We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good,new hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Winchester
ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good,new hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a newer hotel. Great room with comfortable beds. We paid an extra $10 for the room to come with breakfast - it was well worth it. You can choose from a menu. The food was very good. The bathroom had a great shower with good pressure & a door that opened out instead of in. This gives you more room in the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for recognizing the value in our Best Flexible with Breakfast package, and it’s great to know that really enjoyed the meal! I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and your room was comfortable for a good night’s sleep. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    70
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
79
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a nice room with a very comfortable bed. We stayed here one night and hated to leave.
We did have breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel. The food was very good. Julie was the waitress. She did an excellent job. She had so much to do but was so very pleasant. Holiday Inn has a great employee---Julie. We were very impressed with this beautiful, clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is wonderful to see that you had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Winchester! We appreciate all of the nice comments about our hotel and for recognizing Julie for her hard work. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that you will be able to come back again the next time that you are in Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a beautiful, new-looking Holiday Inn with very comfortable beds and great sound insulation. I didn't hear a peep from any neighboring TV's, although the in-room heating/AC unit was not particularly quiet. The bedding was sumptious! Very clean room and bathroom, and quite spacious. Beautiful decor throughout the hotel, with a small, modern restaurant and cozy bar area. The ony complaint would be the absense of a complimentary breakfast: however, there is free coffee in the rooms and in the lobby in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We really appreciate you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments on how clean and spacious our hotel is kept! The reason that we don’t have a complimentary breakfast is because of our brand, we offer a full-service restaurant. For IHG Hotels, the brand that offers the complimentary breakfast would be the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again if you are ever back in the Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our road trip through PA and VA. Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had a king room that had a comfy bed, though we had to call for extra pillows because the size of the pillows on the bed were the size of couch throw pillows. The bathroom was spacious and had only a shower with slide glass doors. Water pressure was nice. I do wish there was a place that was big enough to hold a standard size shampoo and conditioner, but the shower floor worked OK. What I really liked about the bathroom was that the door opened out. So many hotel bathrooms have the door open in to the bathroom which makes you have to dance around the door to get in and out and often you have to close the door just to be inside the bathroom. They do have coffee makers in the rooms, but be sure to bring your own water because they don't offer bottled water in the room.

Overall, nice and easy place to stay. I didn't even wake up once throughout the entire night!

Room Tip: Bring your own bottled water if you plan to have coffee in your room; they don't offer it as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel! We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us. Our pillows are standard size, but the housekeepers do shape our pillows in to give it the standard Holiday Inn look. I hope that you had a wonderful road trip and that you think of us the next time you’re driving through Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a quiet, clean comfortable room twice in the past week or so, each time for one night. I recommend it if you find yourself in or passing by Winchester. I'd suggest the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast as the restaurant in the Holiday Inn is understaffed for breakfast.
I also suggest you join the Holiday Inn loyalty program for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal Priority Club member! It is fantastic that your past stays with us have been a retreat in your travels. I am sorry that the restaurant has been too busy for the amount of staff that we have, and we are continually trying to monitor of staffing levels to be adequately prepared. Although, I do suggest trying the restaurant sometime in the future, as they have a wonderful fresh, made to order menu of delicious items!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a night while on business in Winchester; the great reviews are all correct!

It would seem this is a newer property and it shows. The exterior is very clean, well kept and well lit at night. The lobby and restaurant are very clean and inviting; the restaurant food was decent, but well priced and the service was very prompt and pleasant.

The room itself was very spacious, very clean and well appointed with a good bed, fast wifi, flat screen tv with many, many stations; my room was also very quiet.

Only two small negatives I can come up with: there is no shopping or dining within walking distance, and the bathroom could use a bit more light.

All in all, a great choice for less than a hundred bucks a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Your review was a delight to read! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Holiday Inn Winchester! The entire staff works very hard to keep the #1 spot because we want our guests to be happy with every stay! And we are very happy to know that our change to DirecTV has been a great hit with guests because of the wide range in available channels. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was very well kept up and cleaned, not to mention had a very professional front desk staff. Everything from the elevators to the hallways to the rooms smelled and look amazing! The room had plenty of space and had well kept furniture. The two person walk in shower was an added bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone (except maybe those with small kids because of the walk in shower). The bed was also very comfortable and I looked forward to sleeping in it every night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Winchester! The details of your experience are wonderful to read and very much appreciated. We hope that every stay with us, you have the same wonderful experience! And just to know, some of our king rooms do have the walk-in showers, like you had, but we also have bathtubs in both our king and two queen room types. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.