We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   616 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Vernon, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

After lengthy internet research, my love and I decided to stay at the Cedars for our anniversary. We live in Arlington, VA, so it was just over 2 hours to reach the Cedars, but when we turned into the driveway, both of us lit up with excitement. After checking in with Bob, the wonderful owner, we were shown to the George Washington suite and were thrilled. Everything was spotless, there was a small electric fireplace, and the best part - NO TV and (if I remember correctly) NO PHONE! This is THE place to stay if you are looking for time away from it all with a little side of history. The location is great, as its close to the downtown/colonial Williamsburg sites. It is also right across the street from William and Mary. The breakfast was delicious, with Bob sharing stories and waiting on each of us. He really makes the place special and you can tell he takes great pride in his business. There is nothing negative that I can say about our stay here. Absolutely wonderful and we WILL be back. :)

Room Tip: The George Washington Suite is the first door next to the front door, so be prepared for minimal doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    38
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
70
180
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I rented a suite at $350/night and drove for 4 hours only to find out that they double booked the room to somebody else. Because it was the Columbus day weekend all other hotels in town were full and they just messed up the whole vacation for our whole family.
The owner didn't even bother to talk to us, instead he sent his nice to explain that due to a computer malfunction (sic!) they were unable to honor the reservation.
If you feel like taking a chance, then book this "friendly" B&B!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars_BB, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Mr. Joe S.,

I am very aware of how inconvenienced you were regarding this past weekend. No one is more upset by the inconvenience that we are. That room had been triple overbooked because of an error between our software provider Bedandbreakfast.com and Expedia/Hotels.com for the entire week. They acknowledged their system was to blame.

You were one of three people that we scrambled to find alternative accommodations for this weekend. I have tried to call you at both your work and home numbers (which I Googled to find) and have left you several voice mails. You have yet to reply or have chosen to ignore. I have asked both BedandBreakfast.com and Expedia.com to contact you regarding this issue.

This review has been posted and removed twice in the past week. This is you're third posting. The phone number you provided is never answered. I have asked Expedia.com and Bedandbreakfast.com to contact you. I had spend hours last week trying to correct the problem.

In all cases, I immediately contacted Expedia and told them of the error. Expedia called me Saturday morning about your reservation about 9:00 AM and I told them then that we did not have a room and they needed to contact you. They DID NOT. They assured me that would take care of their technical error and contact the guests involved. They DID NOT! Unfortunately, they also provide the minimum contact information regarding guests booking through their website. I only had a name and work phone number AND the room was booked late Friday for a Saturday arrival. There was no way for me to contact you or we would have.

Finally, our staff did everything they could to find you another B&B to stay in Williamsburg and accordingly to the folks at War Hill, you never showed up!

You have been refunded your money according to Bedandbreakfast this morning. From your review, you made many incorrect assumptions that are not fair and not true. You felt compelled to rate us as low as you could (and you haven't even stayed with us) and never even mentioned the effort that went into explaining the situation or finding you alternatives. My wife spoke with you on the phone and Katie (our employee, not our niece) worked to solve the problem as best we could.

I am sincerely sorry for your inconvenience and I have worked many hours last week to try to fix the problem. I hope we get the chance to meet and would offer a discount for you and your family should you decide to visit the area again. I would very much appreciate the opportunity to host your family's visit the next time you are in Williamsburg. You can be assured that I will get to the bottom of fixing the systemic problem with our provider. As someone involved with information technology, you more than most should be understanding of technical problems, particularly with three party providers.

Sincerely,

Bob Tubbs

Owner, Cedars of Williamsburg B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Bob and Grace Tubbs make their B&B very cozy. The breakfast in the morning is yummy with a different type of dish every morning. No TVs in the bedrooms, which makes you simply relax. There are two in the downstairs if you need to catch up on anything. Close enough to walk to Williamsburg & shopping/restaurants. Right across from William and Mary College. And departures with the free buses to the historic areas are within walking distance. And watch out, Bob will take your picture in the morning, so be ready! Fun!!

Room Tip: Had a lovely and sunny room on the second floor. If you wanted a little more of a quiet room (older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedars_BB, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Hey Lynn,

Glad to see that you two made it back to Ohio safe and sound. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review and providing that all important feedback. You bring up a good point about shuttles. You can take the Trolley to Colonial Williamsburg and (during the season - late March through late October,) shuttle service can also take you around CW and to Jamestown, Yorktown and Busch Gardens.

You two were a hoot and we had a wonderful hosting your Williamsburg visit. We hope you both can visit us again in the very near future. Have a wonderful holiday season.

All the best,
Grace & Bob & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here this week for our 11th anniversary and had never stayed at a B&B before. We were so happy with the service in booking, the room itself (we stayed in the Christopher Wren), the atmosphere of the house (perfect for stepping back in time for a Colonial adventure), and the great lengths Bob and his staff showed in making us feel welcome. He gave us great directions, tips on the area, and the breakfasts were wonderful! Our favorite was the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - delicious! I have read some of these other reviews, and am particularly sad to see a few of the poor reviews. One mentioned that they were upset there was no TV in their room - well, you should have booked a hotel! The point of a B&B is to be AWAY from the distractions of everyday life, like TV's and other noise. We found the rooms to be a trip back in time - away from technology, and found ourselves bonding and enjoying ourselves without the need for electronics. There are great books all over the house, board games, a sitting room, a beautiful walkway out back with a gazebo - very picturesque, quaint, and quiet. We had a great night's sleep both nights we were there. We have five young kids so we needed a peaceful and quiet break with lots of sleep, and this wonderful B&B did that for us! Thank you Bob for a wonderful stay!!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the top two floors - quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just back to the UK after dodging hurricanes and earthquakes !
Stayed at the Cedars for a couple of nights post hurricane.
Home from home ! The whole place is a gem and the breakfasts were a nice
change from the usual continental or full English !
Well placed for walking into Colonial Williamsburg and restaurants for evening meals.
Pack your sense of humour and roll with the tide...the owner is a comedian !
Phil and Ann. Yorkshire, England

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very enjoyable stay, great room and location. One of the best we stayed in

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We really liked the Cedars. funky but classic colonial features. named rooms (we were in George Washington), creaky stairs. Great breakfast, and incredably attentive and cheery hosts. Convenient to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast

Address: 616 Jamestown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business, we are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotwire so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Bed And Breakfast
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.