We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive from Florida to NH” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Winchester
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Drive from Florida to NH”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here on the second night of a three day drive from Florida to NH. The hotel was nice and our room very clean and a great bargain for the money but nothing outstanding. There is a restaurant but would like to see the complimentary breakfast as we had enjoyed at the hotel the previous night. (Although to be fair, that room rate was 40 dollars more) Indoor very small pool. We like swimming and were disappointed with the size of the pool.

Room Tip: The room we had towards the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear ksmoola1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to you found our hotel nice and the room clean. It was unfortunate to see your stay was not as comfortable as it could have been due to the pool size and the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    56
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
63
71
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adams Center, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to NC. We had a King Room which was roomy, clean and very comfortable. The room had a Microwave, a Refrigerator, a Coffee Maker, Hair Dryer, etc.
The front desk staff were friendly and efficient. Elks members get a very
generous discount and the Elks Club is just down the road. There are a variety of restaurants nearby including Texas Steak House, Golden Corral and IHOP.
We stayed another night on our way back home and found it to be just as satisfying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Ensuring your comfort and convenience is what drives us to work hard in giving you a pleasantly memorable experience to remember. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and giving us your positive feedback. The appreciation you gave with regards the in-room amenities as well as the clean and spacious room and the overall comfort is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for your loyalty, and we certainly hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel doesn't offer anything special, in fact it doesn't even provide the complimentary breakfast that most hotel chains do these days. It is very close to the Shenandoah Conservatory and the Summer Theater which is why we chose it over some others close by. No complaints. The room was fine, clean, really nice shower, but nothing remarkable. There is a bar/lounge which was pretty noisy on a Saturday night, though posed no problem since it closed at 10:00 p.m. There was complimentary coffee in the lobby (no decaf or tea) and we appreciated that upon our departure. The hotel staff is mature (and that is refreshing these days when there seem to be "kids" behind the counter) and very friendly. We booked through Expedia and paid more than the hotel website rate! Go figure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear artgallerygal,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, Ar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed June 29,2013 in a large King room. Surprised at the Senior Rate for a great Hotel. They were great at check in and the room was large and comfortable. We stay at the Holiday Inn Express usually, but this large full service hotel was wonderful. Clean comfortable and very affordable. It was just off Hwy 81 which made for ease in finding the location. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, we also wish to thank you for appreciating the hotel cleanliness in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express hotel. Like others of the brand, the hotel has clean, well-appointed rooms and a good location. What set this particular hotel apart for us was the excellent service and personable service of both our bartender, and our server, Megan. They both went above and beyond to answer our questions about both the food and drink, but were very knowledgeable about the area itself. Megan was so pleasant, and when we had breakfast the next morning, we were surprised to see her there, bright and chipper after a late evening shift. I expect wait staff to be professional and courteous, but it's nice to have someone who is genuinely friendly once in a while.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we have served you well. We genuinely invest on giving our guests the best value for their money while making their stay a comfortable one to remember, and for you to commend us on that matter is truly rewarding and inspiring. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to the excellent customer service in total, we certainly hope to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The room we got was nice. We went for breakfast, and we asked what to do for breakfast. The answer from an employee was you can order from a menu or use the "buffet." So we used the buffet, and about halfway through they tell us the buffet costs extra. Seriously? That would have been helpful before breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Darth Ping U,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was concerned about the hotel as when I called for a reservation the morning I must have gotten the person who'd been there all night. Absolutely no inflection in her voice thus couldn't tell if pleased or upset with the effort to have us stay there,

But as the only thing that would make this better is if it was at the exit ramp off the highway! Clean; many options for food and snacks; and all the amenities to make it very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing to us your great experience while staying in our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have successfully shown you just how dedicated we are to give our valued guests the best service they deserve. Your feedback regarding our offered amenities, as well as the comfort it has brought you during your stay inspires and motivates us to do so much more to give our guests the best service there is to offer. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.