We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Williamsburg....and we have stayed everywhere there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Earn 2x Points
Ranked #5 of 78 hotels in Williamsburg
Columbia, MD
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Best value in Williamsburg....and we have stayed everywhere there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Over the last 40 years, we have gone to Williamsburg once or twice a year, and more often when our daughter was a student there. We've stayed in the full range of hotels, including Colonial Williamsburg properties. This Hampton Inn is our favorite outside of a very special occasion stay in a historic house in CW. The value is always excellent, the property very clean, service is very good. The breakfast staff in particular go out of their way to provide service usually lacking in a chain hotel breakfast. Always plentiful and replenished, gives a good start for the day of walking. We stay usually in a queen suite which is very large, has microwave and fridge, so makes for a comfortable base. No it is not the Ritz, but it is far below the Ritz prices, and a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    207
    55
    16
    5
See reviews for
340
168
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for two days over Christmas. This hotel is labeled as "historic district." That is very accurate, but it was not where I expected. While it is only a 3 minute drive to the historic Williamsburg visitor's center, it otherwise was in the middle of nowhere. I had hoped it would be on the main road leading past William and Mary and going out of town toward the Williamsburg pottery factory (the road with all the hotels and restaurants). Rather, it is virtually all by itself, about a 5-7 minute drive from that road. Thus, for dinner, there were only two nearby restaurants; otherwise, one has to drive 5-10 minutes to find one.

The hotel itself is just like all Hampton Inns: large rooms, clean, excellent in all respects. The only fault is comprised of the scrambled eggs. They must be fake. Their curds are all uniform size and shape (imagine marbles). The taste is absolutely awful. The saving grace at breakfast (the first day) was the gravy (meant for the biscuits - and was tasty) that I could pour over them to mask the terrible taste. This is the second hotel in America (the other was not Hampton) where I've had these identical eggs. Unfortunately, the second morning there was no gravy to mask the taste. The good news is that the coffee and glazed donuts were excellent! There were very few people staying there, so by 9:00 a.m. there was still plenty of breakfast left.

I'd stay there again (but bring plenty of spices to "doctor" the eggs!!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this Hampton and I will most likely stay there again. Our room this time had a heater and air conditioning unit that clanked and banged through our first night. Second night we gave it a miss. We skip breakfast at hotels like this as they are all pretty much the same: rubbery eggs and yogurt. This Hampton is in a great location and is less expensive than those on the Williamsburg strip so definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: We always take the king size non smoking suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel last month and would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting the Williamsburg area. We stayed in one of the 2 Queen Studio suites and not only was the room spotless, but the extra space made us feel right at home. The Front Desk staff was very friendly and gave great advice on places to eat out. Also I stay at Hampton's often, and was extremely impressed at the courtesy and attentiveness of the breakfast staff. They do as good a job as any Hampton I've ever been at. Overall it was a great value and I would certainly stay there again next time I am in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was everything I expect from a Hampton Inn but we had some problems...first it was raining when we arrived and the management allowed people to park in front of the door which made us park and carry our luggage through the rain...second if you did not get to breakfast before 8:00 AM there was nothing left to eat and it did not seem like any more food was served...third the management team seemed overwhelmed and was unresponsive to any special requests...basically the problem was the management team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I would say our stay here was pretty nice and typical of the Hampton experience. We were quite comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. They offered a warm breakfast which is nice when you are traveling. Our rooms were good, however, the heating unit was quite strange as the room would really heat up once you set it at a certain temp, and then the cold air would kick in to cool it off! We heard other visitors talking about this also. Also had some problems with the shower and getting it to stay at the right temp. The hotel is a good value though for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for one night in oct 2012 and found this hotel to be clean, friendly and very good value for our $$. Nice breakfast, decent meal in the restaurant. Friendly staff and big rooms. We had a room towards the courtyard which was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room faceing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.