We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Respite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking, Wifi & More
Ranked #9 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Staunton, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Weekend Respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My girlfriend found Colonial Gardens on line and she booked the spa package and 2 nights in the Rhododendron Room. The room was clean and comfortable. The sunroom was very nice to sit and relax while having some refreshment. The dinner we went o was wonderful and the massages at the spa that came with the package were very good. We wool to birds out the window singing every morning. We will return when we can as there are so many things to do in Williamsburg, we barely scratched the surface here.
Karen and Ron were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! So glad you enjoyed the spa package and dinner. We hope to see you again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
98
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 4 days there and love it. The food was epicurean, The overall feel was romantic and elegant, the grounds were very well done. I liked the mattress and linens best though. I would stay again if we go back to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: choose one the suites for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! You were as delightful as you could have been while here and the other guests are still talking about you! Please come back soon!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 lovely night colonial gardens and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The innkeepers were spot on. Breakfast were amazing. Karen was very helpful in information for restaurants and shopping. Our suite was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your self so much and had a chance to relax.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights last summer. We wanted a romantic getaway in a B&B, and Colonial Gardens kinda provided it, but it was an awkward experience. I debated between 2 and 3 stars for awhile...

Highlights: pretty grounds. pleasant/helpful innkeeper. Central location. Clean/well-kept

Problems: uncomfortably small bathroom. we paid extra to have breakfast in bed, but the breakfast never came. By the time we called down, she said breakfast was gone, and brought us some cereal and fruit and still charged us extra for the delivery :(. We got some sort of romance package, but only got one of the two bottles of wine and couldn't find a wine key anywhere. The innkeeper's family was there, and she seemed a little annoyed to have to attend to customers--awkward. We felt like we were intruding on someone's home. The decorations were a bit too much for us. The B&B is super close to a pretty busy street.

Unfortunately the problems outweighed the highlights, so a 2.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I wish there were a requirement to be truthful in this forum but there is not. In 7 years of running our inn we have never served cereal, missed sending breakfast to someone's room or had family here while we were open. We close our inn when family is here. We are scratching our heads here trying to understand why someone would say things like this but if readers would please look at the other reviews I think they would be better served. I will mention that this reviewer is writing about something that supposedly happened over a year ago...I think they have the wrong place
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a special way and after careful review chose Colonial Gardens for a one night get-a-way in the Rhododendron Suite . We were absolutely impressed with so many facets of our visit it would take more than a paragraph to describe. The sleep experience was heavenly! The bed offers fine linens with a 5 star sleep comfort rating. Karen certainly pays close attention to detail from her use of Turkish bath towels to softly scented candles lit upon arrival. Her sun-room offers a nice respite for reading, conversation, or a refreshing beverage. Breakfast was wonderful and she accommodated our dietary needs without blinking an eye. The table was as tasteful and the food. Karen has an eye for the total culinary experience. We enjoyed our conversations with Karen. She made us feel as if we were long time friends coming for a visit. We also took advantage of one of her romance packages...we encourage others to do the same. We will be back.

Room Tip: Even though we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, we peeked in the library room on the entry floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you had a nice time. Making great memories is what we are all about. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My friend and I went up to Williamsburg to do some shopping and have some "kid free" time. This B&B was very centrally located to shopping, restaurants, and the highway and looked beautiful online. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the beautiful Azalea suite and were very happy with all the accommodations.
The owners were beyond nice and welcoming. Karen made an amazing breakfast the next morning too!
Definitely recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We do have some wonderful shopping here in Williamsburg. We are so glad you had some time to recharge. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were impressed with website and we were not disappointed. Great location......quiet and elegantly comfortable, yet only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center. Karen, the Innkeeper was a delight....great breakfasts and such a wonderful hostess! We felt VERY comfortable. Her recommendations for dinner were terrific.....we felt like special guests at her restaurant choices. WiFi service was excellent too......much better than many 5 star hotels!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rhododendron Suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated! We peeked in the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you asked us for restaurant recommendations because we are local and know the best food and service in town! Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens b&b
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.