We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad, Mad, and Very Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Williamsburg Pottery

Williamsburg Pottery
6692 Richmond Road (Rte 60W), I-64 exit 234 near the intersection of Route 199 and Mooretown Road, Williamsburg, VA (Formerly Williamsburg Pottery Factory)
800-768-8379, 757-564-3326
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 22 Shopping in Williamsburg
Type: Shops, Malls, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The NEW Williamsburg Pottery is a set of 3 beautiful, European-boutique-style Marketplaces: Gourmet Kitchen, Home Essentials, and Outdoor Living. We offer thousands of items both International and USA-made. We support local growers and small business with our Virginia's Finest, Award-Winning Custom Frame Shop, and handmade reproduction Salt Glaze Pottery. We are also home to a huge award-winning wine shop, hand-arranged custom silk flowers, and much more! We offer a huge variety of fine items at great values. From our "Best New Business in Williamsburg" Au Bon Pain restaurant, to summer Entertainment in the Courtyard, plus lots of new events and departments coming soon in 2013, The Pottery has so much new to discover!
Manassas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sad, Mad, and Very Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My recent visit to the Williamsburg Pottery literally ruined my day. I am dying to know what led to the decimation of this iconic shopping destination. At the old WP I could spend a whole day treasure hunting and come away with a carload of finds. On my recent visit to the new WP I spent one hour, less than fifty dollars, and scored nothing I couldn’t have gotten at Walmart – probably cheaper. Is that the point? To discourage old customers in the hopes of attracting new? Why? Do we need another glitzy strip mall so badly that an authentic shopping experience must go?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Carolyn R,
Thank you for taking the time to write. We would like to address your concerns.
1. Q: "what led to the decimation of this iconic shopping destination"
A: While the old buildings were no longer safe for guests, founder J. Maloney's widow chose to realize his dream by building safe, clean, beautiful buildings to house a wide array of merchandise we have always offered at the best value.
2. Q: "Is that the point? To discourage old customers in the hopes of attracting new?"
A: Absolutely not! We want everyone to have a satisfying experience here as we value ALL of our customers, both those who have visited before, and first-time visitors. We will always listen to our guests and make improvements. Please feel free to let us know products you love for us to carry!
3. Q:"Why? Do we need another glitzy strip mall so badly that an authentic shopping experience must go?"
A: Can you clarify what you mean by "authentic shopping experience"? We shied away from a strip mall design and chose to realize Maloney's dream of a beautiful exterior that is pleasing to the eye, and has lots of room inside for a great shopping experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    44
    94
    143
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I Miss The Old Williamsburg Pottery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I lived in the area for several years and my family always loved going to The Pottery. It was like a treasure hunt! You knew when you were going that it was a little dusty (wear old clothes) and you would see an assortment of strange things, but that you could find just the right thing you never knew you needed. When we planned a trip to Williamsburg to see a show, we were looking forward to hitting The Pottery. When we got there, I actually drove by it. I couldn't believe how different it looked. Okay, so they've upgraded the exterior. Hmm. We went in and were terribly disappointed. The selection was okay, but there weren't many great values. Most of the things I saw were the same or higher priced than at Walmart, Michaels, or other similar stores. For example, my mom used to get flags for her yard at The Pottery. The only flags she found at the new place were way more expensive than she had seen them at our local stores in the D.C. area. The employees were kind of half-hearted and one woman was pretty snippy about the coupon we had from one of the local tourist magazines (even though it only saved us about a dollar). I almost asked if the coupon comes out of her paycheck. Yes, the new place is bright and clean, but I miss the old treasure trove.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
RestonVoyager, we are so glad you have so many happy memories of visiting the Pottery in years past. We are proud of our selection and we want to always offer the best value. In fact, we guarantee that we have the lowest prices you can find anywhere else. Please accept our deepest regret about the employee you gave the coupon to. Please contact us at comments@williamsburgpottery.com. We want every experience at the Pottery to be a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“waste of time - understatement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The title says it all. Pottery should be removed from the name since I only found 2 round table areas with any pottery at all. The only thing that reminds me of the old Pottery Factory was a large display of silk flowers. If you are into silk flower baskets, wreaths, arrangements, etc - this place is for you. Overall prices are equal to any other store and yet thinks looked like cheap products. Good in theory, bad in practice. Sad experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
MarylandTraveler104- We are sorry you were unable to find our salt glaze pottery displays. The issue has been brought to the attention of the floor managers- we want all our guests to find our merchandise and enjoy their visit! Please come visit us again; we will be opening our Seasonal shop soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a joke this place is. Supposedly upscale shopping, but in actuality the same inventory as Wal Mart and other places with upscale prices. I remember this place from years ago. To say now that this place is just a shell of it's former glory would be over doing it. Don't waste your time here. You can get the same merchandise at Wal Mart, Target, or Farm Fresh for a lower price.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi, Norgeva! We are sorry to hear that you may have been disappointed during a recent trip. We would like to reassure you that we do not have the same vendors as chain stores; we are and have been locally owned and operated for 75 years. Please let us know what we can do to improve. What would you like us to carry that you could not find? Your satisfaction is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faux Pottery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Williamsburg over the past Labor Day weekend and decided to see if the Pottery was as bad as the prior reviews. Although the stores were bright and clean, the lack of variety and cost of most items cannot compare with its former namesake. We did buy some craft items otherwise we would have rated as "Terrible."

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg P, Marketing at Williamsburg Pottery, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Lang, We are glad you were able to visit and purchase some craft items. We would like to hear more about what items you couldn't find or found to be priced too high. We value your time and want everyone to have a great experience here. We stand by our "Dare to Compare" promise of great value and lowest prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Williamsburg Pottery also viewed

 

Been to Williamsburg Pottery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Williamsburg Pottery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.