We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travel to many B&B's and this one is one great little secret.. Who would have thought that this place existed and just within walking distance of historic williamsburg. This great little B&B was just what we needed and perfect for any occasion. We had high tea in the afternoon and advise anyone that comes to put a booking in early so you are garanteed to get one of their 5 star elegant rooms.. We can't wait to come back next spring when we return again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast in Williamsburg, Virginia graduation/Mother’s day weekend of 2012. If you are planning a special weekend for a William and Mary graduation or football, Grand Illumination, or just a little R&R, this is the place to stay. Our host, Mr. George A. Hollingsworth III could not have been any more generous of his time, efforts, or spirit and accommodated us exceedingly well. We had a diverse group with different needs and George proved to be both flexible and innovative to keep all of his guests extremely happy. His bed and breakfast will capture and enthrall you in the historic mood of Williamsburg and it is beautifully decorated. After personalizing his menu for any food allergies or aversions, George’s breakfasts are scrumptious and evoke what you would consider top form Southern cooking. You will be within walking distance of many of the activities surrounding both Colonial Williamsburg and the College. Having done due diligence for two years prior to our stay for William and Mary’s graduation weekend, we had high expectations for the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast and our weekend could not have been any better.

Room Tip: Speak with the owner about your visit and who will be staying at the Inn. He will provide you with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chalreston, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We loved the Colonial Capital B & B - our room was the smaller room - James - but quite adequate - we stayed two nights - both breakfasts were outstanding! George - the owner was the host and was very helpful and friendly! We plan to stay there again when we return to Williamsburg

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

This B&B is across the street from the College of William & Mary and a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg. The room and private bathroom was clean. The breakfast was very good and the innkeepers friendly but not overbearing. I would return here again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My wife and I and 3 other couples reserved the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast for the last weekend before Christmas 2009, and it was wonderful. We had the entire inn to ourselves, which added to the enjoyment. (There is a room on the third floor, but it was rented for the year to two co-eds from the College of William and Mary and, therefore was inaccessible). Each room has its own style and all were nicely furnished and decorated. The room that my wife and I had was the smallest of the four but was still of sufficient size and comfort. Although our room faced Richmond Street, it was still quiet and we slept undisturbed by passing traffic. The first floor parlor is spacious and has comfortable sofas and chairs that we put to good use each evening sharing wine and watching NFL football.

George was a gracious host and made terrific breakfasts each morning using his southern Mississippi culinary skills and recipes. Breakfast was served at a well-appointed table in the dining room that easily accommodated our entire party.

The inn’s location could not have been better. It is across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a short walk from Merchant’s Square and the lower terminus of Duke of Gloucester Street. It is an easy walk from the inn to the historic sites in Colonial Williamsburg. There is a Colonial Williamsburg ticket office in Merchant’s Square, and that eliminates the need to drive to the Visitor’s Center and rely on bus transportation to and from the historic sites.

All said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be delighted to return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The room was spacious and comfortable and the friendly (but not intrusive) innkeepers took good care of us. The breakfast on both mornings was delicious and filling, giving us a nice start to our sightseeing each day. It's a few blocks further from Colonial Williamsburg than we thought, but still within walking distance in a nice area of town. A real plus was the parking space we had while there. We're looking forward to visiting in warmer weather so we can take advantage of the little porch/balcony off of the Potomac Room. All in all, a truly wonderful place to relax after a long day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

My husband and I really enjoyed staying here. The whole house was beautiful. George made us feel very welcomed. Our room - Chesapeake - was lovely. Everything was clean and well maintained. The breakfasts were excellent. We had to leave early on our last morning and George made sure we had a muffin to take with us. After walking around all day visiting the various sites in the Historic Triangle area, it was nice to be able to sit and relax in the living room having a glass of wine.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast

Address: 501 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you as our guests at Colonial Capital Bed & Breakfast, a prominent Colonial Revival Inn (c. 1926) In the heart of the Architectural Preservation District. We'll be your home in Williamsburg while you fill your days experiencing our three outdoor living museums: Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown and while enjoying the thrills and spills found at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. All are just minutes from your Williamsburg accommodations. Antique furnishings and oriental rugs throughout the house create a rich blend of warmth, style and comfort. Our classic plantation parlor offers a perfect setting for relaxing conversation with friends, new and old. On cold winter evenings the parlor's wood burning fireplace blazes, while in the heat of summer our Inn is air conditioned for your comfort. The screened side porch, patio and deck provide out-of-doors pleasures. Each day tea and wine are offered as a welcome afternoon or evening refreshment. Also we recommend you visiting inkeeper, David Everett's DoG Street Pub, Blue Talon Bistro, The Trellis Restaurant and BlackBird Bakery. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Capital Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.