We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Fun at Great Wolf Lodge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 79 Hotels in Williamsburg
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun at Great Wolf Lodge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I had a blast at Great Wolf Lodge! I went with a lot of people (there were 7 adults and about 10 kids). The kids had a lot of fun at the Waterpark. Overall it was very nice at Great Wolf Lodge. We did have a minor issue with how many room key wristbands and regular kid wristbands that we were supposed to have for each room, but we made it work and everyone ended up having a great time. One thing I will say is bring extra money, because the extras are expensive (food at the on site restaurants).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    552
    276
    148
    111
See reviews for
1,048
23
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pros:
1 - We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the waterpark! You can't say enough about the lifeguards, and the fun we have - especially on the tornado and the wave board! SO wonderful - really, it's ALWAYS 84 degress at GWL.
2. We stay in the kids cabin - and the kids - and mom - very much enjoy that the kids have their own space to clutter, eat, and play in.
3. Great to have the wristbands for room keys and purchases
4. The bear and paw passes are a great value - AND we bring our wands back each year (TIP: CHANGE THE BATTERIES BEFORE YOU GET TO GWL OR IT WILL COST YOU $$$ FOR THEM TO CHANGE 'EM)
5. I, very much, enjoy the fireplace

Cons:
1. ROOM: how much more expensive can it get? We paid $250 (with tax) each night for a weekday stay in the kids cabin - no holiday, spring break, etc - AND we received 20% off. The rooms are tired: old TV, not many outlets for plug ins, the carpet had a big hole, the wall by the AC was nasty looking. We started visiting approx. 7 years ago - and rooms were still $119 per night for a family suite. I know prices go up - but goodness
2. FOOD: Pretty expensive for okay food - no matter where you go in the lodge. The best value, and tasty, in my book - the fruit and yogurt cup from the sweets area.
3. ARCADE: OMGosh!!! Really - 8 paw points for some of the games! $$$$ And for approx 1,000,000 won tickets - you get a slap bracelet...well, maybe I exagerrated a bit, but only a bit!
4. ATTRACTIONS: WHY does it need to be so expensive for the added attractions - the one minute race is $2, the five minute 3D "experience" is $6, the bowling is $5, the golf is $5, magiquest game $14, a wand is $16, the sky is the limit for the arcade. It doesn't take long to add $100-150 - easy PER PERSON - and it doesn't take long to spend it.

We checked in and were given an envelope - it welcomed us back and thanked us for visiting multiple times - it was nice, but I have to say when I received it - I thought I would find a discount or a free drink or something. The lodge encourages you to go "green" but doesn't provide a way to do so - our room only had one hook (for four people) and no clothes line in the bathroom. The AC was TOO efficient, and it wouldn't turn off. We all froze the first night. I disconnected it the second night. If you can get your kids to do only the waterpark and bring some of your food - IT WOULD BE A FIVE STAR RATING. We will probably visit one more time - because my son loves it so much (if you aren't paying - who wouldn't!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have a family of 5, and this is the 4th GWL location we have visited. We love many things about these hotels, but we are most impressed by the consistency from site to site. We always stay in a "Kid's Cabin" room, which is very spacious and has a wonderful gas fireplace. The kids love having their own beds in their own bunk area. This hotel was very clean, and the waterpark was well maintained. The staff was wonderful! The lifeguards were the best we have come across. The manager was also wonderful; when we checked in he handed out slushie samples to all the guests waiting in line. It was just a nice extra touch since it was taking a little longer than usual to check- in. I love that he was working hard to make sure everyone was happy! We loved this GWL!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great wolf lodge is a good place to take kids. On our trip, it was 2 adults and 5 kids so we opted for the 2 bedroom suite. There was a long line at checkin. The line was wrapped around the hall so it took us over an hr to check in. Once checking in, our room wasn't ready but we were able to enjoy the events, minus the room until I room came available. Once we were able to get into our room, the room was really nice and comfortable. It was enough space to accomodate the amount of people in our party. There was a small refrig in our room which worked out good since we had 2 kids under the age of two. First night we ordered pizza for the restaurant. Meal was decent for the price and we had enough food to feed or party. The breakfast bar was alittle pricey considering the cost that we paid per night for the room, so we went to the Ihop down the street from the hotel. Customer service was great, room service was fast and the kids enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

If the service at the rest of the resort was as good as it is in the waterpark, I would give it 5 out of 5. But it isn't. Service was particularly lacking at the front desk, MagiQuest, and arcade. Staff at these locations were usually inattentive or flat out missing all together. Service at the restaurant and sweet shop was excellent some days and not-so-good others.

The room rate includes admission to the waterpark and provides decent value for what you get. After that, everything else is expensive. If you are budgeting for your trip, add an extra $100/child so you can buy them each the wolf and paw passes upon arrival. Sounds like a lot, but it's nothing compared to what you'll pay for activities if you try to do them "a la carte." MagiQuest alone is $30. Also, if you will not have a car during your stay, you will have very limited dining options on the premises, none of which are cheap.

The rooms are pretty big, we did like that.

We found the common areas of the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th levels to be uncomfortably hot with no ventilation.

One bizarre thing that others here mentioned but I underestimated was how much the lack of service elevators would affect my enjoyment of the place. Guests compete with the staff for use of the same elevators, and I was frequently torn between wanting to be polite to the poor hotel employee forced to do his/her job around us and not wanting to wait to get where I was going as a paying guest. In what was surely an attempt to save a buck, Great Wolf management failed their customers and their employees when they decided not to install service elevators.

All that said, if you've got kids in the 6-12 year-old range, they will definitely enjoy this place.
Most of the activities will be lost on children younger than that, or be considered "baby-ish" by kids older than that. 6-12 is definitely the target demographic.

Room Tip: Get a room on level 2 to minimize how much you need to use the elevators, which are always crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our second year Going to great wolf and i love it . We take 5 boys ages 14,13,13,12 ,10.
They have a ball riding the water slides and going to the movies ,bowling and arcade. it is enough to keep them occupied for two nights . The place does need some minor renovations. The carpet in the high traffic areas are visibly worn and they have the old box tvs. The pool area is maintaned well and the life guards are on point. The people there are friendly not just the employee's but the guest's as well .There is something about that place that puts a smile on ure face. Its not a five star resort but it is the friendly family atmosphere that keeps us going back. We also take the boys to the outlet which is huge. We go in the spring so i dont know about the outdoor area but we plan to make the yearly until the boys say they wanna go elsewhere. Also they were renovating while we were there and were told they would be completed by summer. So if ure planning a trip for summer dont hesitate it is worth the money. One tip do the breakfast package its worth the money as well its ten when you reserve and fifteen if you pay there and there breakfasts were good .

Room Tip: for smaller children do the camp suites or wolf den for older children do the grizzly bear or two be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very accommodating staff that seem to want to go out their way to assist you. Water park is terrific. I have never seen lifeguards as serious and watchful as they are here It is a very clean environment even down the bathrooms.. The only 2 downfalls is everything costs and its quite pricey, and it seems to take entirely to long to check in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 549 East Rochambeau Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are home to Virginia’s premier 79,000 square foot indoor entertainment area featuring our water park, bear track landing. The indoor water park features a 4-story, 12 level tree fort with 1000 gallons of water and dumps down every few minutes. The water park also features a gigantic indoor wave pool, eight water slides, including 3 tube slides, three kiddie slides and two body slides. In addition we have a zero-depth entry children’s pool, indoor pool, two oversized hot tubs, an endless lazy river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Williamsburg
Great Wolf Lodge Williamsburg Va
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.