We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening....but had to wait!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Canary

Fat Canary
410 W Duke Of Gloucester St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3603
757-229-3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fat Canary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 333 restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Henry and Boundary Sts
Fairfax, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely evening....but had to wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Several people told us that the Fat Canary was one of the best restaurants in Williamsburg, but no one thought we'd need reservations on a Wednesday in November...but they were wrong! We had to wait about 40 minutes for a table, but it was worth the wait. I had scallops and my hubby had the pork chop (both of which were recommended by the hostess and our waitress) and both dishes were excellent. The chocolate mousse we had to end our meal there was FABULOUS! Don't hesitate to go to the Fat Canary... but make a reservation!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    449
    84
    29
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, overpriced wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The food here is consistently excellent. My wife and I like dining at the bar. The major drawback is that, like many good Williamsburg area restaurants (except Guiseppes and Maurizios), their wine list is overpriced. Their wine offerings are good, but it is impossible to find a wine below about $34....that is unreasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick D, Manager at Fat Canary, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on the restaurant. We very much appreciate your continued patronage. We take pride in providing value in our wine selections, and I did want to let you know that in addition to the offerings on the list itself we offer all of our patrons access to the full wine cellar downstairs which features over 1500 labels, including more than 50 under $10. Any of those cellar wines are available with only a $10 corkage fee in the restaurant (in fact our entire list is priced at just $10 over retail). On your next visit I would be happy to personally show you around our cellar and assist with selection. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with ever valuable feedback.

Patrick Driscoll
General Manager
Fat Canary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Would give this place a 4.5 with a small .5 deduction just for expense and somewhat small menu. Otherwise a wonderful experience. Every item on the seasonal menu was memorable and delicious. Loved the oysters, the pork chop entree. The service was great and they are excellent with food allergies. Environment is bistro lively.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always an exceptional experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I visit Williamsburg each year. We have been dining at Fat Canary for the past 3 years. The menu is always interesting and the service top-notch.

This year we had our best experience there. In fact we were able to dine there two evenings during the week. The wait staff is knowledgeable about the menu as well as the wines. We felt as if we were the most important patrons in the building. My husband had the oyster appetizer and declared them the most delicious oyters in the area. We had the special menu item - grouper one night and rock fish the other. Each had interesting ingredients and wonderful flavors.
We feel that the kitchen and service staff make Fat Canary the success that it is. We hope they continue to succeed so that we can dine there yearly!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It may be difficult to get a reservation but it is certainly worth it when you do. We had great food and great service. When we told our waitperson that we were interested in learning about Virginia wines, she made a list of wineries that we should visit later in our trip. We both ordered the pork chop with the goat cheese soufflé. The portions were so huge that we took half home and had dinner for a 2nd night. Don’t miss this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Canary also viewed

 

Been to Fat Canary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Canary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.