We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a good find this was! I stayed here with 2 lady friends in April. We chose it because it had suites. Actually, there are 2 Holiday Inn hotels in Williamsburg and this was the better one. It is newer and closer to the town center of Colonial Williamsburg. It is also a short distance from the university and the outlet mall. Our room was large with a living room area that had a good sized, newer sofa bed. A flat screen TV to watch the college basketball playoffs was also nice. Another TV was in the BR. A refrigerator helped us keep drinks cold and a microwave was there although we did not use it. Our suite overlooked a pretty patio attached to the bar where people were quietly sitting enjoying the warm weather.. A word of caution: the restaurant breakfast buffet is not included. It is a typical display of scrambled eggs etc. have been left too long in heating elements. At $11.00, you can do better elsewhere. A shout-out for the staff at this hotel: They quicky helped us with extra hangers, driving directions, and restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Lori006,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We really appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We hope that you will stay with us again .

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    210
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
430
192
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting William and Mary with my daughter
It was quiet, and for $130 night before taxes from what I see about Williamsburg, that is a great price.
What I liked
1. It was very quick to Colonial Williamsburg and William and Mary by car--maybe 8-10 min.
2. Very quiet--because it's away from the colonial area it is very quiet
3. desk clerk was very pleasant at check in
4. bed was fine, tv worked, etc
5. breakfast was not included in price, but we ate there. They really have a crazy problem. The portions are beyond belief. Just order one breakfast and share it. Everyone had to take take out boxes as was way too much. It's like the chef went nuts because I mean really, really huge portions. Also the breakfast is only open certain hours so many people were turned away who came after us. Check this out so you won't be disappointed if you are looking for breakfast. I'm not sure what the restaurant hours are, but do check if you need a restaurant onsite.
We were FINE because we got our breakfast and went on our way to the college.
What I didn't like:
1. Housekeeping was fine in terms of the bathroom and bed linens, but there was a bit of dust. The lamp by the bed had quite a bit of dust on it. I was tempted to dust it myself, but we got in late and I just wanted to sleep. There was dust on the dresser and tv too.
I'd hate to see one housekeeper who needs guidance ruin this review, because I truly would stay there again because it is quiet and cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed facing the front of the hotel, the street, and I didn't hear any noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear ElizabethStreetMoM,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate your detailed review. We strive as a hotel to make everyone's experience good. Thank you for your mention of the housekeeping staff. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing feedback about their service. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I traveled here with my university sports team for a weekend for tournament. The rooms we got (2 queen) actually came with a breakfast deal (2 people per room) and had a door between the 2 rooms. Once we opened that, it was incredible fun. :) There is also a pool and jacuzzi so even more awesome bonding time. the rooms also had microwaves and fridges.

Due to the nature and bureaucracy of the student government at my school, a whole ton of paperwork was needed to pay for the trip. Certain circumstances came up last minute and I ended up needed extra paperwork for reimbursements. I probably spoke with at least 4 different people during this whole confusing process and the whole crew was always nothing less than gracious and courteous. Shout out to Deidra, Kirk, Tim, and Tena. You guys are great!

Room Tip: From some mechanism I cannot understand, booking our rooms with the breakfast deal was actually chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a brief trip to Williamsburg from April 17-19th, 2013. The room was plenty large, very clean, and the bed quite comfortable. Location is good: a very short drive (or even a moderate walk) to anywhere that one would need to go. Breakfast was good both days (one was the buffet). I felt it was an excellent value and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear RobKennedy70,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you, and your wife. We hope you both enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. Thank you so much for your time. We strive as a hotel to make everyone's experience a good one. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Clean, good food, friendly people, roomy, just a great place to stay. We have stayed here for the last four years and would not even think about booking a room anywhere else. Beds are very comfortable, big TVs, free wifi, plenty of parking. Perfect location for all of your Williamsburg activities. Close to many stores, restaurants, and other shops...and the outlets.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We really appreciate all of our return travelers. It means a lot to have someone keep returning. We value all feedback because it allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you and future guests. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had guests from 6 states visiting for the weekend for a wedding. Everyone from General Manager to Head Chef to desk clerks and bartenders treated us like we were their favorite relatives. They created a first of its kind reception on the patio between the Bistro and pool. The cleanliness of this hotel is top notch and convenient access to highway as well as shopping make it a first pick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Bill,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We are so glad that we could be apart of this special time. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just had an excellent stay at this Holiday Inn property. Very clean, good room, nice pool. Overall excellent service, except Breakfast a bit messy, everybody a bit stressed out without a clear reason. Williamsburg excellent for the kids as expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear LucianoSi,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We hope you and your family enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We will pass all of your great comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.