We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast
501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
North Chalreston, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We loved the Colonial Capital B & B - our room was the smaller room - James - but quite adequate - we stayed two nights - both breakfasts were outstanding! George - the owner was the host and was very helpful and friendly! We plan to stay there again when we return to Williamsburg

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This B&B is across the street from the College of William & Mary and a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg. The room and private bathroom was clean. The breakfast was very good and the innkeepers friendly but not overbearing. I would return here again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I and 3 other couples reserved the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast for the last weekend before Christmas 2009, and it was wonderful. We had the entire inn to ourselves, which added to the enjoyment. (There is a room on the third floor, but it was rented for the year to two co-eds from the College of William and Mary and, therefore was inaccessible). Each room has its own style and all were nicely furnished and decorated. The room that my wife and I had was the smallest of the four but was still of sufficient size and comfort. Although our room faced Richmond Street, it was still quiet and we slept undisturbed by passing traffic. The first floor parlor is spacious and has comfortable sofas and chairs that we put to good use each evening sharing wine and watching NFL football.

George was a gracious host and made terrific breakfasts each morning using his southern Mississippi culinary skills and recipes. Breakfast was served at a well-appointed table in the dining room that easily accommodated our entire party.

The inn’s location could not have been better. It is across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a short walk from Merchant’s Square and the lower terminus of Duke of Gloucester Street. It is an easy walk from the inn to the historic sites in Colonial Williamsburg. There is a Colonial Williamsburg ticket office in Merchant’s Square, and that eliminates the need to drive to the Visitor’s Center and rely on bus transportation to and from the historic sites.

All said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The room was spacious and comfortable and the friendly (but not intrusive) innkeepers took good care of us. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious and filling, giving us a nice start to our sightseeing each day. It's a few blocks further from Colonial Williamsburg than we thought, but still within walking distance in a nice area of town. A real plus was the parking space we had while there. We're looking forward to visiting in warmer weather so we can take advantage of the little porch/balcony off of the Potomac Room. All in all, a truly wonderful place to relax after a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here. The whole house was beautiful. George made us feel very welcomed. Our room - Chesapeake - was lovely. Everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfasts were excellent. We had to leave early on our last morning and George made sure we had a muffin to take with us. After walking around all day visiting the various sites in the Historic Triangle area, it was nice to be able to sit and relax in the living room having a glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The house was a great spot to walk to Colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Busch Gardens. We traveled with a 10 year old and she felt very comfortable in the sitting room of the Pamlico Suite. The house was spotless and George a gracious host.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

The Colonial Capital is a cute little Inn located only a short walk from Colonial Williamsburg, which was really a deciding factor for us. The owner, George, is awkward at times but very friendly and helpful. He will go out of his way to be accomodating, which is very nice. The Inn has comfortable gathering spaces downstairs filled with magazines and books. The rooms are very comfortable (we settled right into ours) and well kept and our bathroom had an adorable free standing tub. The breakfasts were decent and George always kept us guessing. My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon stay there and we are very grateful to George for making us so comfortable.

  • Liked — The location to Colonial Williamsburg was excellent and the owner was pleasant
  • Disliked — The college students in the area could get rowdy at night but it did not disturb us in the Inn
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

Address: 501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast in Williamsburg Virginia, established 1988, is just a three-block walk from Colonial Williamsburg. The Colonial Parkway connects Jamestown and Yorktown and each are less than a relaxing 30-minute drive.  Busch Gardens & Water Country USA are just minutes from our door. Antique furnishings-Spacious parlor-Canopied beds-Private baths-Full cooked breakfast-Afternoon tea-Lighted off street parking. Also available are Celebration Packages-Discount Tickets-Gift Certificates-Repeat Visit Discounts ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list