We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Worries Here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Hunt Valley, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Worries Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Worry free hotel from the time I booked the reservation until we left. I would personally like to thank Jan (one of the hotel managers) for all her help with the booking of the room to her advise on the cities attractions. Jan always seem to be there when we needed her, which was not much except to ask questions.

Then there was Josh the bartender, one of the nicest guys you could meet. He was very polite and made our late night visit to his bar a joy after a long day of site seeing.

Overall this is one of the best Holiday Inn's I have ever visited. Highly recommended.

Jeff (GM) thank you and your wonderful team for a Great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Ron B,

Thank you for telling about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel and our staff. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    198
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
402
184
26
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is very clean. The bed was supremely comfortable and my husband loved the flat-screen TV. One of the ways we rate hotels is by the shower. The shower was full-force and plenty of hot water. I didn't want to get out! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mary L,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your husband. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family & I have stayed here at least 8 times since this hotel has opened.

The rooms are spacious, very well kept, and the staff and services are EXCELLENT!

-Jan runs the front desk, and she is a lovely person with a GREAT sense of humor. It is evident that she is eager to make you feel at home as soon as you arrive.

-Kirk runs a very tight ship with the housekeeping staff, he is congenial, and extrememly accomodating with any special requests you may have.

-Josh is primarily a bartender, and doubles as a server in the restaurant. He serves great mixed dinks, and lively conversation; he truly helped make our stay a pleasant one.

-Last but not least, it is very unusual for a hotel staff, with such a huge volume of turnover to remember its past guests. I was very pleasantly suprised that Chef Shaun recognized me right away, and took very good care of all of us. We certainly enjoyed our meals at Bistro 515, if you're staying here, and you want a relaxing night with a great bar and good food you should have dinner there!

We have already booked a room for the week after Christmas, and can't wait to see this hard working team again. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

V/r
John & Nicole Kaelin (and family)

Room Tip: Although all of the rooms are great, if you have a choice between room locations/floors when you arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear John K,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. Thank you for your thoughts about our staff. We will make sure we pass those comments are passed on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We appreciate all of our return guests. We appreciate your loyalty. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff is extremely curteous and friendly. The hotel has a restaurant on site, and appetizer portions are generous. I found the rooms to be spacious and very clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. This is a nice hotel in a quiet location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We began staying here when our daughter started at W&M in 2009 and have not stopped coming back. Many of the staff at the desk are the same from 2009 and we feel like we are home each time we visit. We are always greeted with a smile, welcome and let us know if you need anything. The hotel is a convenient drive to the Historic area, outlets and Busch Gardens. The suite consists of a bedroom with a large flat screen TV and a separate living room with another large flat screen TV. This arrangement is nice in the morning or at night if people have different sleep schedules as you can go into the living room, close the door in between and have the TV on without bothering someone sleeping. The suite is not as large as you might get at a resort however comparing it to other Williamsburg properties we have stayed at in earlier years, it is a great value. In a nutshell you can pay a lot more for a lot less room. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Downstairs is a restaurant and conveniently located nextdoor is the Gazebo, a Williamsburg fixture serving breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I travel the state of Virginia frequently for pleasure. We enjoy the mountains including the
Skyline drive and the Blue Ridge parkway. In particular we love Colonial Williamsburg. We stay exclusively at Holiday Inn properties and when in when in Williamsburg at the Holiday Inn and
Suites Gateway. Geoffrey Scheibel and his staff do an outstanding job at makinf us feel welcome at home. The facility is always neat and clean, as we have come to expect of Holiday Inns. Geoff has been at this particular hotel for some time now and has shown his dedication and professionalism many times. I would like to commend on his continued exemplary service.

Sincerly, Mr. and Mrs. B W Leach

Room Tip: We like the 2 room suite. At the Gateway in Williamsburg we like room 525 but any of the suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glurch2891
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I usually avoid the Holiday Inn franchise entirely, but we needed a suite for our trip to Williamsburg and ended up booking this hotel. As previous reviews have stated the suite side is slightly claustrophobic and on the small side. When the curtains open and the interior doors open the room was much more pleasant. The front end staff was genuinely appreciative of my business and a pleasure to deal with. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. I had a very minor complaint that the cleaning staff (who begin their shift very early) are very noisy in the hallways, either talking loudly back and forth or banging the carts into the walls, but that's kind of trivial.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.