We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Great Price & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bassett Motel

Save Saved
You added Bassett Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bassett Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for Great Price & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We chose this motel based on previous reviews. This motel had better reviews than a well known franchise, Days Inn. We were glad that we went with the motel. We were pleasantly surprised to see how clean the rooms were and spacious. We checked all the beds and towels looking for something to be dirty and nothing was. Also, the beds and towels had a fresh smell to them. We stayed two nights and housekeeping cleaned both days which we were not expecting since we only paid $50. The motel is definitely older and everything about it is older but it was a great price and the location was less than 5 minutes away from Bush Gardens. We spent a fortune at Bush Gardens so the price of the motel was perfect. There were reviews about the noise of the train but our rooms backed up to a development behind us so we did not hear the train when we were in our rooms. Also, we liked the fact that we were able to park in front of our rooms. We had two rooms for two families that included three teenage girls and the girls did not seem to mind the rooms. Their initial thought when we drove up was that they did not think they were going to like it at all because they have been accustomed to staying at 4 star hotels. However, immediately they were all very comfortable in the rooms and we did not hear any complaints from them after arriving. If you are looking for pretty with amenities this motel is NOT it. If you are looking for a clean, spacious, and affordable room you will enjoy this motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mich
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Basset Motel was nothing fancy , fairly thin wall, but was the least expensive around. We stayed there 3 nights extending night after night. Not a high end place, no coffee or bkfst, but a 5 min walk or drive to all. It's and older one story, park in front but the room was clean in all aspects with comfortable beds. Could hear the neighbors occasionally but overall we were satisfied. If it's economy you want, here it is. There were some name brand hotels around for about $30 more, but $30 is $30. Better in my pocket.

Room Tip: A train goes by at around 11pm, so you may want to ask for a further away room, we like the sound o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good value. All we wanted was clean room and hot shower and that's what we got. If you want bells and whistles don't go here. It was easy to find and handy to the sites to be seen at Williamsburg . Another good point is out front of your room parking which is free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you just need a clean and comfortable place to sleep near the Williamsburg attractions, and you want a very economical price, the Bassett Motel is the place for you. The place looks very simple, but the rooms are just fine. They have refrigerators and microwaves. If you are looking for amenities like a swimming pool or a free breakfast, then the Bassett is NOT for you. But the Bassett is a short and easy drive to historic Williamsburg or to Busch Gardens theme park. The management is very efficient. I should tell you that there is a train track across the street from the Bassett, in case train noise bothers you. I personally like the sound of trains going by.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midway park nc
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

For the price I could not be more satisfied. Very nice people, from the owner, clerk,and maid.Right down the road from great places to eat like Sammy's and of course Busch Gardens.You pay for what you get,and for the price I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Bassett several times and each time I have been treated so kindly by the staff...first of all let me tell you a little about the motel...when you first drive up, it appears to be an older motel and you might not be impressed at first sight...but hold on a minute...CHECK OUT THE ROOMS...wow!! Spacious and clean as can be! Good TV and excellent WI-FI, and a price than CANNOT be beat..really, give it a try..you will be surprised!! I even got a phone call from the motel the evening after I checked out asking me if I was pleased with the three rooms I rented...who does that? I must say that I am impressed and WILL continue to stay at the Bassett whenever I am going to Busch Gardens!

Room Tip: I have stayed at the rooms around back...nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Williamsburg and Jamestown it was okay for what we paid, but could do with been refurbished as is quite old . In last review owners replied by saying you were showing your room before you checked in , well we were not !!!! were just giving the key, next time we will ask to see the room

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bassett Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bassett Motel

Address: 800 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bassett Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bassett motel is currently located among Virginia's most desirable attractions. History, theme parks (Busch gardens & Water country USA), College of William and Mary, Prime outlet mall and golf course are all only minute away from your first choice of motels. This motel is ideally located just one block (walking distance) from historical colonial Williamsburg and 1.5 miles from Busch gardens & Water country USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Bassett Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassett Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bassett Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.