We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful any time of year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wine Tour & Tasting
Ranked #9 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful any time of year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

This bed and breakfast is the perfect getaway! My husband and I first came here to get married. The owner, Karen, took care of every detail! We will continue to come back whenever we come to the Williamsburg area. Call Karen today and find out more about this wonderful romantic retreat! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: Make sure to read room descriptions carefully to get the exact room you want. Each room is slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! We were so happy to help you put together your special day. We are so pleased you enjoyed it. Hope we see you again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were sent here by our english tour company, for two nights, but would return any time under our own steam. This was probably the best B&B we stayed in during our USA tour. Our host was welcoming and friendly. It was a nice touch that she came and had a chat over breakfast was we drank her most unusual blend of coffee, a very good brew too. She had provided drinks and snacks to help ourselves to in the afternoon. The room was spotlessly clean and tidy. It was also cool despite the 96 degree heat. There was nothing to fault. Breakfast was a gastonomic triumph. You could not guess at waht was to arrive on your plate. It is situated on a main road into Williamsburg, but the traffic noise was not noticeable despite our room being on the front. It was also only a short drive to the town where there was to be found plenty of evening dining. I cannot rate this accommodation highly enough and would recommend it to anyone looking for a place in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
Malcolm! Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here for your American adventure. We are so glad you found us accommodating and comfortable. Hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I surprised my husband for out 25th wedding anv. with a romantic weekend getaway. Karen was wonderful she and I talked on the phone and made all the plans for my surprise. When we arrived there was wine, fruit and cheese tray waiting in our room. After dinner at the same resturant that my husband purposed to me , we returned to the inn with chocolate covered strawberries wating in our room for us.. Each morning we started our day with a relaxing gourmet breakfast...Karen is a wonderful cook. All the special details imported coffee, beutiful place settings, ahh the food...so yummy. This was our first time at a B&B, it was a great experience and we will defently return again. Thank you Karen we enjoyed our stay and feel we made a new friend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. When you first called about your idea to surprise your husband with your “Original proposal” anniversary, I thought it would be fun to help you. It certainly was and you made my day as well! Hope to see you two again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

I went there to get married and have the my most romantic weekend of my life and it was that and more.The place was beautiful and romantic.The service from the time I got there until we left was great.The owners were both nice and giving.I actually felt like they were our friends and family.Our days there were like a dream and I wish we could have stayed there forever.Also the food was so delicious and they were so great for being there before we got there for things we needed and after we got there.They listened to everything we said we wanted and hoped for.I will be going back for our anniversery and maybe before then.Thankyou Karen for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. You made such a beautiful Bride too! We so enjoyed helping you put together a special wedding day and honeymoon! Hope to see you two again on an anniversary!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We absolutely loved this B&B. The inn keeper, Karen was wonderful. The complimentary gourmet breakfast each morning was a wonderful beginning to the day. The rooms are very clean with comfortable bedding. I would highly recommend coming here for a romantic Williamsburg getaway. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. It makes me feel great when we achieve our goal of making you want to return!!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I had the privilege of attending a family wedding that was held here over a 3 day weekend. Some of the family stayed at the property, but I was a guest. I saw all the guest rooms, each with their own bath, and was delighted by their charm. I attended family breakfast twice and it was wonderful. The wedding cermony was held in the garden with a reception for about 30 guests inside. The owner and hostess, Karen did it all - photography, meals, service - wonder woman. I'm contemplating a weekend for my hubby and I so we too can be spoiled by Karen.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review. We love helping folks make memories like this. We also enjoyed meeting your family and friends! Maybe we will see you on an anniversary some year.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We had our wedding at the bed and breakfast on May 14, Karen was extremely accomadating, kind, friendly, very organized and so helpful. The weather was looking a bit off but the sun came out just a few hours before the wedding and Karen and her husband and managed to set up oustide for the wedding, It was beautiful!!
The food and hospitality she provided to my husband and I and our familiy was beyond what I could have asked for.
With the stress of my fiancee being stationed overseas, Karen took care of all the wedding details, flowers, cake, decorations and she even managed to get our 7 kids to behave and participate in the ceremony, walk where they were supposed to and most of all they were still smiling!! The only sad part is that it only lasted the weeked, Thanks Karen, You did an outstanding job and you helped make our special day one that we will cherish forever!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that we helped to make your day special. We love having weddings here & we very much enjoyed meeting your family and friends. Our goal is to have everyone who stays here and / or gets married here to feel compelled to write such a review so we go the extra mile. Best wishes to the both of you and make sure to come stay with us on an anniversary!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1109 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg
Colonial Gardens b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;