We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Library Tavern

Library Tavern
1330 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837
757-229-1012
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #177 of 348 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family with two children 7 & under tried the Library after a busy day. We have passed by this place several times on our visits to Williamsburg. I'm so glad we stopped in! We were seated right away. The pizza was wonderful. I had to get them to get us a box so we would stop eating it! For a casual restaurant, the food (and pricing) takes the cake! My husband got a sandwich and it was good too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    23
    19
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“We have always had excellent service and food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We visit Williamsburg every year or so and always stop in at the Library Tavern to enjoy a good pizza and a cold beer. We stopped in this past friday and got the usual pepperoni and a couple of drinks. About half way through my wife pulled a 8 inch hair out of the pizza.She then pulled a couple of short ones and another long one. The waiter seemed a little uninterested but did offer to make another one. We declined and left. Probably will skip this place next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This restaurant had fast service, good food and a friendly atmosphere. Had a wide variety of dishes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
va
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped by on our way home after a day of shopping in Williamsburg. The pizza was the best Pizza I have ever had. We live near Richmond and will be going back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our family felt very welcome and we left with happy bellies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We read about The Library Tavern online and our Williamsburg visit was all about history and sharing that history with our daughter and two young grandkids, so this historical casual and locally owned restaurant was chosen for our 'one night out' for the week. At our table, we had a full sized fantastic bbq chicken pizza, a steak sandwich(specialty of the house), and I had the fresh seafood combo. All were hot and delicious! Our server kept telling us it was her first night serving which usually is cause for alarm, but she took very good at are of our extra demanding table. The NCAA Men's basketball tournament was on large screen so I was good, all in all a very good choice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Library Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Library Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Library Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.