We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Save Saved
You added Fife & Drum Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI, Parking,Break
Ranked #3 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our annual trip to Williamsburg always starts at the Fife and Drum Inn. Although the stairs might challenge some, what awaits at the top is worth the climb. Billy and Sharon make you feel at home from the first moment. Located on Prince George Street next to Merchants' Square, the location allows you to park the car (in an off the street location half a block away) and leave it there for all or most of all of you visit. You can shop, eat and visit CW without bothering with the car. Each room at the Inn is unique so take the time to browse on line and pick the one that suits your tastes and needs. Breakfast is simple but wonderful. The common area can be used by guest in the evening, sit in front of the fire and share a bottle of wine and cheese from the Cheese Shop just across Merchants' Square from the Inn. Billy and Sharon are long time Williamsburg residents so they can help you in picking wonderful things to do.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    248
    64
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
66
189
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We feel welcome at the Fife & Drum and love the location, the accommodations, and the kindly service we receive. This outstanding B&B just oozes charm and hospitality. Also, this time we brought friends who also really liked it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but each is unique. Read about each and don't be bashful and talking to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The location is perfect for walking anywhere in Williamsburg even in freezing temps. The rooms were small but that was not a problem because they were so comfortable, clean and well organized. The breakfast was good and nice to have a buffet so that we could relax. Less formal than the huge sit downs but I liked it. The TV in the room is super small but do you really want to go there to watch TV?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Warm welcome and cozy accommodations at the Inn. We loved the tea and warm chocolate chip cookies when we checked in at 3pm. Highlights were the deep soaking tub and four poster with canopy bed in my room-The Conservancy Room. Delicious breakfast. Delicious dinner across the street at the Blue Talon Bistro.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very comfortable room, very friendy host, excellent position. I wasn't feeling well when there and they were very helpful in finding a doctor for me. An excellent place to stay in Colonial Williamsburg

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our 7th (8th?) stay at the Fife & Drum Inn this past October. It was our 2nd stay in 2013, and we can't imagine being anywhere else when we visit "Billsville." The location, in Merchant's Square, can't be beat. You step out the door, and stroll down the street to shop, visit the Colonial Village, or enjoy a wonderful meal at any of the taverns or restaurants. The rooms are charming, and breakfast is always delicious! Parking is only a few steps away. The innkeepers, Billy & Sharon, are wonderful and share their knowledge of the local area. The only negative thing about the Fife and Drum Inn is that we have to leave it.

Room Tip: We love the Cedars Suite, it is has a sitting area, and it's own entrance to the back porch. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I wanted to spend a fall weekend visiting Colonial Williamsburg from November 8-10 and I searched for lodging and was fortunate enough to find the Fife and Drum Inn. This is a wonderful little Bed and Breakfast with a separate cottage called the Drummer's Cottage, which we decided to stay in. The location is perfect for the walk around Colonial Williamsburg. Billy was wonderful during our check-in and very informative about the different restaurants around Merchant's Square and the several attractions and tours we could visit. Our cottage was very nice, so much, we felt like we were home. If you visit Colonial Williamsburg, this is the place to stay for the experience of a lifetime. We highly recommend Billy and staff at the Fife and Drum Inn for your excursion into the past. Great job Fife and Drum Inn. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Reserve the Drummer's Cottage for a more intimate experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife & Drum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.