We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New menu and management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josiah Chowning's Tavern

Josiah Chowning's Tavern
109 East Duke of Gloucester Street, Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg, VA 23185
757 229 2141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Josiah Chowning's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 303 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New menu and management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Was happy to see that my favorite colonial beer the Old Stitch is still there. Also heard there has been a change in management and they have brought on some new menu items. Much better food selection than in the past.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    228
    108
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go for the fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I love Chownings Tavern! Simply said it is just a lot of fun and you can have a meal as well. We don't expect a lot from the food, but it's edible and comfort food. The historic drinks (local beers and wine type beverages) are good too. It's the atmosphere that makes it worth it. Even without children, the entertainers are willing to perform magic at your taable and for me, that is the magic.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spirits? Colonial Games? Singing bards? bring it on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What great fun to stop here last night for drinks, peanuts, dessert and colonial entertainment--- we're not addicted to Shut the Box and can't get the drinking songs out of our heads but can't wait to go back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A fun taste of colonial Williamsburg hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Head here for hearty food: the Duke of Gloucester's Dinner is actually enough food for two people: four pieces of southern-fried chicken with vegetables; also try the Welsh Rarebit - a must for cheese fans. We had the local beers and wines - all good. Excellent service from costumed waitresses (with "authentic" - ! - accents); plus instrumental music from colonial violinists! All good fun. Warmly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“18th century lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I both had Welsh Rarebit with shaved country ham. Simple and delicious. Accompanied by a chocolate stout for me and pear hard cider for her, it was a perfect midday stop. Warning - some chairs are not formed for 21st century (or 18th century bottoms! But you can change if not busy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Josiah Chowning's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josiah Chowning's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.