We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg

Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg
422 E Duke Of Gloucester St, Williamsburg, VA 23185
757 229-2141
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 341 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winter Park, FL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food is excellent and the entertainment is, too. Dinner by candlelight. If fact, it is all candlelight. Dine there--you won't regret it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    194
    85
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Ale Potted beef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful experience here just after Christmas. The musicians were very knowledgeable, the staff was quick and professional, gave us enough time to eat, and just enjoy. The ale-potted beef is excellent! Well seasoned, and very flavorful. My husband's barbecued ribs fell off the bone, they were so tender! Ver excellent! We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Memorable Christmas lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family ate our Christmas lunch here. Top marks for atmosphere, food, entertainment and service. Worth every penny.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner at Shield's Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I had reservations for Christmas Dinner at Shield's Tavern. It was a bit pricy at $60.95 per person but as it was a special occasion we didn't mind.

I had the turkey, he had the prime rib. We both had an excellent sweet potato & carrot bisque as an appetizer. The desserts were also very good, particularly the caramel apple pie.

The ambience was pleasant, candles on each table and more traditional colonial seating (the chairs are much lower to the ground than modern chairs). A few entertainers came around, a balladeer and a colonial patron who came to wish us a happy Christmas.

Overall impression: good food with a nice atmosphere, but the food and especially the drinks were a little expensive for what you got.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Lunch while visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had no wait even though it was the Friday and Saturday before Christmas. The food was delicious, my daughters ate all of their Jefferson Macaroni and Cheese and loved the Beef Patsie. Our service was better on the second day, but it wasn't bad either day. A bit pricey, but we were on holiday and enjoyed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg also viewed

 

Been to Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shield's Tavern-Colonial Williamsburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.