We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the comforts of home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“All the comforts of home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We began staying here when our daughter started at W&M in 2009 and have not stopped coming back. Many of the staff at the desk are the same from 2009 and we feel like we are home each time we visit. We are always greeted with a smile, welcome and let us know if you need anything. The hotel is a convenient drive to the Historic area, outlets and Busch Gardens. The suite consists of a bedroom with a large flat screen TV and a separate living room with another large flat screen TV. This arrangement is nice in the morning or at night if people have different sleep schedules as you can go into the living room, close the door in between and have the TV on without bothering someone sleeping. The suite is not as large as you might get at a resort however comparing it to other Williamsburg properties we have stayed at in earlier years, it is a great value. In a nutshell you can pay a lot more for a lot less room. There is also a microwave, coffee maker and a small refrigerator. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are clean. Downstairs is a restaurant and conveniently located nextdoor is the Gazebo, a Williamsburg fixture serving breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    232
    60
    14
    10
See reviews for
465
215
28
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I travel the state of Virginia frequently for pleasure. We enjoy the mountains including the
Skyline drive and the Blue Ridge parkway. In particular we love Colonial Williamsburg. We stay exclusively at Holiday Inn properties and when in when in Williamsburg at the Holiday Inn and
Suites Gateway. Geoffrey Scheibel and his staff do an outstanding job at makinf us feel welcome at home. The facility is always neat and clean, as we have come to expect of Holiday Inns. Geoff has been at this particular hotel for some time now and has shown his dedication and professionalism many times. I would like to commend on his continued exemplary service.

Sincerly, Mr. and Mrs. B W Leach

Room Tip: We like the 2 room suite. At the Gateway in Williamsburg we like room 525 but any of the suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glurch2891
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I usually avoid the Holiday Inn franchise entirely, but we needed a suite for our trip to Williamsburg and ended up booking this hotel. As previous reviews have stated the suite side is slightly claustrophobic and on the small side. When the curtains open and the interior doors open the room was much more pleasant. The front end staff was genuinely appreciative of my business and a pleasure to deal with. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. I had a very minor complaint that the cleaning staff (who begin their shift very early) are very noisy in the hallways, either talking loudly back and forth or banging the carts into the walls, but that's kind of trivial.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at one of the suites. The staff was friendly. The place was clean and comfortable. The location was convenient to all attractions in Williamsburg.
The suite was a bit claustrophobic for me because the living room side had no windows and was a bit small. Even though the door between the two spaces allowed some privacy, the space was a bit too small to cram in a suite.
The bed was comfortable but the pillows were not. They were labeled as soft and firm but the half-size pillows were all pretty firm and high. Even our 11 year old who never complains about pillows said that they were uncomfortable.
Overall, a good value for a modern hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a great modern-contemporary hotel. The staff and management are first-class! If you are looking for a hotel to hold a large-scale event, then look no further. I had a large birthday event at this hotel a day ago and everything from the food, food services staff, the Food and Beverages manager and general management fulfilled my every need. I can only offer them endless praise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear 3DAdvisor,

Thank you for telling us about the banquet that you held at our hotel. We appreciate all of your thoughts. We are so glad that we could accommodate your event. Thank you for sharing with us. We hope your event went well. We would aslo to pass on to you that we are hear for all of your hotel and banquet needs. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and, when we arrived, we were greeted by the Front End Manager (Jan), who was genuinely happy to see us and made check-in a quick and fun experience. The entire lobby staff was welcoming - we were offered fresh cookies, coffee and insured that whatever it took to make our stay memorable was their goal. That evening at dinner, we were personally greeted by the Executive Chef (Shaun) who offered us samples (full bowl!) of his new recipe soup (potato-leek) that was outstanding! The next night, another bowl of a new recipe soup (pumpkin bisque) - equally excellent. Restaurant staff excellent. Room spotless and service was outstanding. This was a mid-week visit and the hotel was not fully booked, but we had the definite feeling that we would have been treated just as well as if it were. Close to the visitor attractions in the area yet quiet and restful. Our compliments to the staff and our sincere thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Sally B,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We wil pass your comments about the staff on to them. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We would like to invite you back in the future. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family of five stayed here for two nights in a suite with 2 queen beds and a pullout sofa. The beds were very comfortable. The pullout sofa was another matter. The middle of the mattress was sunk in and you could feel springs everywhere. I mentioned it to the front desk clerk upon checking out, and he wished we had told them so they could have corrected the situation. He did knock a little off our bill.

One of our room keys never worked quite right, even after re-keying, and the second day, an employee happened to be walking by as we were trying it again. He said to try pulling UP on the door handle instead of pushing down, and lo and behold, it worked!

My husband and kids used the pool and hot tub. The pool was average size for a hotel but the hot tub was quite small. Still, they enjoyed it.

We did not eat in their restaurant because we wanted to try some of the local places. There are a lot!

The woman working at the front desk the evening we arrived was extremely helpful in planning our trip to Colonial Williamsburg, showing us the pamphlet with the current week's events, showing us on a map where the locals park, and other tips only a local would know.

One last thing that was a little strange... there were no towel bars in our room. There were two small double hooks. There is even a huge empty space on the wall over the toilet where you would expect to find towel bars, but nope, it was empty. So we had nowhere to hang anything up to dry once showers were taken and the bathing suits were draped over the shower curtain rod.

We stayed in room 407, and overall we were pleased with our stay. I probably would have rated it five stars except that a comfortable bed is my number one priority at a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Marry Poppins922,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your very detailed review of the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the sofa bed. We have passed this on to our staff. Guest feedback is very valuable to us because it helps us make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We are so glad that you stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We hope that you and your family will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.