cline Fan Organization". The Holiday Inn took great care of us. They serve up an excellent meal in their banquet facility and the staff at the front desk along with everyone throughout the entire hotel is super attentive and accomidating. The rooms were great and very comfortable, I love the fact that there is a refrigerator, coffee pot and microwave available in every room. The restaruant/bar area was very nice and we enjoyed some great appetizers there. Very reasonably priced drinks/snacks are available near the front desk. This is a wonderful, clean hotel with great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn. We are thankful that you and the other guests were very satisfied with the performance of our attentive and accommodating staff, as well the very generous review you made of our rooms, amenities, and restaurant/bar area.

We truly look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My sweetheart and I cruised in to the Holiday Inn Winchester for a first night before beginning a lazy travel down the Shenandoah Valley following Route 11. We enjoyed Winchester and the Holiday Inn Winchester so much we stayed an extra night.
The staff is very accommodating. The hotel is probably the cleanest and most up-to-date I've seen in a while. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very nice.
We'll stay there again on our next venture to the northern Shenandoah Valley area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience during your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn so much that you decided to book another extra night.

We do hope that you would consider staying at Holiday Inn again for your next visit at Winchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.