We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night on a last minute reservation. No issues at all. Nice large indoor pool and hot tub. Rooms are updated and were clean on arrival.

Convenient location to Williamsburg and close to Busch gardens as well.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Bobboc,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad we could accommodate your hotel needs. We are glad you enjoyed the indoor pool. Thank you for visiting with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    264
    74
    17
    10
See reviews for
535
245
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, Delaware
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just stayed here this past weekend. First time staying at this hotel. I chose it because of booking so late to go, the others we recently stayed at were full. Check in was easy. I booked online and all I did was give my name, etc and were handed the keys.

The staff was always nice, room was very clean. A plus for a germ-a-phobe like me. I can't complain really about anything. I guess if I had to pick something, the toilet didn't flush right. Leaked a little when you pushed the handle down, but nothing major. Water pressure was great, loved that the towels didn't look or feel gross. Husband thinks its weird when I say that. lol I don't like to go to a hotel where I feel the towels are dirty. A variety of pillows were on both beds. Firm and soft.
There were a lot of people staying there so my gripe here isn't really with the hotel itself but the people. 1. if you are walking down the hall, no matter the time of day-remember you are not the only ones there and we DO NOT need to hear your conversations because you think you need to talk loud. 2. I have a 7 year old, he has been taught from an early age not to jump, run, stomp, etc. while in the room especially when we are on a higher floor. Keep your kids from running, if they don't stop when asked-beat them!! That was the one issue I had, there was a soccer tournament or something near and there were a lot of smaller kids and all through the night and morning, that's all you heard was running and jumping. That's all on that.

Location was good, golden coral, cracker barrel, hooters right there. Not far down the road are other places, a mini golf place, Kmart, etc. Only took us like 15 mins to get to water country and the same for going to Jamestown, etc. I would stay there again and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Maybe if you are going without kids, ask for the highest floor you can get. Think this hotel was 5 f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The first issue was the temperature in the room. Understand that you can't expect to have the room immediately at 70 degrees, but coming in from 94 outside it would be nice to have a somewhat cooler room.
Coffee maker in room was miserable. I had an aunt who had an expression for the strength - "I could have peed a stronger cup of coffee than that". The coffee at the breakfast area was no better. Also, is it too much to ask for coffee mugs, soap dishes and real glasses in the bathroom?
All of our towels, hand towels and washcloths were taken on day 1. Even towels we had not used. A call to housekeeping remedied the situation, but why was it necessary?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was our first time in Williamsburg. We found this hotel to be a perfect location and a lovely place to stay. The value was excellent and we found our stay very enjoyable. We stayed in a King junior suite and found the room to be quite large. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Breakfast was the standard fair. The front desk staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is our third consecutive summer staying at this location and once again we enjoyed staying here. We're no strangers to Williamsburg and have stayed at 3 other hotels. We had a large party and stayed in the executive suite which provided plenty of room for all nine of us. The kids enjoy the pool and the buffet breakfast in the morning before we hit the attractions. Great location. While the dining options for dinner are great for kids, I believe the menu could use more casual fare items for adults.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,



Thank you for telling us about your stay in the executive suite. We are glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We will pass all of your great feedback on to our staff. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a medium sized hotel yet the perfect size to host our family reunion. We chose this hotel based on the reviews posted by Trip Advisor contributors and we were not disappointed.

Prices are reasonable. Suites are similar to Embassy suites with regard to set up with 2 TVs, refrigerator and microwave. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

I will give the chef 4 out of 5 stars for the food that was cooked for our events.

The staff was overly friendly and willing to assist however needed.

I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Select a room in the higher end numbers. Lower end numbers such as 203 are near the elevator and ice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are so glad your chose our hotel for your family reunion venue. We hope that you all enjoyed yourselves. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We haven’t stayed in a Holiday Inn in 20 years and only booked this room because of the great Trip Advisor review (thanks to you all). We had 2 rooms, one for the kids and one for us. This property absolutely lived up to the reviews, especially the incredible service. You can’t beat this place was at $100 per night. The free internet (the good people at the Westin Virginia Beach should take note) and free breakfast made the value even better.

The front desk staff was great but the nice lady serving breakfast was amazing. Never I have I seen someone work so hard to make the free breakfast service so good.

The property appears to be fairly new and is clean and fresh smelling. The rooms are standard size and my only complaint was the lack of ventilation in the bathrooms (because the a/c is a window unit). The beds were not the best, but certainly better than average. Our rooms were quiet and comfortable.

The proximity to College of William and Mary (the reason for our visit) and Colonial Williamsburg makes it easy to get to either place in minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Liz,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We really value your feedback. Thank you for your comments about the breakfast service. Thank you also for telling us our concerns about your room. We will be sure to look into those matters. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#10 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
1.3 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.