We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely planning on going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
605 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Richmond, VA
1 review
“Absolutely planning on going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I spent a night at this beautiful B&B and had a wonderful time. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to see in Williamsburg, especially Colonial Williamsburg. The atmosphere was charming. The food was EXCELLENT!!! What really won us over, though was the genuine hospitality of the host who was flexible, accommodating and very friendly. We talked for a good long while with her and look forward to visiting with her again. We will definitely go back and have recommended it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

First of all, Monty and Denise will treat you like friends the moment they see you. Their dogs...Buddy is a little nervous of strangers, but the Corgi will happily take up the love, so bring some doggie snacks.
We had zero complaints. The bed was comfortable, the food was the best (ask for the baked oatmeal), and it's literally a 5 minute, very pleasant walk to Colonial Williamsburg.
We stayed in the Tree Top Suite, and had lots of room, two rooms, to be honest, a living room and a bed room. Each room has a fridge that they kindly stock with water and soda, and they don't nickle and dime it out of you.
They always have muffins or cookies waiting for you in the living room downttairs as you come home for the night. They give you your own key, and you come and go as you wish..no curfew!
We plan on staying again, maybe during next Christmas season.
Thanks for making the trip a memorable one!

Nolo and Lauren Bustos
Salt Lake City, UT

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BobnpamNJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My wife and I decided on a last minute getaway to Williamsburg and after checking out several of the B&B's in town, decided to stay at the Applewood Colonial B&B. We booked the Tree Top Suite which was a beautiful two room suite located on the third floor of the Inn. The queen sized bed was extremely comfortable, and the bedroom had a wall mounted flat screen TV, as well as a fireplace. The second room of the suite was a spacious seating area with a daybed, chairs and an additional TV. The room as well as the rest of the Inn was beautifully decorated and extremley clean. The location of the Inn was great since it was only a three block walk to Merchant Square and Colonial Williamsburg. There is convenient on-street parking at the Inn which is allowed with a parking pass that is provided by the Inn.
The breakfast which is served at 8:30 each morning was delicious, and always included fresh fruit. The owner is new to the business and is a gracious host who does a wonderful job of running the Inn.

  • Liked — Clean, comfotable room. great breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

We had a wonderful stay at the Applewood Inn of Williamsburg, Va. The staff was so very helpful for our first time navagating Colonial Williamsburg. Each morning a fabulous breakfast was served in our own little breakfast nook. The gentleman who served also spent considerable time explaining the local color of this wonderful region of the country. A most welcoming and lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

My husband and I just returned from spending 4 nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast. The breakfasts were out of this world!!! We could have sat at the breakfast table for hours and talked with the other guests and innkeeper.
Our rooms were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The location was in walking distance to anything we wanted to do in Williamsburg. I would definitely recommend this b&b to anyone planning a stay in Williamsburg.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2005

What a wonderful experience my daughter and I had at Applewood Bed and Breakfast! We were greeted by Tanya and "Murphy" with wonderful apple pie and baking brownies...yum, yum!

We had a lovely room with all amenites and plenty of extra frills. Our trip was very pleasurable because of the great information Tanya afforded about Williamsburg, including the best restaurants to try.

We had to cut our trip short so unfortunately missed the lovely breakfast Tanya had prepared, but we went home armed with the peach French toast recipe and enjoyed it a few days later...delicious!

We look forward to a return trip to Williamsburg and we will definitely stay at Applewood again.

Janice and Briana Strand

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2003

Wonderful! What can you say about "the perfect" Bed and Breakfast!? The Rooms are clean, tidy, decorate nice ... and I have stayed in three of the rooms at this B-n-B! I have been to Williamsburg several times and this B-n-B is always my first choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast

Address: 605 Richmond Rd., Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 'Applewood' a day for a memorable stay. This Flemish bond brick home was built in 1929 by the construction manager for the Colonial Willamsburg restoration and features many finely crafted Colonial details of the 18th century. The owner's unique apple collection is accented by beautiful antiques and 21st C amenities. Guests enjoy a full breakfast served by candlelight in the elegant dining room and afternoon refreshments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Applewood Colonial b&b
Applewood Colonial Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applewood Colonial Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.