We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postcard perfect view and fantastic breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Song Inn

Save Saved
You added Mountain Song Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mountain Song Inn
310 Mystic Lane NW, Willis, VA 24380   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book for 3 nights
Ranked #1 of 2 Willis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Postcard perfect view and fantastic breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Superb B&B. Chris and Andy are fantastic innkeepers - very welcoming, fun to chat with, run their place in a very professional manner. Mountain Song is a lovely environment - immaculate, lovely decor, delicious breakfasts, beautiful views. Off the beaten track - which forces you to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Love my New York guest, thank you and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
99
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, VA.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful lush setting near the Blue Ridge parkway. Our granddaughter loves photography and spent many hours walking around and taking photos of the beautiful flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. Our hosts Chris and Andy were perfect. The breakfast each morning were delicious and very filling. There was always fruit, warm breads and amazing entrees. We spent a lot of time sitting on the porch swing watching hummingbirds. Would definitely recommend Morning Song for anyone looking for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Mountain Song thanks you, we look forward to your return...please make it soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Mountain Song Inn is a wonderful place in a beautiful location. We picked this B&B because of the overwhelming number of positive reviews, and now I'm here to add one more. The hosts, Andy and Chris, are two of the most hospitable people you will ever meet. Their home and gardens outside Floyd are absolutely gorgeous. I couldn't believe that they keep it all up themselves! I have never seen so many butterflies in my life!

The accommodations are just as nice. We stayed in the French Country room. Our room had access to a small patio and garden. Each room has its own bathroom. The rooms are located on the bottom floor, and then there is a large great room on the floor above that is open to guests. There is a large covered porch (with a swing) and inside are comfy couches, a separate TV room, and large dining room. And cookies!

Breakfast was just perfect. Plenty of delicious food without feeling over-full. Fresh fruit, veggies from their garden, and other local food made for a great start to the day. They were also very attentive to food allergies and preferences.

Lastly, they are extremely knowledgeable and helpful about things to do in the area. We were very pleased with all the recommendations from Andy, including the fruit stand we stopped by as we were traveling home. We will definitely be returning to this most relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you, Ms. Patti, we can't wait for the two of you to return. Your kind words are much appreciated. CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We only had one night to stay at a B&B along the Blue Ridge Parkway, and boy, did we pick the right one!
The Mountain Song hits all the highs you'd want for a B&B stay...
Chris and Andy, the Innkeepers, could not have been more charming, accommodating or interesting. Felt like we were visiting old friends. And Chris' breakfast was amazing. It was delicious, and filled us up for our long day on the road. Andy's attention to every detail was impressive and unobtrusive, as were his dinner recommendations in the nearby town of Floyd.
The Inn is stunning, each of the three rooms is beautifully decorated, without being "cute." The furnishings and details are tasteful and appropriate, We stayed in the French Country room (I think it was called), perfect.
The common rooms are very comfortable and inviting, as is the large porch overlooking one of the great views in the Virginia mountains.
Then, there are the hummingbirds.
A constant presence at the feeders on the porch, you could spend your entire stay just watching them play, fly around, hover, and come up to the feeders.
We strongly recommend you consider a stay at the Mountain Song, and if you can tear yourself away from the porch, the view (and the pool table), do plan to spend some time chatting with Chris and Andy, it only makes it better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We look forward to you both returning for more than one night. Thank you so much for the lovely review.
CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Comfortable surroundings, attentive hosts, and delicious food -- the Mountain Song Inn provides everything anyone would need for a retreat from the day-to-day grind. Every time we return, we enjoy Chris and Andy's hospitality, some quiet time on the porch, and a view that is one of the best in the region. Add hummingbirds and beautiful gardens -- and the resulting sum is far more than the parts -- truly relaxing accommodations of the highest order.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you, Jim, we appreciate your loyalty to Mountain Song, and always love to see your names pop up on our reservation system. Please come back soon. I so appreciate the wonderful perfume oil you two got for me. Thank you so much.
CM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Three nights at Mountain Song is one of the many things we look forward to during Floyd Fest. A beautiful room to come home to each night, a comfy bed to sleep in after a day of walking, sitting and dancing wearing you out. A breakfast beyond description each morning made by Chris with such care, and Andys attention to every detail while we dine is the perfect way to start the day. They are the most wonderful host. This year Floyd Fest...well it had its hiccups and its hurdles and then mother nature threw in her best at all of us and made Floyd Fest, "Mud Fest". Calling it an early night our last night after a day of rain and mud and showing up at Mountain song at 6 in the evening rather than 10 or 11 ended up a treat for us. Andy and Chris welcomed us back, and after hot showers we had a very nice evening chatting with them and enjoying some wonderful wine. Whether you have an event to take you off and busy for the day, or you simple want to sit on the porch, read a book and have a quiet weekend watching the deer in their meadow, the humming birds at the feeder and the peace of the mountains. Mountain Song Inn is a treasure in the woods, as are the Inn Keepers!

Room Tip: Choose any of the three beautiful rooms for a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Wow, thank you, thank you....are you sure you want to move so far away? You will be missed. Hugs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

After much searching and disappointment , we very luckily discovered an absolutely wonderful B&B located in the Blue Ridge Mountains. I called it serendipity!! My first clue to knowing this was the place for us was the friendliness of the owner, Chris, on the phone when I called (3 times!) while trying to decide if it was gong to be worth the detour from our planned route to get there--and it definately was. The Inn itself is beautiful and immaculate, with a spectacular view from the front porch. We selected the room with the patio garden, and fell in love with it as we read and drank wine, listening to the soft rain fall outside our patio door. The bathroom was huge and the bath/shower delightful (great bath salts were provided, which I will use next visit!). We spent time on the front porch visiting with Chris and Andy, and discovered the were both friendly and quite interesting. After a great nights sleep in the compy bed, we were treated to the most incredible 4-course breakfast we've ever experienced-- both the elegance of the various dishes and the remarkable service by Andy, made this a meal to remember. Everything was fresh and homemade. We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, were very saddened that we couldn't stay longer, and will definately return. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Please experience it for yourself!
Kristine and Frank

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Manager at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Your third phone call was the best....saying you were coming. What a fun couple you are, we look forward to seeing you often. cm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Song Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Song Inn

Address: 310 Mystic Lane NW, Willis, VA 24380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Willis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Willis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Song Inn is a five star bed and breakfast located in the Blue Ridge Highlands of Floyd County, Virginia. Our magical rural retreat is suitable for the most discriminating taste, and guest rate our breakfast often as the best they have ever had, anywhere. Our area is noted for it's Crooked Road Mountain music venues, talented artists, wonderful Virginia wineries, and outdoor recreations of all types, including hunting, fishing, and hiking .At Mountain Song Inn , we want to help you create A MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE by providing refined comfort, genuine personal warmth, and accommodating your degree of personal solitude or integration, all at your own pace.It is time to visit Mountain Song Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mountain Song Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Song Inn Willis, Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Song Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.