We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fife & Drum Inn to your Saves list
Fife & Drum Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI, Parking,Break
Ranked #2 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the College of William and Mary for parents weekend. The location was perfect - very short distance to the college campus and many great restaurants. The rooms were so clean and loved the decor. Very quiet and we slept very well!
We plan to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    73
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
75
212
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in a business trip with coworkers/friends. The Inn had a perfect location. Just across from Merchant Square and walking distance to the historic areas. It's also within walking distance to W&M campus. Beautiful location! The inn had a great breakfast in the morning and the staff was very helpful! Would absolutely stay here again. Probably not the best place for kids, though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A great location for exploring Williamsburg. It was not quite what we expected as it felt more like a hotel than a B&B. Having said that the room was great and the location meant the historic centre was only a very short walk. Close to good restaurants and shopping it was a great all round stay. Good breakfasts and lots of ideas on what to do during your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

PRO:
1) great location- large selection of restaurants/stores/market places/ william mary campus in walking distance.
2) all was clean and beautiful quality. conservancy room had a beautiful bed with mini bathtub...great room for couples =)
3) owners left us alone.

CON:
1) when booking i was seeing if there was any additional discount available and the owner on the phone seemed a bit annoyed and reassured me that this is the only place to stay in the middle of everything... i was a bit offended but rubbed it off my shoulders.
2) HORRIBLE horrible breakfast- continental style; only thing i liked was the biscuit and fruit. mcdonald's eggs and bacon are better than theirs... bacon was tiny wimpy pieces... AND THAT WAS IT =(~~ went down to Aroma's coffee house that made up for the sucky breakfast.

Room Tip: conservancy room- very romantic for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Fife and Drum as part of a family reunion- my brother has stayed there every year for 9 years. The location is ideal- in the small shopping area immediately adjacent to the Restored Area. All of Colonial Williamsburg is within walking distance. The theme is very appropriately colonial, but the only thing that would strike one as different is the painted designs on the floors supplemented by some throw rugs (the real colonists did not have large carpets). The breakfast is served buffet style- a quiche-like casserole, fruit, ham and/or bacon biscuits (real ham), and cereal. There is a fair-sized commons area with a TV, sofa and armchairs in addition to the breakfast tables. WiFi is available throughout (Williamsburg has a city-wide system) but the reception is a lot better in the commons area than in the bedrooms. There are restaurants of all descriptions nearby as well as some upscale shops. Billy and Sharon have been at this awhile and do a great job. We used to stay at Colonial Williamsburg properties, but will probably make the Fife and Drum "our place" from here on out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street- Restoration Suite or Cedar Suite, among others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My wife and I have been to Williamsburg several times, but we did not know about the Fife and Drum and had stayed at other facilities. Had we known about the Fife and Drum we would have made it our place to stay. The location, right off of Merchant's Square and at the top of the Historic District, makes the Fife and Drum a perfect place to stay. The hospitality and assistance provided by the staff made our stay even more perfect. Breakfast provided was excellent and much better than expected. If you are looking for a centrally located place to stay and a place that provides an historic ambiance you can't go wrong with the Fife and Drum.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Fife and Drum Inn is located at the edge of colonial Williamsburg, with the campus of the College of William and Mary on the other side of the street. We were met by Billy, who proved a very helpful and knowledgeable host.

According to the guidebooks, the Fife and Drum Inn is the only inn located actually in colonial Williamsburg, and with so much to see and do, there are distinct advantages to having a place close by to park your purchases and rest up.

Our room was the George Washington room, on the second floor, facing Duke of Glouester Street. Large and comfortable, and well equipped. (The bed was a bit high, but there was a foot stool to help you step up.)

Parking was around the corner and behind the owner's house: check in or call in to find this. Otherwise, parking can be a hastle and/or expensive.

Only one hour was reserved for breakfast when we were there, eight to nine am. However, the breakfast was excellent, and the setting quite comfortable. Good, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg
Fife And Drum Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fife & Drum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.