We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Parking, Wifi & More
Ranked #9 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My friend and I went up to Williamsburg to do some shopping and have some "kid free" time. This B&B was very centrally located to shopping, restaurants, and the highway and looked beautiful online. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the beautiful Azalea suite and were very happy with all the accommodations.
The owners were beyond nice and welcoming. Karen made an amazing breakfast the next morning too!
Definitely recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We do have some wonderful shopping here in Williamsburg. We are so glad you had some time to recharge. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
98
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were impressed with website and we were not disappointed. Great location......quiet and elegantly comfortable, yet only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center. Karen, the Innkeeper was a delight....great breakfasts and such a wonderful hostess! We felt VERY comfortable. Her recommendations for dinner were terrific.....we felt like special guests at her restaurant choices. WiFi service was excellent too......much better than many 5 star hotels!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rhododendron Suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated! We peeked in the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! I am so glad you asked us for restaurant recommendations because we are local and know the best food and service in town! Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed here for our secret elopment and it was just the two of us. Karen, the innkeeper was wonderful. We decided at the last minute to stay another night and it was no problem. The inn is beautiful. We stayed in the room with only the shower, which the shower is kind of small, but the room is so beautiful it makes up for it. The bed is comfortable, it is very clean, and beautiful. The breakfast is abstolutely wonderful! Karen is very friendly and the intimate ceromony was wonderful! They did flowers for us and took very nice pictures that are of professional quality! For the price, you can't beat it! The inn is right near everything but feels like your out of the way from everything. It was a very nice, intimate setting. We will be back! P.S. Get the choc covered strawberries, they are super!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad your wedding was just what you wanted it did turn out lovely and the weather was perfect for the garden Elopement. Be happy and come see us again!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We originally sought out Colonial gardens Bed & Breakfast to celebrate a quiet romantic place to celebrate our 7 yr anniversary. The room was perfect we stayed in The Rhododendron suite. It had an old world feel to it,and you could see the backyard from the seating area. This particular B&B was perfectly located...most of the others in the area were right off the road w/very little yard space, but Colonial was tucked away and further from the university. It was Feb. and yet there were flowers in full bloom. Gorgeous!
The day we arrived there was actually a wedding planned for the same day,but Karen was very nice to let us check in very early. She gave us a tour of the house..which was breath taking and then she let us be.
The second night of our stay my then boyfriend proposed. I was totally caught off guard. Karen & Ron are great secret keepers! Karen & Ron took the time to place rose petals all around the room,candles,had the fireplace going,and my favortie part a bottle of champagne. It was more than I could ever dream of. It was a magical moment and the staging of the room is something I can't wait to tell our kids about one day.
Karen and Ron were completly down to earth and just overall warm and welcoming. The breakfast was definitly worth breaking my diet for. I look forward to many more stays here and highly reccomend it to everyone.

Thank you Karen & Ron!

Love,
Sylvia & Adrian

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so excited to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and to hear that it was a successful proposal. Best to you both come see us again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights in the Rhododendron Suite during the Christmas illuminations celebration in Colonial Williamsburg. Karen & Ron welcomed us into their home and immediately made us feel as though we had been friends for years. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfy bed and insider knowledge of the area helped to make our stay perfect. Without hesitation, a definite winner in all categories. Jeri & Jerry

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! I have to say you two were a pleasure to have here, I think the other guests at the B&B that weekend would agree. Please come back and see us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed her for a night just as a quick getaway (Christmas gift from in-law for night away from our children). :) We visited multiple other B&Bs before deciding on this one. We made the right choice! Karen does such a great job from local recommendations to cooking an amazing breakfast! We have stayed in many B&Bs in several countries, this one ranks amongst one of our favorites. Colonial decor and hospitality. You will not be disappointed! Our room was the azalea - fantastic roomy with the separate sitting area. As we are living in Florida we really enjoyed the fireplace, added to the romance. :) Getting to chat with Karen and the other guest for breakfast was also a highlight, one of my favorite parts of staying at a B&B. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thanks you so much for your kind review! I am so happy to learn that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you and please come see us again sometime!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was my first visit ever to a B&B and I think Karen has set a pretty high standard for all the future B&B's to come. Karen was very accommodating from the word go when I booked my stay a couple of weeks ago to book a cozy weekend with my husband for his bday.

I called in the previous day to let her know of the late check-in and requested for a bday cake and she happily made arrangements for both.

The rooms were wonderful (we took the Primrose) as a personal choice though, I prefer softer beds. But the decor was nice, completely Colonial and very comfortable otherwise. My only disappointment was with the shower area, which was too tiny and claustrophobic. I think it was about 3x3ft only! Although, a disclaimer, it could be just with the Primrose suite only.

The best part of the day at Colonial Garden was the breakfast time. Conversation and food was amazing. I would definitely be back for that supper yummy French toast. If you are in the Williamsburg area, I would highly recommend booking your stay here!

Room Tip: Karen is a lovely inn-keeper and the Consummate Hostess! You must try her French Toast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thanks you so much for your kind review! We know that shower is small, we are looking into how to make it larger. Your right in the all the other rooms have much larger bathrooms and showers.
We are so very glad you both had a nice time and sure hope to see you again sometime!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens b&b
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.