We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely stay here again!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Earn 2x Points
Ranked #7 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will definitely stay here again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. It was clean, the staff was friently and helpful, and it was only 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. The price was right, too....less than $100 per night. We had a King studio suite, and it was arguably one of the best suites we've ever stayed in at a Hampton Inn. It was roomy, had a frig and a microwave, and a sleeper sofa for our 8 year old.

The breakfast staff was superb. Lots of choices, including hot and cold ones, plus fruit, donuts, coffee, & juice. There were staff members walking around constantly to see if customers needed anything. The ladies waited to pour milk, hold a door, or direct you to a seat. One of the ladies made her way around the breakfast room (which was very crowded, by the way) to say hi, and greet each guest personally. She even taught my 8 year old a Jamaican handshake, which he thought was very cool.

This is a great hotel...I HIGHLY suggest you try it!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    240
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
384
211
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami,FL
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

A good central location to explore what this area has to offer. The room was clean. The staff very friendly. The "free" morning breakfast had a good variety of items, both hot and cold. After staying four days we left for another part of VA, changed our mind after one night away and decided to book another night. They remembered our stay and gave us the same room we previously stayed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

When we made this reservation we were seeking a location close as possible to Historic Williamsburg and the name of the hotel suggested it was along with the map provided. It really isn't walking distance to anything but, on reflection, you likely will pay more for closer locations and there is ample free parking at the historic city main entrance (where you pick up tickets for the actual tour) so maybe not such a big deal. The rooms were quiet and clean, price was very good compared with others in the area, service was quite good after the front desk attendant got off several calls that came in while we were waiting. He actually upgraded our rooms due to lengthy wait, so clearly understood that we were inconvenienced.

Breakfast (included) is par for Hampton Inns elsewhere and was good. The attendant was helpful and attentive to our needs, glad to answer questions and locate things we were having trouble finding. Eating area is a bit cramped.

The area is terrific in both Colonial Williamsburg and wonderful shopping at a downtown outdoor mall. Very lovely. Wish we'd spent more time there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Just spent two days here with my teenager to tour the Historic District and the College of William and Mary. This hotel is clean, fresh, airy, and comfortable. And it's a pretty good price for the market.

The rooms have nice linens on the beds and granite countertops in the bath. Also a nice big TV and a very comfortable office area. My only complaint is that, while there's room for a loveseat, there isn't one. That leaves nowhere to sit other than the work desk or the bed. I suspect that part of the problem is that the TV is positioned so that you can see it from the beds, but not from where the loveseat would be positioned.

The room comes with a free breakfast. Nothing glamorous, and I wonder about the prefabbed fried eggs, but there were pastries, bagels, English muffins, fruits, yogurts, and cereal. There was a friendly attendant from Jamaica who entertained people while she kept the breakfast area tidy.

The location was pretty good. About 5 minutes to the Visitor's Center for the Historic Area. You really can't get any closer unless you stay on site, and those places looked nasty.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I always seek Hampton Inns out when we travel because they have never disappointed me. The price is reasonable and the accomodations are always clean, comfortable and up to my standards. The hotel is about a year old, when I walked into my room it smelled wonderfully fresh and new. the beds at all the Hamptons Inns are extremely comfortable with crisp white linens. The breakfast was standard- we stayed four nights each day there was a different hot entree, there was always plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries. The ladies that ran the kitchen were wonderful and very accomodating, teaching the kids some Jamacian handshakes and lingo and encouraging us relax and take it easy. There were warm chocolate chip cookies at the front desk at 3 pm every day as we returned from sightseeing
it was a homey, nice touch. There are a least three Hampton inns in the area of Williamsburg- the others are on more heavily traveled roads, in more commercial and busy areas. I liked the quieter road that this hotel was on it was still within 15 min of all the attractions. All in all a very pleasant stay - if I'm back that way I'd be happy to book there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainer
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Great location, very quiet hotel, even tho it was packed when we stayed. Breakfast was about average for a Hampton Inn, but nice feature was 2 strenghs of coffee - regular and robust - great coffee, also had fresh fruit, coffee and tea avail all day.
Staff was very nice, check in and out were a breeze. We had a suite w/2 queen bds and a sofabed, as well as frig and micro. Room was clean and beds very comfortable. Appreciated they had made up sofa bed with fresh sheets before our arrival. Bath had sink area outside the tub/toilet room, with large vanity with shelves below - plenty of room for razor, cosmetics etc. Also provided enough towels, facecloths, etc for all 3 of us (often not the case). Also had nice business ctr with 2 computers, and a printer, for use free of charge. We used it a couple of times, and found it handy since this is one of the only trips where we have not taken laptop.
Negative was the carpets were a bit worn and soiled, should be cleaned or replaced. AC was quiet, but vent was right next to sofabed, so it was very cold on our teen who was sleeping there. When we turned it down it was very hot for us. Not a problem if you didn't have someone sleeping on the sofabed. Also agree with other poster that some plastic or real silverware would be good to have if using micro/fridge for anything more than keeping drinks cold. They did have micro popcorn and coffee/tea in the room.
All in all we would recommend, above average for a Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Booked direct with hotel for 3 nights, which we then extended to 5 nights due to a change of plans. Hotel great and in good location - not on main road through Williamsburg, but close to all sights.
Good sized rooms with all amenities - beds are so comfortable!
We overlooked gardens to the back of hotel which was very quiet.
Breakfast very good and staff very pleasant and helpful.
A really nice hotel in good location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.