We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at price for Full Service Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Jax, Ar
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Surprised at price for Full Service Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed June 29,2013 in a large King room. Surprised at the Senior Rate for a great Hotel. They were great at check in and the room was large and comfortable. We stay at the Holiday Inn Express usually, but this large full service hotel was wonderful. Clean comfortable and very affordable. It was just off Hwy 81 which made for ease in finding the location. Highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is with utmost sincerity that we extend our heartfelt gratitude for openly sharing to us your wonderful experience while staying with us. It is our ultimate goal to attend to the needs of our valued guests in the best possible way, so that we may ensure their comfort at all times. Thank you for commending us on the great service we have given you, we also wish to thank you for appreciating the hotel cleanliness in total. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    68
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
76
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express hotel. Like others of the brand, the hotel has clean, well-appointed rooms and a good location. What set this particular hotel apart for us was the excellent service and personable service of both our bartender, and our server, Megan. They both went above and beyond to answer our questions about both the food and drink, but were very knowledgeable about the area itself. Megan was so pleasant, and when we had breakfast the next morning, we were surprised to see her there, bright and chipper after a late evening shift. I expect wait staff to be professional and courteous, but it's nice to have someone who is genuinely friendly once in a while.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our property. It gives us immense pleasure to know that we have served you well. We genuinely invest on giving our guests the best value for their money while making their stay a comfortable one to remember, and for you to commend us on that matter is truly rewarding and inspiring. Thank you for the appreciation you gave with regards to the excellent customer service in total, we certainly hope to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

The room we got was nice. We went for breakfast, and we asked what to do for breakfast. The answer from an employee was you can order from a menu or use the "buffet." So we used the buffet, and about halfway through they tell us the buffet costs extra. Seriously? That would have been helpful before breakfast.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Darth Ping U,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

I trust that the above issues will not deter you from choosing us as your hotel in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was concerned about the hotel as when I called for a reservation the morning I must have gotten the person who'd been there all night. Absolutely no inflection in her voice thus couldn't tell if pleased or upset with the effort to have us stay there,

But as the only thing that would make this better is if it was at the exit ramp off the highway! Clean; many options for food and snacks; and all the amenities to make it very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing to us your great experience while staying in our hotel. We are pleased to know that we have successfully shown you just how dedicated we are to give our valued guests the best service they deserve. Your feedback regarding our offered amenities, as well as the comfort it has brought you during your stay inspires and motivates us to do so much more to give our guests the best service there is to offer. Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night it was a really nice hotel. The Manager even come up to our room to help me connect to WiFi. The room and hotel are very clean and bright. We had a top corner room the view was really pretty. Peaceful night sleep. The hamburger meal and salad was very good. The food was freshly prepared and nice and hot. The only complaint we have is the bed was to firm us. The little touches such as firm and soft pillow was a plus.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is our goal to always provide our guests with superior customer service, and to hear your comments regarding the good job we are doing is truly rewarding. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and making the effort of letting us know how our services have been during your stay with us. To consistently meet your satisfaction is our aim, and we certainly hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in room 225 and is was a beautifully appointed room with a spacious bathroom and a great micro/fridge combo. Room is pretty close to the elevator and we did hear our noisier neighbours.

The hotel has a nice little restaurant that serves dinner and the waitress was very attentive. We had the pork chops and they were a little overdone but generally the food was good.

Check in/out staff was very efficient and very good humoured.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
The appreciation you have for your great stay in total is precisely what we are striving towards. We want you to come stay with us and leave feeling rested, relaxed and comfortable, in terms of both how you feel about your room and how you feel about the money you spent. We wish to always give you the best service there is to offer. Thank you for your input about the bed and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed overnight here while picking up a vehicle in Virginia. Attractive room, comfy bed and nice walk in shower. Ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was reasonably price and good. There was a breakfast buffet for $10.95 but we didn't want that much food. would definitely stay here again.

Would like it if they recognized priority club members with small snack, or coupon for breakfast like other Holiday Inns have done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is always a pleasure to receive wonderful praises from our valued guests. We seek to be consistent in terms of providing you with great service, and it inspires us more to hear that you appreciate all our hard work. Thank you for complimenting our attractive rooms and the good breakfast that was offered to you during your recent stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and giving us your suggestion on how to better serve you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.