We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than perfect, absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“More than perfect, absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have to say that this has been the best hotel in this price category that I've ever stayed in North America, where prices are higher than in Europe, in my opinion. The room was big, clean, and comfortable, with a mini-fridge, and microwave. There was a nice indoor pool, the lady at the front desk was very friendly, I don't agree with someone who said the staff was racist. I myself have a foreign accent and looks, but I was treated ok. The hotel is very close to the North entrance of Shenandoah National Park, and Winchester is a lovely town, with a cute Old Town and with one of the most beautiful libraries I've known. Parking and internet were free, but breakfast wasn't included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and wonderful words! I do agree that Winchester is a nice, quaint community with lots to explore. We try our best to provide "southern hospitality" and as a manager there is nothing better than reading that our staff excelled.

We look forward to seeing you on another trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    58
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
71
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went on hotwire , we took a chance and ended up at this place for only $52 a night! It looks like a new hotel to me. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was bright and attractive with a nice gas fireplace with seating area. The hotel has a nice, small bar and restaurant. Our room was really nice and the hallways and elevators were clean and fresh looking, like I said, the place really looked new!

Room Tip: Go online and find a deal on this place, the only thing that was lacking is no breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for taking the time and effort to write us your valuable feedback. We wish to always maintain the services you’ve mentioned by ensuring that we keep a clean and comfortable environment at all times, and that the needs of our guests are properly attended to. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our professional association chose the Holiday Inn SE Historic Gateway as our headquarters hotel for a training conference last week. It was an excellent choice. It is a newer property with very nice amenities. The hotel hosted two banquet dinners and a brunch for our organization. The food was wonderful and the best we have had at a conference in my memory.

The staff was always helpful and accommodating especially our banquet contact Rainee. She took care of all our needs and made sure everything was perfect. She is in no small part responsible for our board of directors already deciding to return to the hotel for our 2014 conference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are driven by the motivation of giving our guests the best service there is to offer, and it gives us great joy to know that we have done a good job in attending to your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and sharing to us your positive experience regarding the appreciation you have for our reliable staff, and the comfort of the accommodation in total. We sincerely hope that we could be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Passing through on I-81 on the way to PA. Stayed here for one night. Seems to be a newer hotel, and honestly did not think Holiday Inn had hotels like this anymore. Convenient location near lots of places to eat and shopping. The Hotel does have a restaurant but oddly they make no effort to promote it in the room. There is a nice indoor pool and workout room. A really smart idea is that with a small bathroom, the door opens out instead of in. The only down side I found here is that it is close to a regional airport, so between @ 9am and @ 10pm there was the occasional low flying plane. Got a good rate. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for something other than the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback; it gives us immense pleasure to know that we have met your standards with great satisfaction. We are also very grateful that you chose to stay with us and even appreciated the hard work we put into making the hotel a clean and comfortable place to stay in. To hear your positive comments regarding our hotel facilities and amenities, as well as commending our good rate, is enough to motivate us to maintain and further improve the quality of service we’ve offered to our valued guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

For the last three years my family has stayed at the George Washinton Wyndham on our trip from Connecticut to North Carolina. This past trip down we decided to try the Holiday Inn based on its reviews. We were surprisingly pleased! The rooms were spotless and spacious. With two young toddlers this is extremely important to our family. The staff was terrific and friendly. For the price of the rooms it was a steal. There is a restaurant downstairs that let's children eat free. It's nothing fancy and has a limited menu, but after a day of travel it was sufficient. We would definitely stay here again and this will become our new hotel to stay at in Winchester.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are more than happy to hear that we’ve given you a great experience to remember. Your feedback regarding our staff services as well as our room facilities and cleanliness brings us great joy knowing that we have met your satisfaction. Rest assured that we will try our best to aim higher than high in giving you the best service there is to offer. We thank you for your suggestions and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I mainly look for 2 things in a hotel room - location and cleanliness. This had both. About 5 minutes from Shenandoah University, and the room was spotless. Bed was super comfortable, lots of pillows, great bathroom. Staff was pleasant from check in to check out. Ate dessert in the restaurant downstairs and really enjoyed it - best pecan pie ever. Will stay here again! We were right by the elevator but did not hear noise from the hall or elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is with great appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking the time in giving us your feedback. The comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the convenient location and the accommodating staff, surely made our day. It is our pleasure and honor to have given you such quality service. It is our aim to challenge ourselves more in pursuing and maintaining excellent service for our valued guests. We thank you for expressing your desire to stay with us in the future and we couldn’t wait to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Holiday Inn is an excellent facility, better than most Holiday Inns I have stayed in. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and well-designed for the overnight traveler. I did not eat in the restaurant because of bad reviews I had read about it. I will stay here again on my next trip through Winchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you’ve given us, and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was more than satisfactory. We are committed to giving our valued guests the most excellent service we can offer. We aim to deliver the quality of services that would give great value for your money. The positive feedback regarding our friendly staff services, as well as the appreciation you gave for the spacious and well designed room brings us great joy. This has motivated us to do so much more for our valued guests. We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.