We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 English Garden Way, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Colonial Crossings of Williamsburg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #12 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first trip to Williamsburg. We own at Orange Lake Country Club in FL for 29 years. This was a long weekend trip with our family of 4 and we got a 2 bedroom suite. I have heard that this resort is going through a lot of improvements since coming under the Holiday Inn Brand. There is still need for more improvements. We arrived 5:30 on a Thursday evening after a 10 hour drive. It was very difficult to see the entrance of the property even though the sign was lit up and they had Christmas lights lit up. It could have used a few street lights on the road into the resort to show the divided driveway.
Registration was quick, very easy and the personel were very friendly. The suite looked great but then we found these issues. 1) A cheerio on the floor in the bathroom at the corner of the tub and wall. 2) A crayon on the floor in the master bdrm. and the second bdrm. 3) Master bathroom; the hot & cold water was swapped on the sink (thought we didn't have any hot water at first). 4) Master bathroom; the toilet seat was bolted on crooked so your leg hit the cold porcelain rim. 5) Master closet door misaligned wouldn't close correctly. 6) Master bathroom door stop bent so the door hit the wall. 7) Master bdrm. TV remote control was for a dvd player not the TV so you couldn't change channels. 8) Other bedroom sheer curtain had dirt on it. 9) In the main closet with the broom there was crumbs and dirt nobody ever picked up. 10) Under the breakfast counter there was a dent were one of the stools fell into the wall, could be repaired and repainted. 11) Porch security bar was hard to set and you had to try to line it up before you pulled the door shut. 12) Porch door was misaligned which allowed cold breeze and noise to come in, a better alignment and some weather stripping would help. 13) Master bdrm.; also found part of someone's hearing aid on the floor.
NOTE: We did not ask for these issues to be resolved while we were there. We didn't want the intrusion. I did mention this during the checkout, they were VERY apologetic. I hope that management gives the housekeeping staff more time per unit to do a better cleaning than just pushing them to do a better job. We will go back to this resort but if they haven't addressed these issues we will not return again.
Note: Since this was our third time this year using our points to stay at a Holiday Inn Club Resort we had to surprisingly pay an additional "Cleaning Fee". It's rather ironic that the cleaning fee was for the worst of all three. I hope they use our money to do a better job.
We only used the microwave, the refrigerator and the dishwasher. We didn't try any of the other appliances. The pool looked smaller than the pictures we saw online (outdoor and closed this time of year). There is no restaurant or lounge, so nothing to review about that. The fake fireplace was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor, the children running around above us was very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Williamsburg. We decided to come for the Grand Illumination. This place is very nice from the moment you drive up to the property. The landscaping and grounds are very nice and well maintained. We got the one bedroom unit. It was very clean, nicely decorated with modern amenities, quiet, and close to Williamsburg. This place does not have a restaurant on property nor does it offer the quick breakfast that many conventional Holiday Inns offer. Since all the units have full kitchens you either cook your own food or go out to eat. I must admit that I do like getting up and walking down to an already prepared breakfast and coffee that is already paid for, quick and easy. However, given the quality of the places to stay here it was well worth the trade off. There are plenty of restaurants near by as well as two Dunkin Donuts within about a mile. There are plenty of stores within two miles as well. Very conveniently located to I-64 as well as Richmond Rd which will take you to Colonial Williamsburg in about 10-15 minutes. We got a room on the top floor with a balcony facing the woods. Our room was quiet. There is a sheltered elevator to use. Entrance to the rooms in our section was via an outside corridor. I think we were staying in a newly remodeled section. There is a newer building where the lobby is located as well. We listened to the time share pitch and were able to tour the new building. On the inside they are like the remodeled older buildings. For some people there is a concern about the quality of the electric fire places. Our unit had a nice sized place fireplace. My only complaint about the fire place is that the fake flames looked very fake, the wood and glowing embers looked good though. When we took our timeshare tour of a newer unit they had the same electric fireplace but the flames looked a lot more realistic. We were happy to have any fireplace. The whirlpool tub was very nice. Our unit also had a washer and dryer. All rooms had a Blu-ray player and they have a nice selection of movies you can check out at no charge at the front desk. The only thing we did not like was the time share pitch. We had never been to one before but had an idea of what we were in for. Everyone was very nice and we signed up for the 90 minute pitch. When we arrived for our presentation they said we were there for the 2 hour presentation and we corrected them that it was the 90 minute presentation and they said "that's right." However we got the 3 hour tour, a three hour tour! Haha. I would highly recommend staying here. Everyone was very nice and friendly, even the timeshare sales staff. It was a good place to stay that was close to many things.

Room Tip: Top floor for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Greetings! We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed our resort and that our staff was able to provide you and your family the best vacation experience possible. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. We are happy to hear that our one bedroom villa was the right fit for you and your family. As you may have learned during your recent stay with us, construction is underway for our amenities building. We appreciate your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler Mountain, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed three nights at this resort and thought it was beautiful. We had a one bedroom one bath condo and the only thing we would have improved was to have two sinks available in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was tastefully done and exceeded every expectation. Its location is very close to all Williamsburg attractions and with the coming amenities this summer, will be an excellent place to stay for families.

Room Tip: The outside units have a private balcony facing the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
HI There! Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We are so honored that you chose our resort ! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. We are happy to hear that our one bedroom villa was the right fit for you and your family. As you may have learned during your stay we are in the process of constructing an amenities building that will be full of unique and exciting activates for our guest to enjoy. We appreciate your thoughts and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are owners at Orange Lake near Disney, but tried the Williamsburg resort last week. It was AMAZING and more than we expected. Lovely rooms with deep rich decor and little comforts all around. We loved turning on the fire place at the end of the day and having hot tea by the fire. Convenient to EVERYTHING it seemed. Beautiful views. Fabulous staff. We could not have been more pleased and cannot wait to go back!! 10 Stars!!!! :)

Room Tip: We were in 303 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello! Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. As you may have learned during your recent stay with us, construction is underway for our amenities building. We here at the resort want to ensure that we are offering our guests the best vacation experiences possible from the villas to activities and guest services. Our resort is also located near many fun filled attractions for everyone to enjoy. We appreciate your thoughts and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We love this place!
Stayed two nights while looking at William and Mary with our high school senior.
Condo style..beautiful. .two bathrooms, two bedrooms, kitchen, living room, porch, den...just gorgeous.
Our daughter did not want to leave! Short drive to Williamsburg and outlets..just perfect!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Greetings! Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We are so honored that you chose our resort ! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. We are happy to hear that our two bedroom villa was the right fit for you and your family. As you may have learned during your stay we are in the process of constructing an amenities building that will be full of unique and exciting activates for our guest to enjoy. We appreciate your thoughts and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

My husband and I enjoy a yearly visit to Colonial Williamsburg. This year we decided on dates too late and our usual rental cottage was already booked, so I had to find something different. I’m glad I found the Holiday Inn Club Vacation facility! The rooms were spotless and very nicely appointed with a sitting area, full and fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer combo and a separate bedroom. The whirlpool tub was very nice feature in the bathroom and it worked very well. There was plenty of closet space and a generous allotment of plush towels. The rooms shown on the website appear larger than the actual rooms, but for the two of us they were more than spacious enough. Minor quibbles include the very phony looking fireplace and some of the decorative elements that were very "hotelish."

Our rooms were very quite, and even though there were many cars in the parking lot, we were never disturbed by noise from other patrons.

The staff was very pleasant and the expected “time share” sales pitch, which I declined, was not too pushy (in other words, I only had to politely say “no thank you” three times).

With all the positives, there were two shortcomings to the unit which are the reason I’ve deducted a star from what could have been a five-star rating. The first is that even though we visited in mid-November and the outside temperature was in the 40s to 50s, the temperature in the rooms was much hotter than we prefer. I turned the heat all the way down and eventually completely turned off the heating control units and it was still too hot -- so much so that we slept with the sliding door to the balcony cracked to allow a bit of colder air into the room. I should mention that there was no way to switch from heating to air conditioning, which I would have liked to do. The other problem was that I found the bed to be too hard. It wasn’t lumpy or saggy, just very firm which I found very uncomfortable by morning.

Overall, I would not hesitate to book another stay at this facility as long as I could make sure the temperature issue could be addressed and maybe get a room with a better (for me) mattress.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Hi There! Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. Thank you for your compliments regarding the cleanliness of our villa. As you may have learned during your stay we are in the process of constructing an amenities building that will be full of unique and exciting activates for our guest to enjoy. We appreciate your thoughts and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We are Shell Vacation owners and booked our stay at the hotel through Interval. We've never used a Holiday Inn property before, so we didn't really know what to expect. We were pleased with the hotel and staff from beginning to end. Our visit was a scouting trip to see if we'd like to live in the area, but we also wanted to take advantage of all there was to see and do. We had a one bedroom suite that was spacious, very nicely decorated, had everything you could ask for and then some. The property is fairly new and we loved that everything in the room seemed fresh. The location is ideal and close to all the major streets and highways. The concierge and staff were very helpful. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know if there's a noisy section, but our room on the third floor was very quiet. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Greetings! Welcome home from your recent stay with us. We are so honored that you chose our resort ! We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was the perfect place to get away and relax. We are happy to hear that our one bedroom villa was the right fit for you and your family. As you may have learned during your stay we are in the process of constructing an amenities building that will be full of unique and exciting activates for our guest to enjoy. We appreciate your thoughts and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort

Address: 200 English Garden Way, Williamsburg, VA 23188 (Formerly Colonial Crossings of Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort,each guest is welcomed to genuine hospitality from a staff committed to providing a home-away-from-home vacation experience. The quiet retreat is just minutes from the living history of the Historic Triangle; Colonial Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown. Williamsburg also offers fantastic deals at the Premier Outlets and thrill-seekers will relish in the excitement at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. Each villa is tastefully decorated and equipped with fully-furnished kitchens, washer/dryers, free Wi-Fi and parking, cable television, jetted-tubs and gas fireplaces. The resort offers spacious 1 and 2 bedroom layouts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Crossings Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Colonial Crossings Williamsburg
Colonial Crossings Hotel Williamsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Williamsburg Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.