We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not exceptional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum

Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum
325 Francis Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
757 220 7693
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$44*
and up
Colonial Williamsburg City Tour
Ranked #7 of 30 Attractions in Williamsburg
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 19th-century folk household objects (toys, kitchenware, paintings, furniture, etc.) are on display at the Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice but not exceptional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

They promote this as having a lot of folk art raising expectations, but I was disappointed - a nice building but sort of a let down. however the staff there is excellent

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    64
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an hour or two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was very hot on the day we visited and my kids were just happy to get inside for the air conditioning! They ended up walking through the whole museum and really enjoying it. We all liked the folk art, especially the carousel. They have a little cafe with reasonably priced sandwiches and hot dogs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamsaburg, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“viewing history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

always a great review of history.take the time to read discrptions. 'also check the times when a guide is available.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this on our days in Colonial Williamsburg. This was included in our pass and we took advantage of it. I have to admit I'm not much of a museum person unless it is military but I enjoyed it very much. They did have some weapons on display which was great but I found the rest of it interesting as well.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Plenty of variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There is an awful lot to see in this museum. It is very well curated and explained so if you find yourself trapped there by a torrential downpour as we were, you will be able to keep yourself well entertained.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abby Aldrich Rockefeller Folk Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.