We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great People, Great Price, Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Gainesville, FL, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great People, Great Price, Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This property is definitely a cut or 2 above the "average" Holiday Inn, maybe because it's a relatively new property (opened 2008). The amenities, including a business suite good for printing out business/airline documents and a restaurant, are good to excellent, unexpected in this price range.

Their people were quite accommodating when I had to delay my arrival in Winchester by a day, owing to a late-season 4" snowfall that caused the cancellation of the event that we were supposed to attend. Even though my reservation was pre-paid, there was no issue about changing the arrival/departure dates.

The location, on US 522 (Front Royal Pike) just off the US 17/50/522 interchange with I-81, is very convenient to Shenandoah University and is not far at all from the historic sites of both downtown and the surrounding vicinity. A relatively short drive south brings one to the north entrance of Skyline Drive/Shenandoah National Park.

Overall, a good "base" from which to do many activities in the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are more than happy to hear that you definitely enjoyed your stay with us even to the point of making us your new favorite hotel. It brings us much joy to know that our efforts to give you good service is well appreciated. It is our aim to give the best service there is we could offer to our valued guests, and ensuring that their needs are well attended to. We hope to see you soon in one of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    90
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
79
90
19
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. Convenient location off of I-81, there are many food options within a short drive of the hotel. Winchester is located about 20 miles north of the entrance to Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park and the drive from hotel to park entrance was about half an hour.
Hotel appears to be a newer property as everything looked fresh and was in good shape. Room was fairly large with 2 queen beds, also had flat screen tv with over 100 channels, microwave and refrigerator. Room was very clean and furniture appeared to be new. Hotel also has indoor pool (pool was small) and a fitness room with 2 treadmills and 2 multi purpose workout stations. Although fitness room was not large, i was able to make adjustments to the settings on the workout stations and managed to do at least 1 exercise for each muscle group.
We had 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner at the hotel restaurant, food quality was pretty good and service was excellent. We also had a couple of drinks at the bar, bartender was friendly and poured pretty strong drinks. We found all of the hotel staff to be very friendly and accommodating.
Overall, we had an excellent stay at this hotel. Although it was a Holiday Inn, the overall decor, accommodations, and staff were what you would expect from high end hotels such as a Hilton or a Marriott. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in this area of Virginia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We wish to extend our sincerest appreciation for the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your experience a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you noticed the cleanliness and the offered facilities and amenities of our hotel; for we aim to offer our guests a comfortable environment should they wish to stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham,nc
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn offered a comfortable and clean place to stay on our trip from New England to North Carolina. Our only, minor complaint was the noise of the air handlers on the roof. There was a constant rumbling noise. The air conditioning unit in our room worked well so we assume the noise has something to do with the total building engineering.
The room was very comfortable (good bed, pillows, and sheets) and clean. The bathroom, while not overly large, was totally functional and the water pressure was good. The lobby of the hotel had a fireplace and small seating area and the restaurant was good. The modern decor made it seem a little noisy since there was no drapery nor carpeting to absorb the noise from the bar. The food was fine and the service friendly.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room below the top floor would be a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for you response. I stay here quite often as well and I would agree that when it is windy the air handlers can make some noise. This is normally not a problem but welcome to March (old man winter can keep the snow though). We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have to say that this has been the best hotel in this price category that I've ever stayed in North America, where prices are higher than in Europe, in my opinion. The room was big, clean, and comfortable, with a mini-fridge, and microwave. There was a nice indoor pool, the lady at the front desk was very friendly, I don't agree with someone who said the staff was racist. I myself have a foreign accent and looks, but I was treated ok. The hotel is very close to the North entrance of Shenandoah National Park, and Winchester is a lovely town, with a cute Old Town and with one of the most beautiful libraries I've known. Parking and internet were free, but breakfast wasn't included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and wonderful words! I do agree that Winchester is a nice, quaint community with lots to explore. We try our best to provide "southern hospitality" and as a manager there is nothing better than reading that our staff excelled.

We look forward to seeing you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went on hotwire , we took a chance and ended up at this place for only $52 a night! It looks like a new hotel to me. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was bright and attractive with a nice gas fireplace with seating area. The hotel has a nice, small bar and restaurant. Our room was really nice and the hallways and elevators were clean and fresh looking, like I said, the place really looked new!

Room Tip: Go online and find a deal on this place, the only thing that was lacking is no breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for taking the time and effort to write us your valuable feedback. We wish to always maintain the services you’ve mentioned by ensuring that we keep a clean and comfortable environment at all times, and that the needs of our guests are properly attended to. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our professional association chose the Holiday Inn SE Historic Gateway as our headquarters hotel for a training conference last week. It was an excellent choice. It is a newer property with very nice amenities. The hotel hosted two banquet dinners and a brunch for our organization. The food was wonderful and the best we have had at a conference in my memory.

The staff was always helpful and accommodating especially our banquet contact Rainee. She took care of all our needs and made sure everything was perfect. She is in no small part responsible for our board of directors already deciding to return to the hotel for our 2014 conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests the best service there is to offer, and it gives us great joy to know that we have done a good job in attending to your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your positive experience regarding the appreciation you have for our reliable staff, and the comfort of the accommodation in total. We sincerely hope that we could be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Passing through on I-81 on the way to PA. Stayed here for one night. Seems to be a newer hotel, and honestly did not think Holiday Inn had hotels like this anymore. Convenient location near lots of places to eat and shopping. The Hotel does have a restaurant but oddly they make no effort to promote it in the room. There is a nice indoor pool and workout room. A really smart idea is that with a small bathroom, the door opens out instead of in. The only down side I found here is that it is close to a regional airport, so between @ 9am and @ 10pm there was the occasional low flying plane. Got a good rate. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for something other than the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback; it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have met your standards with great satisfaction. We are also very grateful that you chose to stay with us and even appreciated the hard work we put into making the hotel a clean and comfortable place to stay in. To hear your positive comments regarding our hotel facilities and amenities, as well as commending our good rate, is enough to motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of service we’ve offered to our valued guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#3 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.6 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#12 of 27 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#9 of 27 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#10 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.