We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this holiday inn. The rooms were so clean. The front desk manager was awesome. The pool areas was clean. The hotel is right around the corner to colonial williamsburg. And so many restaurant choices right nearby. No need to look anyfurther just book it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear traci78,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for mentioning the front desk manager. We will make sure that we pass this feedback on to her. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    218
    55
    13
    9
See reviews for
445
195
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from June 9th -12th. The staff are very friendly and it is a clean nice hotel with a great location. The historic triangle is a short drive. There is a 7 eleven across the street, a Kmart just down the street along with a mini golf course. There are also shops and places to eat just a short distance away. There is a place to eat inside the hotel. Kids eat free with the purchase of an adult meal. They have reasonable prices. We ate there once in the evening, ordering burgers and fries and once for breakfast. I'm not sure I would do breakfast here again. The price was kinda high for what was offered. They had the basics - bacon, french toast sticks, scrambled eggs that were a bit scary looking and pancakes. You could get an omelet or a waffle by placing an order. They also had coffee and OJ.

We stayed in a suite with 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. I'll be honest I did think the suite was going to be a bit larger. It's not a very wide room but it's still a suite so we did have more room than a standard room would have. When you first walk in there is the sofa sleeper couch, a desk with an office chair and one more chair along with the tv that sits on top of a small 2 drawer cabinet. Next to the desk is a small counter with a coffee maker, microwave and a college dorm size fridge as well as a closet. The bathroom is across from this and is a reasonable size. The bedroom is in the back of the room. It is separated by a door and has 2 queen beds, a small 3 drawer shelf and a tv. There is not a balcony. The room is basically one long narrow rectangle. The hotel was very clean and I saw no evidence of bed bugs when I checked the room.

The indoor pool was nice and we pretty much had it to ourselves each time we were in. It is 3 foot at the shallow end and goes up to 5 foot. We stayed on the 4th floor which is where the laundry facilities are located. The washer and dryer are both $1.50 per load - all quarters. We took advantage of this and used it during our stay. You can buy tide in the laundry area from a dispenser which also takes quarters. Overall we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I usually don't stay at Holiday Inns because the one near my house are shady. However, this hotel was definitely on between a 3.5-4 star rating. It was very clean, very updated and the room was equipped with modern appliances, mini fridge, microwave, etc.

The location is great for those that are doing the historic triangle. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Christina M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a nice clean hotel. Fair price and nice location. We stayed for 2 nights 6/10/13 - 6/11/13 and could not have asked for anything better. We were upgraded for free on arrivle and provided great friendly service.

The only thing I suggest is stay away from the Bistro they have on sight for food. Food is awful, over priced, and VERY slow. We had a terrible experience but in my eyes that has nothing to do with the hotel its self.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Bobby M,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We will pass all of your feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing comments about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Colonial Williamsburg, Yorktown, and Jamestown. It was conveniently located to all of the sights we wanted to see, as well as to Trader Joe's, restaurants, etc. The hotel itself was immaculately clean, lovely, and family-friendly. not a We felt at home here as a family. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and kind. They made us feel welcome and at-home. Our room was clean, and so was the pool area, fitness room, and restaurant. Our beds were comfortable. The hot breakfast buffet was great and our kids under 12 ate for free, which was a nice feature. Another important benefit of this hotel is how they managed having business conferences, families and individuals, and school groups all at the same time--we chose this hotel over the family-friendly option within Colonial Williamsburg because some reviewers said that hotel was loud because school groups often go there. We were worried when we saw a bus of school-kids coming into our hotel. The staff treated the kids with respect and kindness, and they responded in kind. They also kept the school groups together and we were not bothered by any noise. We would not have even known these kids were there had we not seen them come into the hotel. The staff set them up for breakfast in a conference room, rather than have them in the restaurant area. We really appreciated how well-run this hotel was and how thoughtful the staff were. Jan at the front desk was fabulous. The others were friendly, we just didn't interact with them as much. We would definitely stay here again, and will consider Holiday Inn again for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Laura C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a great time we had here. The suite we were upgraded to was very roomy and nice! Check in was quick and easy and express check out was very convenient. The service at the front desk was excellent and the servers in the breakfast buffet were very nice. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Josh gave excellent service during my dinner experience during my stay at the Williamsburg Historic Gateway. My food was delivered exactly as I requested and in a timely manner. The angus burger was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Jennifer,

Thank you for telling us about your experience with Josh. We are so glad that you had a great experience. We will pass this feedback on to him. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.