We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Josiah Chowning's Tavern

Josiah Chowning's Tavern
Duke of Gloucester Street, Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg, VA 23185
757 229 2141
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Josiah Chowning's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 333 restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Woodbury Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Touristy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you want to pretend you are in Colonial times and eat in an authentic tavern, right on the Duke of Gloucester street, then you can give this place a shot. A musician does come in and play a little music which is interesting.....but the food is drastically overpriced and not great at all. But you are paying for the experience. The wait staff aren't actors....they are just wait staff dressed in period clothes.....if you expect accents and colonial language, you are not getting it. I suppose it was nice to do it once, but won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    144
    157
    75
    44
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Welsh Rarebit but skeptical on the mornay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Love me some Welsh Rarebit but please do me a favor and make the sharp cheese beer mustard mornay sauce from scratch? For the $80 my husband and I spent eating in a 300 year old establishment, you could do better to use a better cut of beef on the prime rib and made your own mornay sauce. I can tell by the gloss that it was canned cheese sauce dolled up with some hopsy beer and whole grain mustard. The corn muffins were dry (try adding mayo as the southerners do to moisten their corn bread). I expected the polenta to be more moist and a bit less tomato product in the wild mushroom ragout. All in all, the old Tavern was cool but the seats needed a hoist to be lifted out of when the meal was complete. Good Service though. Great Ambiance. Felt like I was sent back 300 years in time but not for the price. Good experience. Will eat in modern Williamsburg area next time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“poor price,poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We thought the tavern was going to be amazing but it turns out the food was not good and the price for bland rib-eye was 30$. Our check turned out to be 114$.My family was very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate dinner here and it was great. Service was quick and we were seated right away. The food was excellent- we had ribs and prime rib. I recommend making reservations as it gets filled up quickly- You can call the visitor center and they do that for you right over the phone. Would recommend eating here.

Visited June 2013

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fairly average food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while visiting Colonial Williamsburg. I had pulled pork with slaw and baked beans...it was good, nothing exceptional. I am not sure what the whole tavern experience is supposed to be about, as it just seemed like any other restaurant. There was a woman who briefly played some music, but that was about it. There was nothing else about the experience that was really any different than dining at any other restaurant. Average service. No complaints, just nothing exceptional to say about the food or experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Josiah Chowning's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josiah Chowning's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.