We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I would stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Staff was on point before and after arriving. We requested extra towels..They arrived in under 10 minutes!! Unheard of!! Staff was friendly, accomodating, smiling, Stevie and Rochelle I had to mention by name..AMAZING! All of the rest of the staff just as great! Rooms were clean. Pool was clean. Staff was on top of keeping all guests comfortable! I have stayed in many hotels over the years and would stay here again if I am in the area! Keep up the great work! Everyone so hospitable!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear LJBFam1,

Thank you so much for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning Rochelle, and Stevie. We will be sure to pass this great feedback on to our staff. They really appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you for your time. We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    233
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
466
215
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

My husband and I decided at the last minute and I mean very last to come for an over night trip to celebrate our 9th anniversary. We looked at other reviews and decided to come to Holiday Inn because of the location and what we saw about the service. Our check-in experience was easy and fast. We were immediately greeted by the manager upon entry. It was nice to have a conversation with the staff who was friendly and paid attention to us without herding us through the check-in process. Our room did not have much of a view but no complaint as this was our anniversary. The beds were clean and NO bugs. I only rated sleep quality as very good because there is no place like home! But it was comfortable. The room was clean and a nice size. We stayed on the 2nd floor and had no problem with noise from the outside even though our room was facing the street. The only noise was from some family who either could or would not control a running child. But the biggest surprise at this hotel came from the staff recognizing and helping us celebrate our anniversary. After we came back from dinner the staff (Maria & Stevie) made us a card, attached it to a some balloons and brought us dessert to our room. It was such a nice surprise! We have traveled to many hotels and never had this type of treatment. The hotel didn't have a spectacular view, or any extravagant amenity but the staff made us feel special like what we shared earlier in passing meant something to them. That is my idea of service and it will bring me back to this location time and time again.

Room Tip: A/C has motion sensor and they are earth friendly and do not use tags on doors instead it is an actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear tandboys,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad you chose us for your anniversary plans. We hope you had a good stay in Williamsburg. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. They always enjoy hearing good things about the service they provided. Thank you for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

My family and I truly enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean and well kept. Had one issue with the sink...but it was minor. Loved the breakfast every morning and looked forward to Latisha's smiling face greeting us. She is a fantastic server who went above and beyond to make our breakfast awesome. Maria, at the front desk was super helpful...giving us great tips to make our journey worthwhile through Williamsburg. Never usually comment on hotel employees..but these ladies were awesome and made the stay even better!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear MSGolden,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff members Latisha and Maria. We will be sure to pass those comments on to our staff. They will appreciate hearing good things about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is a very nice HI very close to CW. Clean and well lit. The bathrooms are very well lit, which is a good thing on one hand, maybe not on the other. It helps you see if any dirt or hairs were missed in cleaning and helps with grooming. However, I would have loved it if the lights in the bathroom had separate switchs so that when I go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, I'm not blinded by all those bright lights. Also, another item that can be a good or bad thing, the toilets in the hotel are the high speed flushing toilets you find a lot in public. This is a good thing because nobody likes a toilet that doesn't flush well. This can also be a bad thing because they are loud. Everytime anyone in a room above us, below us or beside us (or across the hall from us!) flushed, we heard it.
We did not visit the restaurant. The pool is nice. The wifi is pretty good for a hotel. We did have a minor issue with the TV(satellite). Once every few minutes, the signal would blink out for a few seconds. This was a little frustrating when you were trying to watch something. My son said the sofa bed was uncomfortable, but I've never met one that WAS comfortable. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get top floor. This will cut down on the flushing noise you hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Tygrus,

Thank you for telling us about visit. We value all of your feedback about the hotel. Thank you for your suggestions. We really appreciate this. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed one night in this hotel, thanks to Priceline. The hotel was very nice, my room was quite spacious and really clean, and I slept really well. The front desk staff member who checked me in was wonderful: friendly, welcoming, and helpful. A different front desk person the next day, however, was not very friendly or helpful. Perhaps she was having a bad day. Regardless, I enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear JLSDH,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback about the hotel staff. We are very sorry that your were not satisfied with their service. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our staff. We are very sorry for this. We ill use this feedback on to our staff. We use feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugar land
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting Busch Gardens. There was a family reunion going on during a stay, but I wouldn't have known it if I hadn't roamed around to the meeting rooms area. Rooms are spacious enough for our family of 5 with 3 kids, but only if they are under 15. I would imagine it would be tight with teenagers.
This is a very clean hotel and convenient to a variety of places.
Staff was friendly.
We did eat breakfast in the Bistro one morning and service was lacking a bit, but there was only one staff person, so I'll cut her some slack. They do not offer breakfast service that most hotels do, but on the positive side, you don't see a bunch of people in their PJs congregating downstairs.
Only other negative is that the pool looked a little cloudy, so I didn't let the kids go.
Otherwise a nice stay.
Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Sugarlandmommy,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We are so glad you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the pool area. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our cleaning staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very clean rooms and they were able to meet my request of connecting rooms the day we arrived. The rooms included free breakfast for adults and kids. The waitress each morning was super friendly and very courteous. The beds were comfortable and linens crisp and clean. The first night we were there the rooms above us were very noisy. Those guests above us must have checked out for the second night we stayed b/c it was much quieter on night two. The walls are thin b/c you can hear a lot of showers starting, people walking around, talking, etc. If you are a light sleeper, I would request the top floor to reduce noise. Overall a good value for the price and I would return but request the top floor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Marie,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the noise level. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will be sure to pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.