We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opus 9 Steakhouse

Opus 9 Steakhouse
5143 Main Street, Williamsburg, VA 23188
757-645-4779
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Opus 9 Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 340 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Courthouse Rd
Description: located in the NewTown area of Williamsburg, VA
Williamsburg, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We can't really afford dinner here a lot so lunchtime is the time to go. They have many plates for around $10 and I appreciate that the service isn't based on how much you spend. Good food and a nice dining area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    75
    36
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Went for lunch - it was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had heard nice things and was not disappointed. Excellent vegetable stew app and well prepared black bass entree. Every seat was filled at lunchtime - evidence of the customers love of this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashvillle
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Excellent Charcuterie Platter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We dined at the bar on a cold snowy Saturday evening but the smiles were all warm inside the restaurant. The Charcuterie Platter (around $12) was the highlight of our meal. Served with fruits that complemented and accentuated them, the platter included 2 oz of each cheese. Our favorite was the Peppercorn served with thinly sliced apples. If the platter had included honey, nuts or another sauce it would have made it perfect.
The Sausage & Clam Chowder was good and the Shrimp Cocktail standard fare for a steakhouse.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great service and perfectly cooked steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My fiancée and I went here for dinner and we were impressed. Our server Kara was extremely knowledgeable not to mention helpful. We split a Caesar salad to start, authentic with the anchovies in the dressing. He had a NY strip au privore, which was perfectly cooked as was my filet. While it might be a tad expensive, the service and food are amazing. We will go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Great American Steakhouse Is Not Dead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Opus 9 is located in the Newtown section of Williamsburg. Up on entering, you are greated by the staff and taken to a table with a white tablecloth, and a place setting that you would find in a fine home. Service is great. No detail is missed. The food is out of this world. Steak is king, but seafood and other items like lamb are also on the menu. Opus is pricey but we usually go for lunch where the portions and prices are better. During holidays, you must make a reservation, as far in advance as possible. If you eat at one restaurant in Williamsburg, this is the one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus 9 Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Opus 9 Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus 9 Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.