We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding??” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bassett Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bassett Motel to your Saves list
Bassett Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Are you kidding??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

At first blush we weren't sure what we were getting into. At second blush we realized our mistake, but they had already charged my card.

This is an 18 room strip motel that rents by the week.

That said, the room was clean, the tv worked as did the free wifi, and the water was hot. If you are looking for a really cheap getaway to Williamsburg, try a bunch of other places first before giving up and staying here. We've nicknamed this the Bates Motel (hopefully without the knife in the shower).

By the way, they advertize a "coupon" for breakfast on their website. Turns out, if you take their business card to the pancake house up the street, you are entitled to UP TO 10% off your meal. We passed on this fab deal.

Spend another $10 per night for peace of mind.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For the money, I don't think you can beat the Basset Motel. The rooms are fairly small, and definitely old (I'm guessing early 60's), but they've been well maintained. The gentleman at the front desk is friendly, and met every request I had (extra towels, etc). You should be advised that the motel is right across the street from a railroad track. It didn't bother me, but my wife didn't care for it much. It may matter to some - didn't bother me at all.

For what it's worth, the beds were exceptionally comfortable.

I wanted to spend my money on this trip to Williamsburg on the attractions, not accommodations. If you just want a clean, no-frills place to stay, look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was good for the price, but we happened to come at the time where they were replacing their water heater. They did replace it, but still no hot water in the shower. I could have asked maybe for a discount because of that, but they were so nice, I didn't do it. The walls were very thin and we heard the guy next door in the bathroom. He must have not had hot water either. Otherwise, very nice at the desk and a spacious, clean room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

THis is a very small motel, less than 1 mile from the Historic Area of Williamsburg. An easy walk. It's also a 10 minute drive to Busch Gardens. Although the room was outdated, including the pink bathroom, this motel was clean and affordable, it you just want a place to sleep. We had a fridge and a microwave, so we took our own Breakfast foods and had a place to stash some beer and wine for after the long day at the attractions. While we were there, there was a mechanical problem with the hot water. There was plumbers on site and it was fixed by the time we got back from touring. The front desk apologized for any inconvenience. There is a small convenience store a short walk away, as well as a Harris Teeter (grocery store) about a mile away. There was a steak and seafood house a block away and also a pancake house a short walk away. We did not go to any of those, so we don't know how they are. Overall a good place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune.

Room Tip: I was told at check in that all the rooms had fridge and microwave. If you are with more that 2 peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this motel based on previous reviews. This motel had better reviews than a well known franchise, Days Inn. We were glad that we went with the motel. We were pleasantly surprised to see how clean the rooms were and spacious. We checked all the beds and towels looking for something to be dirty and nothing was. Also, the beds and towels had a fresh smell to them. We stayed two nights and housekeeping cleaned both days which we were not expecting since we only paid $50. The motel is definitely older and everything about it is older but it was a great price and the location was less than 5 minutes away from Bush Gardens. We spent a fortune at Bush Gardens so the price of the motel was perfect. There were reviews about the noise of the train but our rooms backed up to a development behind us so we did not hear the train when we were in our rooms. Also, we liked the fact that we were able to park in front of our rooms. We had two rooms for two families that included three teenage girls and the girls did not seem to mind the rooms. Their initial thought when we drove up was that they did not think they were going to like it at all because they have been accustomed to staying at 4 star hotels. However, immediately they were all very comfortable in the rooms and we did not hear any complaints from them after arriving. If you are looking for pretty with amenities this motel is NOT it. If you are looking for a clean, spacious, and affordable room you will enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Basset Motel was nothing fancy , fairly thin wall, but was the least expensive around. We stayed there 3 nights extending night after night. Not a high end place, no coffee or bkfst, but a 5 min walk or drive to all. It's and older one story, park in front but the room was clean in all aspects with comfortable beds. Could hear the neighbors occasionally but overall we were satisfied. If it's economy you want, here it is. There were some name brand hotels around for about $30 more, but $30 is $30. Better in my pocket.

Room Tip: A train goes by at around 11pm, so you may want to ask for a further away room, we like the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good value. All we wanted was clean room and hot shower and that's what we got. If you want bells and whistles don't go here. It was easy to find and handy to the sites to be seen at Williamsburg . Another good point is out front of your room parking which is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bassett Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett Motel

Address: 800 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bassett Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassett motel is currently located among Virginia's most desirable attractions. History, theme parks (Busch gardens & Water country USA), College of William and Mary, Prime outlet mall and golf course are all only minute away from your first choice of motels. This motel is ideally located just one block (walking distance) from historical colonial Williamsburg and 1.5 miles from Busch gardens & Water country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bassett Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassett Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassett Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.