We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Winchester
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a quiet, clean comfortable room twice in the past week or so, each time for one night. I recommend it if you find yourself in or passing by Winchester. I'd suggest the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast as the restaurant in the Holiday Inn is understaffed for breakfast.
I also suggest you join the Holiday Inn loyalty program for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal Priority Club member! It is fantastic that your past stays with us have been a retreat in your travels. I am sorry that the restaurant has been too busy for the amount of staff that we have, and we are continually trying to monitor of staffing levels to be adequately prepared. Although, I do suggest trying the restaurant sometime in the future, as they have a wonderful fresh, made to order menu of delicious items!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    57
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
71
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
347 helpful votes 347 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a night while on business in Winchester; the great reviews are all correct!

It would seem this is a newer property and it shows. The exterior is very clean, well kept and well lit at night. The lobby and restaurant are very clean and inviting; the restaurant food was decent, but well priced and the service was very prompt and pleasant.

The room itself was very spacious, very clean and well appointed with a good bed, fast wifi, flat screen tv with many, many stations; my room was also very quiet.

Only two small negatives I can come up with: there is no shopping or dining within walking distance, and the bathroom could use a bit more light.

All in all, a great choice for less than a hundred bucks a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Your review was a delight to read! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Holiday Inn Winchester! The entire staff works very hard to keep the #1 spot because we want our guests to be happy with every stay! And we are very happy to know that our change to DirecTV has been a great hit with guests because of the wide range in available channels. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was very well kept up and cleaned, not to mention had a very professional front desk staff. Everything from the elevators to the hallways to the rooms smelled and look amazing! The room had plenty of space and had well kept furniture. The two person walk in shower was an added bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone (except maybe those with small kids because of the walk in shower). The bed was also very comfortable and I looked forward to sleeping in it every night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Winchester! The details of your experience are wonderful to read and very much appreciated. We hope that every stay with us, you have the same wonderful experience! And just to know, some of our king rooms do have the walk-in showers, like you had, but we also have bathtubs in both our king and two queen room types. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We made a reservation on the road and arrived late to find a friendly, professional, staff and a clean bright hotel. Our room was quiet and clean in spite of the place being full. Wish all HIE's were like this one. Sadly they are not ...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Holiday Inn Winchester! We are delighted to read that your stay was wonderful and we hope that you will come to stay with us again the next time that you visit Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On our way to ct,we stopped over at this beautiful,clean hotel. I have not stayed at many holiday inn's before,but after staying here I would definetly stay again. This is a lovely hotel with a welcoming staf. The front desk staff as well as the restaurant staff r very friendly. the rooms are updated with very comfortable beds and are in excelant condition as well as the entire hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are so happy that you were able to have a great Holiday Inn experience! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel, and it’s reassuring that we’re providing our customers with excellent service! We hope that you will be able to stay with us again the next time you visit Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose this hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor but was not really certain what to expect. Our stay definitely exceeded any expectations I may have had. It was perfectly located for our excursions to Shenandoah National Park and the Antietam Battlefield (about midway between the two). We also explored downtown Winchester and had two excellent dinners in town. The hotel itself was great. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel was modern, clean, well-maintained and had all amenities necessary. It was definitely a bargain and I would stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us as a part of your trip through the Shenandoah Valley! We hope that the rest of your trip was as great as your stay was with us! It is wonderful to read that you found our hotel to meet all of your needs and lived up to our other TripAdvisor reviews. We hope that you will be able to come back and explore more of the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We accidently had the "Holiday Inn: experience when we booked a room for a four star hotel in Europe through a site that does not identify the hotel. I was dismayed when I found out that it was a Holiday Inn. It was nice to find out that I couldn't have been more than wrong. Holiday Inn has now become my hotel of choice when travelling. The chain has been consistent in every Holiday Inn that I have stayed in. The hotel and rooms sparkle with cleanliness.

The Winchester property was wonderful in all aspects; it is a full service hotel in a great location. The room was beautifuly decorated, and more importantly clean and comfortable. The staff was professional and friendly. We had a breakfast package in the full service restaurant which I would not recommend. Service was slow with one waitress to handle the dining room.

I would definately stay at this Holiday Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We thank you for being our valued customer; it is because of guests like you that we aim to challenge ourselves in constantly improving the services we offer. We wish to always maintain the services you’ve mentioned by ensuring that we keep a clean and comfortable environment at all times, and that the needs of our guests are properly attended to. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.