We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Winchester
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

For the last three years my family has stayed at the George Washinton Wyndham on our trip from Connecticut to North Carolina. This past trip down we decided to try the Holiday Inn based on its reviews. We were surprisingly pleased! The rooms were spotless and spacious. With two young toddlers this is extremely important to our family. The staff was terrific and friendly. For the price of the rooms it was a steal. There is a restaurant downstairs that let's children eat free. It's nothing fancy and has a limited menu, but after a day of travel it was sufficient. We would definitely stay here again and this will become our new hotel to stay at in Winchester.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are more than happy to hear that we’ve given you a great experience to remember. Your feedback regarding our staff services as well as our room facilities and cleanliness brings us great joy knowing that we have met your satisfaction. Rest assured that we will try our best to aim higher than high in giving you the best service there is to offer. We thank you for your suggestions and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    59
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
71
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I mainly look for 2 things in a hotel room - location and cleanliness. This had both. About 5 minutes from Shenandoah University, and the room was spotless. Bed was super comfortable, lots of pillows, great bathroom. Staff was pleasant from check in to check out. Ate dessert in the restaurant downstairs and really enjoyed it - best pecan pie ever. Will stay here again! We were right by the elevator but did not hear noise from the hall or elevator.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is with great appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking the time in giving us your feedback. The comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the convenient location and the accommodating staff, surely made our day. It is our pleasure and honor to have given you such quality service. It is our aim to challenge ourselves more in pursuing and maintaining excellent service for our valued guests. We thank you for expressing your desire to stay with us in the future and we couldn’t wait to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This Holiday Inn is an excellent facility, better than most Holiday Inns I have stayed in. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and well-designed for the overnight traveler. I did not eat in the restaurant because of bad reviews I had read about it. I will stay here again on my next trip through Winchester.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful feedback you’ve given us, and we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was more than satisfactory. We are committed to giving our valued guests the most excellent service we can offer. We aim to deliver the quality of services that would give great value for your money. The positive feedback regarding our friendly staff services, as well as the appreciation you gave for the spacious and well designed room brings us great joy. This has motivated us to do so much more for our valued guests. We look forward to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While this is a very nice hotel, their restaurant is nothing to brag about. The restaurant breakfast menu was rather limited (one type of bagel, one type of muffin) and that was a turn-off, especially when you are in a 'pay' place. The hotels that offer free morning breakfasts have a much better choice. The limited so-so menu was a turn-off. They should dump the restaurant. Rooms very good though. Suggest you eat elsewhere if you stay there. Food likely better at the nearby Costco.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear db1227,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am pleased to hear that you liked your room accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It is my regret that our restaurant did not live up to your expectations. Your review will be used to consider needed improvements and I hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. A lot of shopping near by( TJ Maxx, Gabriel Bros, Target. Walmart, Super Kmart, Apple Blossom Mall) a lot of fast food kind of places- KFC, Taco Bell, McDonalds.... If you were traveling with a baseball or soccer team? This is a good spot. Many food choices for kids. The conservatory is right around the corner, downtown Winchester is about 10 min away, but I think it's way better to be here . This hotel is perfect. VERY clean and modern. Good bathroom, good bed. I am very picky when it comes to hotels. I get grossed out easily. I promise- this hotel is good. The food here is good as well- and it's very inexpensive! I for sure would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share to us your experience with our hotel. We at Holiday Inn wishes to not only attend to the needs of our guests but also find ways to make our valued guests feel that they are not just customers, they are in fact part of a family that gives the institution its strong foundation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we sincerely hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I went on Priceline and booked this hotel for a trip that we were making to Pa.. When I saw the hotel's name, I was supprised to see that it was the number one hotel in the Winchester, Va. area. The booking came with a $20.00 credit towards a made to order breakfast. That made the cost of the room a GREAT deal!!!!

The hotel is fairly new and is well located right off of I-81. It has won awards from Holiday Inn management for being one of the top hotels in their chain.

The lobby was warm and inviting with a fire going in the fireplace. Check In was quick and the clerk was polite and anxious to help.

The rooms were typical of the Holiday Inn chain. Our room was very comfortable and very clean.

There are many restaurants in the immediate area. All in all, for location, comfort and price, this hotel ticked all of the boxes. If you are travelling through, I would recommend this hotel with no reservations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is with utmost appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking the time in giving us your feedback. This will greatly aid us in ensuring that we are giving excellent service to our valued clients. We are delighted to meet and deliver quality service to you during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed Dec 8, 2012 on our way South, room was clean, nice size and shower was large user friendly. Had breakfast in the restaurant, the food was good, but service slow.
I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for sharing to us your experience; it is because of guests like you that we aim to challenge ourselves in constantly improving the services we offer. We wish to always maintain the services you’ve mentioned by ensuring that we keep a clean and comfortable environment at all times, and that the needs of our guests are properly attended to. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.