We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balm for all seasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Song Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Song Inn to your Saves list
Mountain Song Inn
319 Mystic Lane NW, Willis, VA 24380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Virginia Tech Graduation
Ranked #1 of 2 Willis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Balm for all seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Mountain Song is a jewel in the mountains, breathtaking vistas tucked between undulating back roads and pristine country towns. Gracious hosts, sumptuous and creative breakfasts...and well-appointed, impeccably clean rooms on the first floor (no lugging suitcases)! An unusual mix of seclusion with access to flat bike trails, high quality crafts, local foodie destinations, authentic blue grass music and culture. We stayed four nights and needed more time to explore the nearby towns and scenic byways. Visit with a sense of adventure and the time to poke around, talk with the local shop keepers, food purveyors and musicians. The Blue Ridge Mountain Folk Festival was a highlight of our trip, along with the thoughtful touches and kindnesses of hosts Chris and Andy. A delightful stay for newcomers to the area...we were smitten by Mountain Song, its commanding views, casual elegance and comfortable manner.

Room Tip: Each room is lovely and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We love the adventurous spirit you brought with your visit, we look forward to your return and hope when we retire for good we will attack if with all the gusto you two have. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
112
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Chris and Andy are wonderful innkeepers, and know how to be gracious and helpful without being overbearing. The surroundings are just magnificent. and the inn comfortably combines refinement and mountain-style.
The breakfasts are amazing, and feature local ingredients. The room was spotless with every detail included.
The views are breathtaking, day and night. The stars were a "wow"too. The distance from Floyd was not an issue.
This property was built to be a bed and breakfast; we appreciated the easy access to a ground floor room, making it a breeze to bring in luggage.
We really hope to return and stay longer, the next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris and Andy M, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you, Tena, for the great review, we too hope you will be back soon, and stay longer.
Chris and Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The inn is in a beautiful setting with a spectacular view of the Blue Ridge mountains. Chris and Andy are extremely hospitable and helpful with directions and information about the local area. The room was clean, spacious, and well appointed. Chris' breakfast was probably the best B&B breakfast we have ever had - fresh fruit cup with homemade mint syrup, homemade yogurt with granola, apple pancakes, cheesy potatoes, broiled tomato half, sausage and bacon. A few miles off both I-81 and the Blue Ridge Parkway, but well worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we appreciate your finding Mountain Song Inn and hope you will find your way back to the Blue Ridge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at Mountain Song Inn. Chris and Andy make you feel very welcome. The view of the mountains is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. The inn is very quiet and peaceful. Two rooms have a private patio. There is also a porch with rockers and a swing to relax and enjoy the view. Chris makes a gourmet breakfast. She makes her own jams as well as breads and bakery. You are so full when you are done, you don't need to eat lunch. We keep going back, so it must be good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Judy,
We love when you and Mike visit, please keep coming back. Thank you for the kind words,
See you soon,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited this bed and breakfast for only one night on our way down the blue ridge parkway so unfortunately didn't get to spend a lot of time on the beautiful big upstairs porch overlooking the mountains or playing pool in the common room. Chris and Andy were so welcoming and helpful giving us a map of the best routes for restaurants etc. Our bed was not only the biggest but also THE most comfortable we've slept in during our trip around Virginia and North Carolina. Breakfast was incredible and seemed never ending as more food just kept coming out of the kitchen! We loved the German Apple pancake - wow! What made this overnighter really great was meeting the other guests (hello to all the girls!) who were so friendly and interesting to talk to over breakfast. Having only met them literally an hour or so before, we were given big hugs and sent off so warmly! You just don't get this in a hotel no matter how nice it is, and it's one of many reasons we love bed and breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
I hope you will find your way back to Mountain Song some day soon.
Thank you for the lovely review.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our 45th wedding anniversary was looming and I had not made arrangements for us to get away from the daily routine. I decided, almost too late, to see what I could find online, so I explored the Bed and Breakfasts of Virginia. After about thirty frustrating minutes of searching for just the right place, I stumbled upon the Mountain Song Inn. I was captivated by the pictures and the fact that it overlooked the Blue Ridge Mountains facing the sunrise. But where in the world was Willis and Floyd, Virginia? We are new residents to the commonwealth and the unfamiliarity of locations continues to haunt me, but I felt a real pull and believed that the Mountain Song Inn was the place we were meant to go for three nights. So I inquired about a room and almost immediately received word that indeed space was available on the nights we desired. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the innkeepers, Chris and Andy, who immediately made us feel very much at home. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast absolutely delicious. I have some dietary restrictions and they were very helpful in providing for my needs. Being in the mountains was absolutely a wonderful experience, and we are very eager to return to the SONG again soon.

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the ground floor and all three are absolutely wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
You two brought a lot of magic with you, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed with Andy and Chris earlier this summer for our very first time and could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. From the moment of our arrival, Chris called out to us from the upstairs porch, warmly welcomed us to her home and offered us some of her delicious macaroons. From that moment, there was no doubt we had made a good decision! Andy sat with us to give us the overview of the local community and what it had to offer for diversion, he made reservations for us (our anniversary was that weekend) at one of the local wineries for dinner, and then showed us to our room. The room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet (quiet is a little slice of heaven for me). Every morning breakfast made by Chris was fantastic...she could easily be the next Julia Child!! It is simply not possible to say enough about the excellent hospitality both Andy and Chris provide. They are unobtrusive, yet always available to provide directions or suggestion or to just sit with and have a chat. We will be back and have already scheduled our next trip for this fall!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the beautiful review, Andy and I so enjoyed your visit and look forward to your returning soon.
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Song Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Song Inn

Address: 319 Mystic Lane NW, Willis, VA 24380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Willis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Willis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Song Inn is a five star bed and breakfast in the Blue Ridge Highlands of Floyd County, Virginia. Our magical rural retreat is suitable for the most discriminating taste, and guest rate our breakfast often as the best they have ever eaten anywhere. Our area is noted for it's Crooked Road Mountain music venues, talented artists, wonderful Virginia wineries, and outdoor recreations of all types, including hunting, fishing, and hiking. At Mountain Song Inn , we want to help you create A MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE by providing refined comfort, genuine personal warmth, and accommodating your degree of personal solitude or integration, all at your own pace. It is time for a visit to Mountain Song Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Song Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Song Inn Willis, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Song Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.