We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Earn 2x Points
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

There are two Hampton Inns, within about a mile of each other, and both very close to Historic Williamsburg. This one is a little cheaper and a little older, but a fairly standard Hampton Inn with a nice clean room and the usual nice breakfast. It was quite suitable a base for exploring the Historic Triangle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    220
    61
    16
    5
See reviews for
365
180
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights this year and also last year as we toured the Williamsburg area. The staff was great! When we arrived, I had been driving for hours with an indicator light on in my car. The staff directed me to an AutoZone, where they were able to determine, on a Sunday evening, that it was a minor issue. I was able to have it repaired the next day, and the hotel helped me make taxi arrangements to Colonial Williamsburg, only a mile or so away.

The room was spacious and clean with the usual amenities, including a safe in the room. We had a problem with one of our lights. The staff offered to switch our room or have it repaired the next day. We choose the latter, and it was fixed by the time we returned to our room the next day.

There were lots of choices at breakfast, both hot and cold, including scrambled eggs and either sausage, bacon, or biscuits with gravy. My daughter had seconds every day! And there was coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24/7 in the lobby.

We were pleased with this hotel last year, returned this year and were equally pleased. The hotel had everything that we needed, and the price, about $100, was reasonable. It is very convenient to Colonail Williamsburg and the Colonial Parkway. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburgy, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were extremely surprised at the quality, cleanliness, and condition of this Hampton Inn. We felt as if we were staying in an apartment rather than a hotel room. The staff, especailly the breakfast staff was superb. The young lady who was working during breakfast the day we left went way beyond what would be considered "helping us". I'm still finding myself amazed over a week later writing this review. I wish people from the north east had a fraction of her charater and work ethic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We checked into this hotel and had hoped to upgrade our room so that our rooms were adjoining. The front desk staff was nice to work with while trying to change us around but unfortunately they could not accomodate this request as they were full. Instead, our rooms were 2 doors down from one another which worked out just fine. The rooms had 2 queen beds as opposed to full beds which was nice. They both had working refrigerators and I would consider them to be in good shape. There were no noticeable spots on the carpets or on bedding and the bathrooms were clean too. They were basic rooms - nothing that you would walk in and say "wow" to but for under $100 a night, it was just what I expected. In one of the rooms, the water pressure in the shower was definitely lacking. Not sure if this is common in all rooms. The hotel does not offer room service or any in room movies just fyi. They do have a pool and hot tub - both we used several times and were fine. They also do a free daily breakfast that was so-so. They had cereal and some breads (bagels, english muffins, donuts, etc). They also had make your own waffles and some eggs with a kielbasa type sausage. Both the eggs and sausage did not look that appealing so we did not try. The biggest complaint we had from our stay was the overwhelming smell of chlorine from the pool that was very noticeable in the lobby. When you mix that with the smell of breakfast each morning, it was not very pleasant. My daughter actually refused to go down for breakfast because it made her nauseaus. Please know that it did not bother either of the adults in our party to that extreme and I did not really let that aspect affect my rating because it didn't seem to bother other guests as it did us but it definitely was a distinct combination. . The location of this hotel was great as it was close to Richmond Road and attractions such as Busch Gardens and even Jamestown. You have your share of Waffle Houses close by if you choose as well as muttiple restaurants. We had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We'll stay here again when we visit Williamsburg. Couldn't be any cleaner. Couldn't hear other visitors or doors closing. Five minutes from center of Williamsburg. Might want to plan your meals. Complimentary bkfst. not the best, but muffins and bagels are good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel experience was excellent except for the fact that check-in clerk could not figure out how to put in my Southwest Airlines number for point credit of my stay. I took two rooms both were good, clean, and quiet. My staff with whom I traveled were happy with the accomodations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel just outside the Historic District. We like this hotel and its location to the Historic District and local restaurants. The main focus of this review is to recognize the outstanding customer service of a very special young man, Jordan Calfee, who could well teach some other hotel staff the proper way to treat their customers. I made reservations some time back for a double-queen room, first floor near the lobby, and only on 1st or 2nd floor. We arrived in our room and began checking the room to make sure everything was in working order but, unfortunately, the fridge would not cool and the A/C would not cool the room enough, so I called Jordan who came down to our room within minutes and checked these two items. He said he would see what he could do to fix the problem and returned asking me if I would like to look at another room in which the A/C and fridge appeared to work fine. I followed Jordan down the hall to another room and to my surprise it was a double-queen suite -- how sweet!! It was so spacious and had a sitting room with an excellent A/C and working fridge. He had upgraded us to a much nicer room (Room 119) at no extra charge. There was also an incident where one of the hotel guests (a child) had an accident on the carpet. I notified Jordan and he personally cleaned up the mess within just a few minutes. Our trip to Williamsburg was an educational grip for our grandson and we all had a wonderful time. Our visit was enhanced by our nice accommodations at this Hampton Inn & Suites. I recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again should we return to Williamsburg. As a side note - and I will review some restaurants we dined at over a 3-day period, one of those being "Food For Thought Cafe" and found it to be a very nice place with personable waiters and waitresses, and of course wonderful food. Be sure to visit the home of Jefferson Davis, "Monticello," which is a short distance from Williamsburg in Charlottesville, VA.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.