We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel and staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hotel and staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were there for a weekend wedding and had a Friday and Saturday stay. Unfortunately as I unloaded the van Friday night at 7:00 and went to park it, it would not start. The night manager, Jan, assisted us by locating a repair shop that agreed to look at it first thing Saturday morning. Bottom line we were able to enjoy our weekend there because of Jan and the rest of the staff. Rooms were great, Bar/lounge was comfortable and enjoyable and the restaurant was very good.

Thanks to everyone and a special thanks to Jan who was our angel that night!!!

Room Tip: The suites are great with a separate living room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Pamella C,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We are so glad we could help you out when you needed it the most. We know things can go wrong. We do our best to help out when we can. We will pass your comments on to Jan. She is a great asset to our hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    198
    51
    12
    9
See reviews for
402
184
26
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The hotel is very clean and all of the staff were very friendly. The location is excellent. Very close to the visitor center, lots of restaurants and shopping. We will stay here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear sonogrl,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you stayed with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your husband. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Williamsburg. We wil pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing comments about their service. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights in a wonderful suite. Jan, the Supervisor who greeted us, was an extremely friendly and kind woman, who was a delight. She was there every time we came in and left, and by the end of our stay, I had to have someone find her so that we could say goodbye. ALL of the staff were very friendly and helpful, but she is extraordinary. The room was fabulous, clean, and inviting. The bed was so comfortable, both my sister and I commented on how well we slept. When we go back, we know where we will stay. It was perfect! Don't go anywhere else, or you will be missing out.

Room Tip: The suite was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Iana40,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay with family in Williamsburg. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all feedback, and will pass it on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 2 nights there 11/4/12-11/6/12 and enjoyed every moment. We were upgraded to a suite and I cannot recommend it enough for family travel. The living room is large and is separated from the bedroom by a door. Kids can watch TV there, play, etc and parents can relax in the bedroom area. The hotel appears new and the rooms are very modern and beautifully appointed with flatscreen HD TV's, attractive furniture and fridge/microwave. Upscale amenities in bath, such as marble counters, great toiletries and large towels. Silky bed linens and choice of soft or firm pillows. Great pool. Room was scrupulously clean and fresh. Staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful with many tips for the Williamsburg experience. Priceline, Expedia etc have great rates for this place. Plus kids eat free in the dining room, which saved us quite a bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear cacmsu,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We apprecaite all guest feedback. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family with an upgrade to a suite. We hope you enjoyed your time in Williamsburg. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut Shoreline
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days following a short stay in VA Beach. This hotel was perfect for our needs. Nicer than "run of the mill holiday inn" like another reviewer stated. We stay at lots of Holiday Inns and find that the Inn & Suiets are much nicer and more updated than most of the standard Holiday Inns and this one was just about the best we've seen. Close to everything, many restaurants and (not walking distance but very short drives)...to colonial Williamsburg, Busch gardens, water country USA -( we did a day in each the multi ticket is the way to go from water country's website). Hotel is updated, clean, and has breakfast. Rooms were standard for 3.5 star hotel, beds were fine, pool was small like most of these types of hotels, but we didn't have time to use it much anyways. Hot tub was nice i enjoyed that a couple nights. Great movie theatre nearby for a rainy night, shopping and outlets close by. Front desk staff were great. No complaints, will come back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Bikinibabi,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you for mentioning our amenities and location. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel for a short family vacation in Williamsburg. We book 2 adjacent double bed rooms. Very clean, spacious and modern bedrooms. Nice pool. It is ~ 2 minutes driving from the Visitor Center where you can catch free buses to the historic town. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMPHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear inorthpark,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate all guest feedback.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Williamsburg Historic Gateway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Run of the mill Holiday Inn. Certainly adequate but nothing special. I was here for a three-day conference. Most surprising was the number of times staff started into our conference room during the meeting. Further there was bleed through noise from other spaces and the hallway. This required us to close the doors which we discovered were locked which necessitated people knocking if they left for the bathroom, etc. The room was clean. But bands marking pillows as firm or soft were on the opposite pillows. The bathroom sink did not drain properly and the refrigerator vibrated (I meant to inform the desk but forgot since I was pre-checked out). Further, I could hear bathroom noises from units next door and above. The banquet food was generally good but a bit dried out. WiFi is excellent but TV could use some movie options. However, I spent my evenings in the historical area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM515, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Godguy,

Thank you for hosting your business function at the Holiday Inn Gateway. Also, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that we did not stand out amongst other hotels you have visited. That is truly our goal and I am very saddened that we let you down. i would like to personally discuss these matters with you. Could you please contact me at your earliest convenience? I hope to bring your concerns to resolution and regain your confidence in our property. Thank you for your patronage.

Regards,
Geoffrey Scheibel
General Manager
gscheibel@hmphotels.com
(757) 229-9990
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Holiday Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn
Address: 515 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Williamsburg Vacation Begins Here! Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn & Suites Gateway a new full service hotel. You ll find comfort and modern luxury at the most convenient location in Williamsburg. Contemporary hospitality and Williamsburg excitement are waiting for you. Your Personal SpaceRelax in your elegant room featuring stylish décor and amenities, including a microwave, refrigerator, wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, dry bar, executive desk, HDTV, and the best night s sleep you ve had in weeks. Our new hotel offers a great combination of rooms and suites featuring our unique one and two bedroom suites. We have a heated indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center all for your enjoyment. Bistro 515, our on-site restaurant, offers the best in casual dining. Ideal Williamsburg Location Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Gateway is located off Interstate-64 exit 238 only minutes from Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Prime Outlets, Jamestown and Yorktown. We are also conveniently located for the following: the College of William & Mary, Sentara Williamsburg Regional Medical Center, and Delta-T. This is a 100% smoke free hotel - all guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.