We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney type resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book & Save up to 20%
Ranked #35 of 78 Hotels in Williamsburg
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disney type resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went for the Grand Illumination in December. We were able to enjoy indoor water sports. The activities are geared toward young children but our teenagers enjoyed the water park and the video arcade. There are two restaurants inside and a jungle themed restaurant in the parking lot. This is very convenient and hassle free. The room rate will make you gasp.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face the interstate highway. I don't remember it being very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    543
    266
    145
    111
See reviews for
1,020
23
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Our daughter had a stellar time! We stayed 2 nights and our room came to over $600 for those nights. The room was the equivalent of a low in holiday inn. The shower was terribly moldy, both security locks on the door were broken. The pillows were so overly used that they were knotty. The beds were so slept in that they had holes in the middle. They have a game that is kind of like a treasure hunt running thru the halls where the rooms are. This doesn't shut off till 11. I have a 4 year old that couldn't go to sleep till after 11 PM becuase these games were talking and making noises until them right outside of our room. And housekeeping never even came to make our beds or give us fresh towels or toilet paper for crying out loud. After complaining about towels it took housekeeping almost and hour to get us some. Upside, everything is self contained here. I had several spa services and they were phenomenal! The staff is friendly and helpful and the water park is beyond good!!!! You really never have to leave but if you do you are within 5-10 mins of so much stuff!!! We had great days out nights were just bad. So my relaxing spa day was wasted on poor night sleeps and an achy body from a terrible bed. If I am paying $350 a night for a room...give some good pillows!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Laurie, I want to thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Williamsburg and sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry to hear you had so many issues with your room. Whenever there are concerns such as the locks on your hallway door, please let us know immediately so we can notify Maintenance. Then we can work to fix the problem as quickly as possible.

During the reservation process, you are able to request to have your suite located in a quieter portion of the lodge. Our Guest Services team will then take this into consideration when assigning your room on the day of arrival. If you specifically do not want to be near a MagiQuest game terminal, then you would be better off requesting a room on the first floor specifically, or towards the end of the hallways on the second, third or fourth floors.

I hope this information helps you when planning your next Great Wolf vacation.

We look forward to seeing your family again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

There was plenty to do for 2 and 3 year olds. Over all the resort was a good value, the staff could be friendlier and more engaged with their child clientele. We had to switch rooms 3 teams do to problems with the resort, however, we ended up with a beautiful 2 bedroom suite that made the stay even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are worth the price. Also skip the birthday package, the cake is not edible and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last summer. We stayed at one of the themed suites and it was great. We were on the first floor. It was surprisingly quiet. My family is a deep sleeper but I'm a very, VERY light sleeper. I never woke up once because of the noise. They have great activities for kids. It was very over all. There was on problem though. We saw a cockroach in the bathroom. I just wish it was cleaner. It's was mostly clean. Over all, it was great. I just have one thing to say for people who get there things stolen here. NEVER LEAVE YOUR VALUABLES ANYWHERE. PERIOD.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Do not count on a phone call to let you know when your room is ready, it will never come. The pillows were huge and lumpy, the mattress was bowed, so you both slid toward the middle. the bathroom door scraped the tiles, making it hard to open and close. For the rates charged, I really expected better of the room. It was clean but the bed and pillows insured a bad nights rest. We missed the first day of the water park because we chose to go out to eat and wait for the call, by 5pm I called them and was told our room number, with no apology for no call. Since we had evening plans, by the time we got back, the water park was closed. Tons of unsupervised children, some so young I had to wonder where the parents were. Expect to pay extra for everything, using whatever credit card you attach to the bracelet you wear. Food was not very good, better to eat out or bring in something for the microwave.

Room Tip: Room 4068 has an awful bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Kat, thank you for providing us with the feedback from your recent stay at Great Wolf Lodge – Williamsburg! I apologize for our team not contacting you to let you know your room was ready. Our Guest Services team works tirelessly to ensure that each guest is assigned their room as soon as it becomes available from cleaning, and I am sorry if we missed the mark with your family.

We truly appreciate your commentary in regards to your bedding accommodations and I will share that with our Housekeeping team to follow-up on.

We hope to see you again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for one night the last time so we could not see much and figure the place out. This time we stayed two nights. Our room was nice and it was clean, it served its purpose. For the size of the room the TV was way too small should have been a forty two inch or larger and not a small thirty seven inch on the little dresser. But in all fairness we did not come here to watch TV. The water park was okay the lazy river was not a lazy river, if you want the nicer water park go to Massenutten. Everything youngish to do outside of swimming comes at an additional cost, the vending machines do not take cash which is a draw back, they want you to attach your credit card to the bracelet you have to wear while you stay there. The pizza did not look all that great so going out to get it is faster and taste much better. If you are dead set on staying here bring your credit card you will need it.

Room Tip: Signup to get their email and only go if you are using a coupon. Do not pay full price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

If you plan on staying here, do not leave any valuables in your room during the day. When something is stolen, management will accuse you of either misplacing your items or they will stand by their employees and imply that you are lying about your stolen items.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Kayla, I am deeply sorry for what happened during your stay with us at Great Wolf Lodge – Williamsburg. Our Pack members have a proven track record of turning in any items found during cleaning to the Lost & Found Department.

Whenever a theft from a guest room is reported, we take decisive action and follow standard procedures to investigate. This includes interviewing our Housekeeping team and pulling an electronic lock report which cannot be tampered with. The lock report shows anyone that has entered the room as each access card or band has a unique RFID code that we can trace back to whomever it was issued to.

Thank you for choosing Great Wolf.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.