We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but a bit noisy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fife & Drum Inn to your Saves list
Fife & Drum Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #2 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location but a bit noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

We chose this B&B specifically because of the location (proximity to W&M and Colonial Williamsburg) and we were not disappointed. Once we arrived, we didn't have to drive our car anywhere we wanted to go. One "problem" with the location was the noise factor. We could hear street noise from our room, not too bad but something to keep in mind. The only other "criticism" was the breakfast. It wasn't the best breakfast that I have ever had at a B&B - not bad, just not "great". Overall, the B&B was really nice, the owners were very friendly and we had a nice time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    75
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
88
220
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I did a good bit of reading reviews and picked this Inn over the Williamsburg Lodge and was very pleased. From the start the staff were excellent and very kind and helpful. The location is excellent -- right in town, yet on Merchant Square, so there is lots of small stores/delis nearby. The rooms are clean, great beds and quiet. very good bnreakfast - my husband and I loved it and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We chose the Fife and Drum initially because of its location...perfectly located in town, and very near the campus of William and Mary. We were not disappointed...it's like staying with friends: if you're a late arrival, they leave your room key waiting for you, along with lemonade and cookies in the common area. Each room has a Colonial name and is furnished in an Early American style, nothing tacky or cheap. The breakfasts are hearty and homey, the staff is welcoming in every way. My teen was skeptical at first, but upon our arrival and a look around, gave her stamp of approval (I think the cookies clinched it!). We all look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The tips and service were the best Ive ever had. I highly recomend that anyone looking for a superior b&b stay at the Fife and Drum.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

I was impressed with the Fife & Drum Inn. We arrived before check-in time but the innkeeper met us with a friendly smile and checked us in with no problem. The room was immaculate, the bed was very comfortable, and the inn was quiet (there is some traffic noise from the street below, and from the adjacent Wm. and Mary College if one is a light sleeper. I am, but everything eventually settled down late in the evening and I slept great after that.) This inn provides little touches like cookies, snacks, and tea available at all times. They also provide a very tasty full breakfast without making a big deal out of it. Some inns would trumpet their "extras", but the Fife & Drum just does it, to great effect. I would not hesitate to recommend this inn to anyone who wants to be within walking distance to shops, restaurants, and all that Historic Williamsburg has to offer. This hotel was everything I look for in a B&B, and I look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlheron
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We loved staying at the Fife and Drum Inn. It was such a friendly, cozy atmosphere. The food was great, and the lodging was very comfortable. We also enjoyed the fact that it was convenient to the walking district of Williamsburg.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Walking distance to everything. Very charming. All modern amenities and nicely designed. An excellent value. Perfect for family of 3 or couple. Anymore might be tight given space.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg
Fife And Drum Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife & Drum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.