We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train...stench...but good location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anvil Campground
Save
You added Anvil Campground to your Saves list
5243 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Train...stench...but good location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

It's a trade off kids. If you ALL about location and don't care about having a restful stay...then by golly, stay here... if you are tent camping, your tent will be located about 20-30ft from the VERY ACTIVE train tracks. Be prepared for them to come through at least 3 times in the wee hours and shake the crap out of your tent! Great location though...wouldn't stay there again.

Ps- the bathrooms probably haven't been updated since the 70's, and they are small...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
I am so sorry you feel that way. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 57 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. For 99% of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is an issue, we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There are no set times for when the train will pass, it could be zero or it could be five, but every time it does, our guest are able to witness history to how our great nation became what it is today. Trains were the backbone to the birth of our great nation and still power us to be what we are today. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly. Take care.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    45
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
83
34
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldan, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We recently stayed at Anvil for a week on a family vacation. The campground is very nice. The sites are small and more suited to large travel trailers or big rigs that don't need much space beyond the camper. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Nice, well stocked store and clean bathrooms with nice showers. Location is great! We were just a few miles from Colonial Williamsburg. Campground offers a nice shuttle service to the Visitor Center although we didn't use it because we had a pet with us. The train could be an issue if loud noises bother you. The train ran right behind our site and was quite loud with a lot of vibration. It only bothered us the first night but then we got used to it and since we love trains it was kind of neat. Would recommend taking a more premium site if you don't want to be right up against the train tracks. Lots of things to do in the area and multiple good restaurants. Super Walmart & Lowes & Home Depot close by. Thanks for a great week, Anvil. We'll be back next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment! We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We arrived very late so didn!t get a chance to look around since it was already dark out. Staff was very nice,over the phone. We would have appriciate it if they would have told us about the trains. Our camper was about 15' from the rails . When the train passes, it shakes you so much, and the sound it makes, it was bad. From 10pm to 9am, it passed at least 4-5 times, scaring me each time from the sound and vibration. It might be a nice campground, but don't park along the tracks!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
I am so sorry you feel that way. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 57 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. For 99% of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is an issue, we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There are no set times for when the train will pass, it could be zero or it could be five, but every time it does, our guest are able to witness history to how our great nation became what it is today. Trains were the backbone to the birth of our great nation and still power us to be what we are today. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly. Take care.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I found this camp on the internet and decided to give it a try since it was very close to Busch Gardens, Water Country and Colonial Williamsburg. We rented the Journeyman Cottage and it was great! It comfortably slept 6 people and the only thing we had to provide was linens for the futon couch and the extra cots. The campground itself and its facilities are very well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of restuarants, gas stations and a super walmart in the immediate area. One thing you should be aware of is that a railroad track does run behind the campground. There is a tree line that separates the camp from the tracks so there is not a safety issue but it is a working track and trains do run at all hours. This may be a show stopper for some, especially for a light sleeper but for me it brought back memories of my childhood and the trains that ran behind our house. We will definitely be returning to Anvil Campground!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment! We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Just 10 minutes from Busch Gardens, Water County and Colonial Williamsburg! The staff is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area and attractions. They were very accomodating of our adding an extra night and our late check-in - they even called to remind us. Water, electric, cable and wi-fi were included. The trains are pretty loud but this did not bother us as we had the AC on in our pop-up. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment! We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

The campsite sits right along train tracks - so 4 to 6 times a day your body is shaken by the sounds of trains. I'm talking big long heavy noisy trains that will wake the dead from there sleep. They like to run from 4am to 7am. So forget about that nice sleep after you have been walking thru the area. The other side sits a roadway. The campsites are very small.

The first day one of two showers did not work, the next day one of two toilets did not work.

Looks nice from the website but think again before picking this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
I am so sorry you feel that way. Anvil Campground has been here since 1954. For 57 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for thousands of families. Our customer service will never be beat, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. For 99% of our guests the train is not an issue, if it ever is an issue, we do everything in our power to make a guest happy by moving them to another site farther away from the train track. There are no set times for when the train will pass, it could be zero or it could be five, but every time it does, our guest are able to witness history to how our great nation became what it is today. Trains were the backbone to the birth of our great nation and still power us to be what we are today. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns, please contact me directly. Take care.
Chris Jump
Owner
Anvil Campground
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a great campground. So close to Busch Gardens and any restaurant you would ever want. The campground, bath houses, pool and everything in between is spotless. Think they scrubbed the road before we arrived. The owners could no have been any nicer. Even when we parked on the wrong site, they simply changed their system instead of having us move our camper. Thank you! We stayed in a standard site and it fit our 34' camper just fine. Next time I will reserve a Preferred site, only because we want to return and do more things in the area and make it a longer stay.

There is a train track that runs along the rear of the campground. Thick tree line and fence is there so no safety issue. However, if you have light sleeper you may want to park a row over. The trains were just a couple during the night and wasn't an issue for us.

This was actually my 2nd stay at this campground. The last time was about 30 years ago with my parents and after arriving at Anvil we noticed our hot water tank in the camper had a leak. This was our first stop on a 10 week vacation. My dad asked the owner where he could get it fixed and the owner (same family/owner as now) took our tank and said to go enjoy the parks and he would take care of it. We return that evening to our camper and the hot water tank was fixed and installed back into the camper. Payment for services?? Asked only that we return. Sorry it took me 30 years.
Thanks again for a great stay. !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvilcampground, Owner at Anvil Campground, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment! We work so hard every day of the year to make all of our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again and if there is ever anything more we can do for you during your next stay, please let us know or contact myself personally!
Chris Jump
Owner
chris@anvilcampground.com
757-565-1941
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anvil Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Campground

Address: 5243 Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Celebrating 60 Years & Millions of Memories! One of the highest rated campgrounds in the U.S.A and Canada!2015 RATINGS: Facilities: 10.0 - Restrooms: 10.0 - Appeal: 9.0We have improved our rating for the fourth year in a row! Williamsburg’s Only Campground with shuttle services to the major local attractions, finest restaurants, and trendy shopping! Williamsburg’s Absolute Closest Campground to all of the local attractions! Offering: Local Area Expertise, Superior Customer Service, First-Class Utilities, Best WIFI, 50 Amp Electrical Service, Revamped Cable Television, Discounted Attraction Tickets, Free Public Access Computer, General Store, Swimming Pool, Three Playgrounds, Arcade, Basketball, Horseshoes, Paved Roads, and Williamsburg’s Best Rental Cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anvil Campground Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anvil Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.