We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Patrick Henry Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patrick Henry Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   315 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Front Royal, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Rooms are ok, hotel like not like a normal timeshare. Has no winter amenities such as a pool, nothing to do when the weather is nasty. No problems checking in other then having too many people or finding our room, room was clean and well maintained. Not as nice as all the other bluegreen's we have been too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    32
    24
    23
    25
See reviews for
35
39
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ada, Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a 3 star because no restaurant on site and pool is outdoor only, but if I were choosing a location that is in Williamsburg and under $125, I would choose this if the price is right because it has a kitchen and 2 bedrooms, albeit they are small. If you are a Bluegreen owner, you will probably be disappointed, not the same quality, and there is another resort 5 miles away that is better. (I reviewed that too.) The location of this property is indeed within walking distance of Williamsburg, but the quiet end. You'll walk a pleasant mile to the end with restaurants. It is a convenient location but Williamsburg is just not that big. You can get anywhere in 15 minutes and you have to have a car to get around so I wouldn't choose any hotel for location. We were facing the small courtyard so NO concerns with noise. It was clean, the beds were fine, the bathrooms were very nice, the pool was clean. They are renovating the old building and until it is done, you should make sure your reservation will be in the new side only. But I would stay here before booking a regular hotel room for the added space and amenities inside the room, just not really a resort like most Bluegreen properties.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place was clean, but every other Bluegreen facility we have been at was much nicer. We usually cook several meals while on vacation to save money and eat healthy, but this kitchen was so crowded and it did not have an oven, just a microwave oven. There was no cupboard space to put food in. We also found out upon arrival that we were put in a handicapped room. Everything was low to the ground and several areas which would have been storage areas were cut out for wheel chair access and pipes from sinks were exposed. This was especially aggravating because we were traveling with a toddler and had to move knives, forks, etc. from these very low areas so she wouldn't get at them. There was no porch to the outside...which we usually frequent in the evenings on our vacations. We felt very claustrophobic. Normal hotel suites are nicer than this was. Also, in their sales pitch they exaggerated benefits of "day passes" to other bluegreen resorts. There is a much nicer bluegreen just miles away but they don't participate in this exchange even though they share employees with Patrick Henry. Overall, it just doesn't compare to other places we have stayed and is just not worth the points.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We checked in with no problems. The room was even decent BUT turn the sheets down on the bed and it was another story. There were so many 'stains' on the sheets it made my stomach turn. Not to mention the hair on the pillows. We called the front desk to get new sheets. They dropped them at the door and never bothered to let us know. So here we are waiting for sheets at 11pm at night. When we finally checked outside the door, there were sheets. The wrong size for our bed. After two attempts we finally had sheets and were able to go to bed. We were told to expect a call from the manager in the morning. Never happened. The next morning we went to the continental breakfast we saw in the book on the coffee table that provides information about the inn. They forgot to mention that they had taken away the continental breakfast "several months ago". We were also told there was a heated pool upon booking our reservation (in January). Closed. Overall- nice room but we could have stayed at a hotel and had better amenities that what this 'resort' provided.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is not nearly the most amazing location that BlueGreen owns, but it's still quite nice. I find it to be nearly equivalent to a Hilton Garden Inn-style suite, with ample living space and a small kitchenette.

Note that we stayed in the newer of the two buildings, not the original, older building (where you first check in). From the little that I looked around that building, it is significantly older and less nice than the newer building adjacent to it.

The location is great because it is a short bike or car ride to Colonial Williamsburg, and easy to navigate to major roads, grocery stores, restaurants, etc., The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the area.

Coffee, pastries and fruit are offered in the lobby each morning (although I'd really recommend going to a restaurant or cooking in your room), and activities for kids and/or adults are scheduled almost each day.

There is also a small gym/work out space on-site, with elliptical, bike, treadmill and weights.

Room Tip: Ensure you are staying in the newer of the two buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here on a trip of the area for our 2nd anniversary. It was nice and quiet, perfect location to walk to things. We didn't get to do as much as we had wanted due to the torrential rain but at least we had a nice, clean place to come home to every night. The people weren't exceptionally friendly but that isn't a selling point for us. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toledo,oh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This was an excellent resort in an excellent location! We are Bluegreen owners, and this is one of the nicest places we have been to yet. VERY close to allt he sights, tons of restauants and close to shopping. We had a wonderful time here. The resort has a train track behind it, but the soundproofing was very good. The free continental breakfast was mediocre, but no other Bluegreen resort offers anything for breakfast, so it was better than nothing. Staff is cheerful and helpful. This part of Virginia is GORGEous at this time of year.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Patrick Henry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patrick Henry Inn

Address: 315 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Patrick Henry Inn 2.5*
Also Known As:
Patrick Henry Williamsburg
Patrick Henry Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Patrick Henry Inn
Patrick Henry Inn Williamsburg Va

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patrick Henry Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Patrick Henry Inn to your Saves list