We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #5 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at this location early July when there was an insane heat wave that made temps over 100 degrees! I'm a hvac technician and have to say I felt sorry for the people at the desk getting complaints from other guest. I heard a guest complaining their thermostat was only going down to 65-67 degrees when they set it on 61 degrees. CMON PEOPLE! When the temps outside match the humidity you're not gonna get any a/c down to 60! If you can't handle 65 degrees you probably shouldn't travel to the south during summer months. Anyways our favorite part of the hotel was their full spread breakfast. The ladies running it were so friendly and kept the tables wiped down so others could sit, we chose to sit in the much quieter over flow from. Super friendly people here which you don't see much of where I come from. My health nut wife loved the exotic cut fruits. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: King rooms are large suites with a pull out for the kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    287
    80
    22
    5
See reviews for
450
243
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel in Williamsburg is a ok place to stay. 1 positive thing is that it is 5 minutes away from Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. We spent the day there for 6 hours (with 1 hour delay due to weather) the rooms were wonderful but our hotel room view was awful! It was a persons backyard!!! The breakfast was good but some food like eggs took long to bring out! Other than that, the Hampton inn was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our family of 5 spent 6 nights here at the peak of the busy summer season. We booked a Queen/Queen studio suite, and it was HUGE. The space was a real blessing and the kids even said the sofa bed was comfortable (that's a first). The refrigerator seemed to be on its last leg, but housekeeping left popcorn for the microwave each day and the room was otherwise clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was mobbed, as the hotel seemed to be at capacity, but the breakfast staff was quick to re-stock everything, and there were scrambed eggs and sausage or bacon every day. Apples, coffee, and tea were left out all day, which was nice for grab and go. We even used the laundry, which consisted of two newer, high-capacity washers and dryers, $2.00 per load and relatively quick. It was a bit humid in the hallway outside our room, but the room itself was great. An excellent place to stay with a family. We were close to Williamsburg, Busch Gardens, and Water Country, the three things we came to do, and on a street that appeared to be very safe.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and had zero problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel and our room was clean but our room was near the elevator and had an adjoining room with a noisy family, so there was constant noise and we did not get much sleep at night. The parking lot was packed with lots of mini-vans and families with small children. The atmosphere was loud and crowded and we were unable to eat the complimentary breakfast (tired 3 times) because there was not enough seating. People were sitting and standing all over the lobby - trying to eat/unsupervised kids everywhere. Not a hotel for singles/business or a vacationing adult family!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Hampton Inn is centrally located just outside Colonial Williamsburg. This was a great place to stay in order to see the sights in Virginia's Historic Triangle. About 5 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens, and 10-15 minutes to Yorktown and Jamestown.
When we arrived, the front desk staff was friendly and very accomodating. They made us feel right at home and were very helpful pointing us in the right direction regarding attractions, local places of interest, and places to eat.
My family and I have visited a few Hampton Inns in the past and this one was very good. The room was clean with fresh linens and clean towels. The pool and fitness center kept us active during some down times, and the breakfast was great.
I wish I had the names of the people that ran the front desk during the nights of 7/19 and 7/20 as they were EXTREMELY helpful and deserve to be complimented. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Williamsburg area and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First of all, I must say the service is very good, management is very responsive to guests, and that is the saving grace of this hotel. When we first got into our room, we noticed it was warm and not cooling and had a bad odor. We notified the manager, who instantly got us into another room without question. This rooms AC was good. There was another family complaining about their AC the next morning too and it was not extremely hot during this time. As for the new room, it was a comfortable temp, but the AC did make a loud noise, however after already moving our stuff once, we didnt want to move again. In addition, two of the light switches were broke and the bathroom light flickered badly, housekeeping should have caught these issues before someone got into the room. The breakfast area was extremely crowded, very few places to sit and hot items were out of stock most of the time. one last issue was related to the guests themselves, so I am not holding it against the hotel in the rating, but it did contribute to a less than happy experience, there seemed to be alot of groups of teenagers, that made alot of noise in the halls, and really took over the swimming pool area screaming and splashing, so the smaller kids couldn't have fun. Overall, if the front desk and management could get the rooms back in good shape, this would be a 4+ rating.

Room Tip: Ask to chec out the AC in the room before moving luggage into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is definitely the nicest hotel on the block. It's in a different part of town than I am used to staying, and the other hotels around look run-down and not as appealing. The room was fine - we had a huge suite. Breakfast, well, lots of people appeared to think it was great; I did not. My friend and I ended up in the pancake house down the road. The pineapple (and other fresh fruit) tasted like sweaty gym socks, and they kept running out of the other food. We didn't even attempt breakfast the next day. Overall, though, I was happy with the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.