We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have to give a shoutout to this hotel, especially to the chef Shaun Miller” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Yonkers, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I have to give a shoutout to this hotel, especially to the chef Shaun Miller”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came here for a family vacation. At first I was very anxious about living in a hotel, but let me tell you that you are getting a good buy at this hotel. Everyone is friendly! Employees are so friendly, and help you out a lot. The hotel resteraunt is very good. Excellent food (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) and quality rooms, service, and a great swimming pool and an adequate fitness center for those who need to work out. I especially want to thank Shaun Miller, executive chef, who was so friendly to us and gave us the best of care. Meeting him was a real pleasure and more hotels should have workers like Shaun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Thomas M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really are happy that you and your family stayed with us during your vacation. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing good comments about their service. We hope that you and your family will consider us again during future visits to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    208
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
425
192
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We travel a lot and typically stay at another chain hotel. We had not stayed at a Holiday Inn in quite some time, so we were very pleasantly surprised at how modern and updated this hotel was. We were greeted at the front desk by Jan, who was by far one of the best hotel staff members I have ever come across! Every hotel should have a Jan! We stayed in Queen double room that was super clean with very nice beds. The restaurant staff in the hotel did a wonderful job in seating us on a busy Sunday morning. The Chef came out and made sure our breakfast food was favorable to our liking. The facility and all the staff we encountered were top notch. The location was excellent. This is the place I'll come back to stay at and so should you if you want a clean, convenient, affordable place to stay in Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Stay on 3rd floor. Nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Eurobondgirl,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your comments. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. we value all guest feedback. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time We hope that you will consider us again during future visits to the area.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel a few weeks in advance and was told if I paid up front I would be guaranteed my room, so of course I paid up front. I arrive at the hotel and they upgraded my room to a king suite when I had asked for a double bed room, since I have two children. I was upset and explained that I had a 17 year old and a 7 year old. Reason I got two double beds. The front desk guy Kirk very nice about everything I had to basically take that room or have nothing. So we agree to take it. Since it was already 11:30pm when we arrived. We were offered to change rooms the next day but declined since we were going to be at Busch Gardens all day and did not want to have to deal with that whole mess again. So after all that I am on the road headed home to find that the hotel charged me an additional $41.07 for our stay, for a room that we did not want nor did we ask for. I was offered a deal from Holiday Inn when I booked room and I am happy I turned them down. I will never do business with Holiday Inn again, and I will defiantly tell everyone I know not to trust the company.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear JMVass,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Our team would like to apologize for making your stay anything short of excellent. We anticipated the King Suite would be something you enjoyed but unfortunately struck out. We did make a billing error, and I apologize for that. We have refunded your card so please contact me if your bank statement is not reflecting so. I do feel better that we have spoken on the phone and resolved all of your concerns! Thank you for taking the time to speak with me and providing much needed feedback to help us improve our operations. We will see you again in October, thank you for giving us a second chance!

Yours in hospitality,

Geoff Scheibel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Thought we had reserved a room through the Holiday Inn website. But, discovered that they had booked us at the Bloomburg, Pa hotel! The staff of the Williamsburg Holiday Inn went above and beyond with their service and accommodation. They got us into a lovely, clean room for a very reasonable rate. Did not get the women's name, but we checked in at approximately 4:45 pm on August 11th. If we visit Williamsburg again, this will definitely stay here, again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice hotel which has recently been redecorated. Excellent small suites with a door separating the bedroom from the sitting room/office. Good computer service. Clean and large bathroom. Nice refrigerator/microwave area. Excellent beds and great pillows (choice or hard or soft). Good location near to Williamsburg, Yorktown, and not far from Jamestown. Good restaurant, although no free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a small suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh, Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the property at the end of July. My son is in the Air Force and we had to make an unexpected trip to Virginia. I called the day we needed the reservation and spike to Jan. Her customer service skills were some of the best I have ever encountered! She is truly then biggest asset to this property.
The hotel was nice enough. Biggest disappointment is that they do not have a complimentary breakfast. Most hotels these days have some breakfast be it bagels and fruit to a large cook to order breakfast. We did not use the pool or fitness facilities.
We are returning to Virginia next week and staying at this hotel again. The only reason I booked here was because of the great service from Jan. We have a larger family and not having the breakfast really adds up for our family. Would prefer a hotel with breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear smyersj,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you short notice trip. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn staff were friendly and welcoming even with our late arrival. The hotel public spaces were clean and modern. My family (wife and two teenagers) stayed in a two bedroom suite. The room was comfortable and clean. The queen beds had good mattresses and pillows.The room was easy to keep dark for sleeping even though it had an east facing window. The bathroom was a good size for this level of hotel and the towels were plush. Some of the furnishings were a little beat up but not badly and could have just happened the day before we arrived. The only truly negative thing is that the in room coffee was awful but they have free coffee in the lobby that is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Bamabert,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate it. We Thank you for your thoughts about the coffee. We are sorry if your were inconvenienced at all. Thank you for your time. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in the area. Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you and you family again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.