We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Earn 2x Points
Ranked #7 of 80 hotels in Williamsburg
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We arrived early at this hotel (10:30) and just called at reception to see if we could leave our cases until check-in time, but they actually said that we could check-in which was great! The room was nice and clean, but was a little 'used'. There was a big gap under the door where the draught excluder should have been, so it did let quite a bit of noise in from the corridor, nothing that a spare cushion didn’t sort out. In the main though the hall noise is down to people who have no recognition that others may be wanting to have some peace! Breakfast was usual Hampton faire with also plenty of coffee & hot water available during the day, and little packets of mints instead of cookies. Considering how busy breakfast was, the ladies that looked after us were extremely pleasant and really looked after you – shame we didn’t catch their names. Reception staff were again very friendly and helpful, and there were plenty of information sheets available for directions to restaurants and local attractions. We found the location of the hotel to be good, as the Visitor Centre for Colonial Williamsburg was just around the corner, with plenty of restaurants and shops a short drive away.

We really enjoyed Williamsburg and went to the Colonial area every day that we were there (even if it was at the end of a trip to Jamestown/York town). We bought the $30 pass to get into the 4 Jamestown/Yorktown parks which saved around $15 if you were planning to go into each one. We didn’t spend the $39.90 day pass to get into Colonial Williamsburg attractions (ie some of the buildings and scenarios that were played out) as we found that after investigating the area on day 1 of our trip, you get to see an awful lot anyway. We also managed to see the pipe/drum procession and firing of the canons as this is held in an area where all visitors can see. The money though does go to the upkeep of the park, but could be very pricey of you have children with you.
We would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    188
    50
    14
    5
See reviews for
302
147
16
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have just recently stayed over at the hampton and was so impressed with there continual excellence in cleanliness and amazing customer service that
keeps me wanting to come back everytime . I can t say enough about this property and how much as a frequent traveler that this is a place of comfort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasburg va
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

There was a mix-up with our room reservsations but the clerk found another room with what we needed. Front desk staff was EXCELLENT! This clerk took great care in making sure we had a suitable room. The hotel is lovely and the breakfast bar is kept well stocked.
Our room was clean and spacious. There was a rip in the carpet where it meets the other flooring that had very sharp points sticking up. We put a towel over it.
We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: The suites are very spacious anf perfect for families traveling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here tonights during our trip to Colonial Williamsburg. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Jamestowne, about 10 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg. Upon arrival, the clerk gave us lots of advice for our visit and highlighted a map for us. He could not have been more friendly and helpful. Our room was a standard Hampton room. It did have a refridgerator which is always helpful. It was cleaned and pretty modern. The breakfast was ok - again standard Hampton. The breakfast area was kept cleaned, and the staff did a great job replacing everything. We would staff here again if we were back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Williamsburg. Our room was very clean. The desk staff were so kind and friendly. Beds were comfortable, breakfast delicious, and the price was great. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and again and again! You can't go wrong staying here while visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this Hampton and the front desk clerk (Kijana Casserly) mentioned that fact to us at check-in. He also mentioned that he had our Hilton Honors Member info in the computer and told me the times of breakfast, pool & exercise room hours. He gave me a paper with a floor plan of the hotel on one side and map of the area on the other - this is something that I wish ALL hotels did, it is just a nice reference to have. He confirmed that a restaurant (Sals by Victor) I inquired about was a good choice and handed me a menu and said that they also would deliver to the hotel. There is a night light in the bathroom which we did not have at the previous nights hotel. This hotel was clean and comfortable. The hotel was very quiet and it sits on a road that is not too highly traveled so there is not a lot of traffic noise. Our visit a few years back we had poor cell phone reception but this visit there was no problem. And the wifi internet connection was good. The only problem we had both times we stayed here was that the hotel sign sits to far back and too low it makes it difficult to see the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Can't fault anything about this hotel. It was very comfortable, clean and with friendly, helpful staff.
Cold buffet breakfast was fine. Fair choice of healthy and not so healthy stuff. The "hot" breakfast, is best avoided however, but as it is complementary I don't expect much anyway. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate on offer 24/7, which is good when you come in from a tiring day out.
Rooms are spacious with a good number of drawers and a safe. Wifii speeds in the room is fast too.
We had an excellent deal, paying only about £40 per night and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District Hotel Williamsburg
Hampton Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn
Address: 911 Capitol Landing Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spacious two queen bedroom studio suite includes all modern amenities including lap desk, iron/board, coffee maker, safe, kitchen area, sofa pull out and cloud nine bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.