We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place for a Special Occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedmore Place

Save Saved
You added Wedmore Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Wedmore Place
5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Special Place for a Special Occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

From the moment you turn down the driveway onto the grounds of the vineyard you begin to sense that you are in a special place. You feel as though you have been transported to the French countryside. Everything is impeccable. All of the staff are outstanding. You might question my rating of 5 for value when considering the rates, but I can assure you that you will receive an experience well worth it. We attended a wedding here and spent 4 nights, every one was without disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    26
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
118
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Anniversary trip, about 4 miles outside of civilization. Toured the winery, Mark was very knowledgeable and unstuffy. The only negative is the sun comes up at about 5am the there were no black out curtains.....so we never got to sleep in....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Wedmore. The service was outstanding. The entire staff is very polite and respectful. They went out of their way to may our stay very pleasant. They even called us the day after our departure after scouring or room for an article of forgotten clothing. (Turned out we had it!) The breakfasts in the quiet, peaceful dining room was one of the highlights. The food was very fresh and delicious. The kept out coffee cups full at all times. The lower end room we stayed in was spacious and clean. Every room has a European theme that adds to the charm. They have done a good job recreating a European vineyard "castle". The price was very fair for what they offer. We did hear some noises from the hallway on the weekend, but it was not anything that interfered with our sleep on their most comfortable beds. A good map of the area would have been helpful rather than ust verbal directions to the Colonial Parkway and they may have that but the front desk person was new so we did not focus on that one thing. The grounds are beautiful and being in the middle of a vineyard is something we have never experienced.

Room Tip: Low end rooms seem very adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent three nights at Wedmore Place in March 2013 during a trip with friends to visit various colonial and Civil War sites. All of us felt that the hotel, which has an interesting history, was wonderful. It is conveniently located near Yorktown, Williamsburg and Jamestown. We also drove to some of the Civil War sites in the Richmond area using the hotel as a base.

Our room was the Champagne Room, which was very comfortable and spacious, with a working, wood-burning fireplace (I believe all the rooms have that feature). The only minor complaint about the room was that the wooden floor was very squeaky.

Dining in the Cafe Provencal was also wonderful. The service was outstanding and the dinner we had there was extremely good.

All in all, we felt that we had a very nice experience at the hotel and would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wedmore Place was our choice for our latest visit to Williamsburg. We chose it from the Select Registry of Inns and weren't disappointed at all. Each room in the hotel is decorated according to a region in Europe. We were able to sample two rooms, the Scandinavian and the Tuscan Suite. They were very different but each was authentic in furnishings and equivalent in comfort. Breakfast is included in the room rate and you smell the fresh croissants, flown in from outside Paris, as soon as you step into the hallway leading to the restaurant. They melt in your mouth! The fresh fruit is the best I've seen anywhere and the freshly baked quiches are delicious. We had dinner at the restaurant one night and highly recommend it. The chef does wonders with each course and offers a little "amusee" before the meal. The hotel is on the grounds of the Williamsburg Winery and a tour/tasting is part of the room rate. We found the staff to be friendly, open and helpful. Meeting Kristen, one of the owners, was a real treat. The family has put a lot of work into creating a European hotel and dining experience in the heart of Colonial America.

Room Tip: Make sure to go online to view all the rooms. There are three price grades, but we found the Scanda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our family was looking for a unique place to stay for our Spring Break trip to Williamsburg. Wedmore Place was absolutely lovely! The decor was amazing; the staff was friendly and helpful; the breakfast was delicious; the wood fireplace was cozy and enchanting after a day of touring! We would definitely return and recommend this for families and couples alike!

Room Tip: The Aquitine was large enough to accommodate private sleeping quarters for parents plus room for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I would highly recommend this lovely hotel . The rooms were beautiful and well appointed, The grounds and the winery added to the charm. The staff was courteous and very helpful, and what can I say about the dining,, five star for sure. thanks for a wonderful experience, We would stay again and again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wedmore Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedmore Place

Also Known As:
Wedmore Place Hotel
Wedmore Place Williamsburg
Super 8 Williamsburg
Address: 5810 Wessex Hundred, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#25 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wedmore Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedmore Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.