We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here. The whole house was beautiful. George made us feel very welcomed. Our room - Chesapeake - was lovely. Everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfasts were excellent. We had to leave early on our last morning and George made sure we had a muffin to take with us. After walking around all day visiting the various sites in the Historic Triangle area, it was nice to be able to sit and relax in the living room having a glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dickson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The house was a great spot to walk to Colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Busch Gardens. We traveled with a 10 year old and she felt very comfortable in the sitting room of the Pamlico Suite. The house was spotless and George a gracious host.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

The Colonial Capital is a cute little Inn located only a short walk from Colonial Williamsburg, which was really a deciding factor for us. The owner, George, is awkward at times but very friendly and helpful. He will go out of his way to be accomodating, which is very nice. The Inn has comfortable gathering spaces downstairs filled with magazines and books. The rooms are very comfortable (we settled right into ours) and well kept and our bathroom had an adorable free standing tub. The breakfasts were decent and George always kept us guessing. My husband and I enjoyed our honeymoon stay there and we are very grateful to George for making us so comfortable.

  • Liked — The location to Colonial Williamsburg was excellent and the owner was pleasant
  • Disliked — The college students in the area could get rowdy at night but it did not disturb us in the Inn
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

While the owners were pleasant and the rooms and decorations are wonderful, this wasn't our best experience in a B&B; George and (especially) Sharon just didn't seem to be as friendly or outgoing as we've experienced at other inns. I suppose that we are used to B&B hosts/hostesses being more extroverted; I felt as though these owners didn't want to talk to the people staying at the inn.

Location is easy to get to from Route 64 and great for walking into Colonial Williamsburg and the William & Mary campus. Breakfasts were tasty and had generous portions. Our room was very clean and the entire inn is decorated well. Off-street parking is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2007

My husband and I just recently had a baby boy and this was the first night away from him in 7 weeks. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and were really looking forward to a nice evening. Upon returning from dinner, the owner was very rude and disrespectful to us, something we'd never experienced at any other bed and breakfast . It's under new management since the previous reviews. The location and food were good but if you're looking for a pleasant weekend getaway, I would not recommend this place.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

Staying at the Colonial Capital B&B in Williamsburg with Barbara and Phil was great. Beautiful home with wonderful breakfast (ask to join the 'Cookie Club'). Short walk to the Colonial Capitol and all that is Williamsburg--best B&B experience! Clean and full of hospitality with friendly owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ/NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2004

From the moment we made the reservation inkeepers Phil and Barbara extended themselves in every way. We emailed and asked for recommendations for restaurants- they phoned to make suggestions and offer to make reservations. When we decided on a change of cusine for one of the reservations they were happy to make another suggestion. And what was better - the selections were all excellent. Everything about this B & B is perfect - the location, the warm and welcoming inn, the comfortable (and spotless) rooms - comfortable and welcoming and innkeepers who make you feel at home and is if you were friends for the longest time- and wonderful breakfast with good food and meeting other guests. A pure delight and true "hospitality" in every sense of the word!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

Address: 501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you as our guests at Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast, a prominent Colonial Revival Inn (c. 1926) In the heart of the Architectural Preservation District. We'll be your home in Williamsburg while you fill your days experiencing our three outdoor living museums: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and while enjoying the thrills and spills found at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. All are just minutes from your Williamsburg accommodations. Antique furnishings and oriental rugs throughout the house create a rich blend of warmth, style and comfort. Our classic plantation parlor offers a perfect setting for relaxing conversation with friends, new and old. On cold winter evenings the parlor's wood burning fireplace blazes, while in the heat of summer our Inn is air conditioned for your comfort. The screened side porch, patio and deck provide out-of-doors pleasures. Each day tea and wine are offered as a welcome afternoon or evening refreshment. Also we recommend you visiting inkeeper, David Everett's DoG Street Pub, Blue Talon Bistro, The Trellis Restaurant and BlackBird Bakery. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.